We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the villasol the last week in April and thought it was great. We were lucky to get a sea view room which was amazing ( room 309) rooms good and clean, beds made everyday. Despite previous reports about the food we found it to be fine, it wasn't cold and the choice whilst not extensive was adequate and there wasn't a night we didn't enjoy what we had. Unlike the Spanish we didn't get free wine, which they mostly left lol but it was only 6 euros a bottle anyway and if you wish they will keep it until the next night for you... Yer right lol...

absolutely brilliant location for the marina and for the beach/promenade, if you go the marina try the Wok Chinese restaurant, absolutely fantastic.

the weather wasn't brill all the time but even on not so good days we sat on the balcony watching the coming and goings at sea, with envious looks from people passing by lol..

Would definitely go to this hotel again if we went back to benalmadena

Room Tip: 7 -10 seem to be the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Jill W,

Firstly thank your for choosing Medplaya Hotel Villasol as your holiday accommodation and for taking the time to write a feedback on your recent stay at this hotel. We are pleased to receive your positive comment. The Hotel Villasol is ideal for families and couples, looking for good accommodation with friendly staff, good location, easy access to public transport and good value for money.

Once again, thank you for staying here and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    217
    128
    49
    49
See reviews for
79
291
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hotel is very well located and the hotel itself is clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast but the main meal was served a lot colder than we expected. Saying this - the rest of the residents (mainly Spanish) did not seem to have a problem with it! Nice hotel - would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maidofmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 long wkend, room was nice view amazing! Staff friendly, we only done b&b but breakfast was good set us up 4 the day, deffo goin bac, used2 stay at bali but that bank was a killer , didnt miss that!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracygrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear tracygrey,

Thanks you for choosing Hotel Villasol for your holiday in Benalmádena Costa and for reviewing this place. We are happy the hotel met your expectations in all its aspects.
Thank you again for staying here and we hope we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

If you want to go on holiday and be treated courteously, then don't go here! We are a group of 4 British Senior Citizens and arrived during a Spanish Senior Citizen Holiday week. The main problem were the evening restaurant staff. As Amigo Card Holders (a loyalty card scheme for Med Playa Hotels) we were entitled to exchange points for drinks vouchers, something we have done regularly elsewhere.On our first night, we went to sit at a table only to be told rudely that we couldn't sit there because "People had sat there all week" there was no reserved notice on it. After waiting an eternity for a drink, I had to go and ask a waiter to take our order, this he eventually did and we were then given drinks that were out of date.When we presented our vouchers to the restaurant manager, we were halfway up the stairs when we heard "Oi, you can't use these here". We explained we could but were frogmarched upstairs to reception and thank goodness a very kind Receptionist said that we could. After that we were made to feel very unwelcome in the restaurant in the evening. On the last night we didn't have any drinks vouchers and when a young woman eventually came to take our order, she demanded payment immediately as though we might disappear without paying, this was of course most certainly not the case.I have never found this before in any hotel I have visited. The food was more of a Spanish flavour and was often cold, there was very little choice in deserts, very poor standard in fact. At this point I must say that the Spanish were taken to their tables, given water and a bottle of wine immediately and greeted with a smile and social conversation, what a difference. Towards the end of our stay, other British People arrived, and one lady wanted to go home after 2 days for these very reasons.
If the hotel wishes to promote Spanish Senior Citizen weeks, then I suggest they don't take bookings from other nationalities as it is extremely upsetting for them to be treated so rudely.
On the positive side, the hotel is nice and we had a superb view of the sea from our room,we had a lovely cleaner on the 5th Floor and the room was spotless, the male bar staff were courteous (Young woman in bar didn't speak at all) and Reception were helpful.Maybe we were just unfortunate in the week that we had picked, but I shall certainly not return to the Hotel Villasol again, These are genuine complaints not just petty niggles.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room. Wonderful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicaandleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear JessicaandLeon,

Firstly thank you for choosing Hotel Villasol as your holiday accommodation and for taking the time to provide us with your genuine feedback. We are sorry to hear there were some aspects of the hotel which did not meet your expectations and which were upsetting for you. We want to assure you that your comment will be forwarded to the management in order to improve customer service and provide a smooth customer experience during your holiday.

Once again, sorry for any inconvenience caused and we hope you will give us another chance to welcome you in the near future.

Thank you.
Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Stockport
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just returned from a short break from this hotel and it was great, it is well positioned for all the amenities, spotlessly clean with nice sized rooms friendly and efficient staff and a well priced bar.
Breakfast was really good with everything you could wish for and the rooms with a sea view are well worth the small extra cost. Will defintely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a frontal sea view if you can - lovely to wake up to the sea - we stayed in 612!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieandPaulE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear DebbieandPaulE,

FIrstly thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Villasol for your holiday in Benalmádena Costa and for reviewing the hotel. We are pleased to hear the hotel met your expectations in all aspects and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we hope we will welcome you again to hotel Villasol in the near future.

Thank you.
Kind Regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkintilloch
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just back from Villasol Hotel Benalmadena and Ive got to say this hotel is in a perfect position. We visit this area at least three times a year and thought we would have a change from our usual hotel which is further along the road heading towards the Fuengirola end. Firstly the check in was very quick and a very pleasant man on reception. Paid for and got what we requested a high floor room with full sea view (view was to die for.) Room was very dated but Imust say spotlessly clean. Dissappointed there was no fridge but I suppose this reflects on the 3 star status of the hotel. Our usual hotel is 4 star. Wasnt too much of a problem because we were only there for 5 nights 17th till 22nd March. But I think it would be a big problem in high season when its warm. Every member of staff we had any dealings with were very pleasant and helpful. Now for the downside the food, absolutely disgusting and every dish we had was cold. Spoke to a lot of guests and we actually had a laugh about it. We spent a lot more money than we intended because after having tried to eat evening meal we had to go and eat out. Now this has got to be down to the Chef because we spoke to other guests who had stayed at a sister hotel (The Bali also 3 star and the food there was fine.) Hot food at breakfast was cold and swimming in grease ate breakfast the 1st morning and felt ill the whole day. After that had only toast. Its such a shame because although the hotel is quite dated it has such nice staff is very clean and the views from the sea view rooms are spectacular. I am afraid we will be going back to our usual hotel. I would not say I would never stay there again because it had too many good points but it would be on a room only or B&B and never in summer because of no fridge.

Room Tip: high floor frontal sea view because views are spectacular.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SUSANCKIRKINTILLOCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback about the Medplaya Hotel Villasol. We very much appreciate your comment as it gives us a valuable insight into the customer expectations and needs.
Our staff daily strives to create pleasant and friendly environment with attentive and efficient service. We hope you enjoyed your stay despite a few drawbacks and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Thank you.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed 10th mar for 6 nights requested sea view room if possible and these were given at no extra charge and what a bonus views were fab!!! Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful and food was good , very central and great for local transport, all in all we enjoyed our stay and would definately stay here again, no complaints for a very reasonable price

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christinehenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear christinehenderson,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Villasol for your holiday and for taking the time to write your feedback. We are happy to hear that the overall experience with the hotel had been positive. Hotel's staff provides our customers with personal and attentive service as our aim is to ensure our customers enjoy their holidays to the fullest.

Thanks again for reviewing this hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palmasol
Hotel Palmasol
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Villasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Villasol

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 43, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Villasol 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Villasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villasol Hotel Benalmadena
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing