We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Enjoyed It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed It”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

E-mailed one week before asking for a sea view room (quick reply saying would try) when we arrived the lovely young Spanish lady behind reception speaking perfect English welcomed us and gave us the key to room 411.Fabulous views over sea and marina. Went down to dinner we were escorted to our table and asked if we wanted drinks then ate a lovely meal from a choice of lamb, pork ( two types) fish pasta, rice soup with croutons and large salad bar, fresh bread, rolls etc. Room and beds were very comfortable( only slight problem was air con wasn't very cool temp outside was in 80s in middle of October)All Staff cleaning, dining room reception and bar were what make this hotel they were all 1st class. We holiday abroad 4/5 times a year 4/5* hotels and cruises and considering this hotel is a 3* its a very good 3*.I don't know where these negative reviewers have stayed but we always try to enjoy our holidays and with this one we certainly did. Thanks Hotel Villasol !!!!

Room Tip: e-mail or phone before you go and ask for 4th floor and above sea view, don't worry enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eggman1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Eggman1889,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Villasol and for sharing your review on your recent holiday in Benalmádena Costa. It is great to hear you had a good time and that you found the hotel to your liking. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    217
    129
    49
    49
See reviews for
79
291
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

great location we were at the side so we had some noise but not as bad as i thought by reading some of the reviews, room was ok clean and towels/sheets changed regurly, cleaners and reception staff always had a smile and spoke everytime we saw them, the b/fast was great but had to wait for food to come out of kitchen, it had obviously been sitting on the side because it was nearly cold, the staff especialy the men never smiled or spoke the young girl with black hair was smiley and polite, sorry dont know her name pool area small but there were beds empty in the afternoon, we had a great two weeks and will b coming back next year,

Room Tip: we always like a high floor, good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Nice Reception, Nice lifts, Nice Seaveiw.
On arrival at this hotel no one spoke English at reception we was handed the key and they didn't care if we stayed in the hotel or not. The food was terrible and it was all catered for the Spanish. The dining room staff did not speak to no one only to ask if they wanted a drink. The room had a brilliant sea view and that was the only good thing about this hotel. Trust me forget it.
Would never return again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

we stayed for 4 days in October. The hotel is of good 3 star quality, lovely food, clean and great views of the sea. The only downside is that the pool is quite small but this didn't really affect us as we weren't planning to do a lot of sunbathing and swimming but had we stayed for a week it might have become a problem, but then again we did choose a small hotel as we were only having a 4 day break

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb03_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We got a great room, 518, with afternoon sun. Reception staff lovely, room was kept very clean as was the hotel but unfortunately the staff in the dining room need a personality transplant except for the very pretty young woman ( with a lovely smile and manner). She could teach the rest of them how to do it, especially the older man who took our room number. This really spoilt our enjoyment of this hotel especially because we were on full board, so we had to go through the ordeal 3 times a day -and it was an ordeal. I did tell reception but I felt as though their hands were tied. The food was not up to med playa standards, the chef at the Riviera next door should show them how it's done.The pool area is small and poorly maintained and heaven forbid that you did not take a drink with you because there was nothing on offer except a machine to purchase soft drinks from. We will not be returning which is a shame because this hotel could be very good.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs with you if you cannot stand road noise, it didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sylvia O,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Villasol and for taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry to hear that there were some aspects of the hotel which did not satisfy your expectations. All your concerns will be forwarded to management as our first goal is to fulfill customer needs and make their holiday enjoyable in every aspect.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel has in my opinion one of the best locations in the area as it has good transport connections, is very close to the beach, and has a wide selection of bars and restaurants within easy reach.
The full sea views are fantastic and we found the food adequate no better or worse than other similar rated hotels we have stayed in. The pool area is a little on the small side but has very comfortable cushioned sunbeds. I do not really think that this hotel would suit teenagers and there were not really any children there, mainly middle aged people in October. The weather by the way was excellent.
The rooms are a bit on the basic side and the welcome by the man on reception was not exactly friendly, no real welcome just gave our room keys to us and turned away. When I realised the room safe needed a special key to be inserted in the back of the door I went back down to reception. On approaching the man who was doing some paperwork asked for the key and without looking up he just said this is not possible! When someone usually says it is not possible it normally means I can't be bothered, he said come back tomorrow, so all our valuable possessions were not in the room safe. When I went back the next morning a nice lady on the reception reached under the desk and instantly gave me the key with no problem.
All said and done though we had a great time in Benalmadena and I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Full frontal directly faces the sea, sea view has a side view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopeicanbeofhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just returned from 10 nights in the villa sol.would not return as was made to feel unwelcome.had a fantastic sea view room on the sixth floor.room comfy and clean.food average.never very warm.staff in restaurant never smile.nowhere to get a drink after you have had breakfast until 12 o clock when the bar opens.pool area not big enough for the size of the hotel only 28 sun beds.had a lot of problems over this.not allowed by pool till 10 o clock.as most people went and put towels on beds before going for breakfast the staff decided to lock the door down to pool area.notices put on the door reminding guests that sun beds could not be reserved and would have towels removed if any were there before 10.as guests were still putting towels on they were getting locked by the pool.as I was having breakfast one morning when this happened the guests knocked on the door of the restaurant to be let in which I did.only to have the waiter lace into me as it was an emergency exit so what did he do the next day.put a chain on that door and padlocked it.bearing in mind this was an emergency exit in case of fire.not the way to treat paying guests.apparently this used to be a two storey hotel and is now a six storey so the pool are is totally inadequate.i would definitely not stay there again as I don't think you should be mad to feel so uncomfortable when you are on holiday.

Room Tip: Sixth floor sea view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear minty00,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Villasol as your holiday accommodation and for reviewing this place. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel comfortable in our hotel as the most of our customers are pleased with the coziness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff. We strive to make our guests happy and welcome as this is our first goal to achieve.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comment and we hope that you will give us a chance to welcome and serve you better in the near future,

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palmasol
Hotel Palmasol
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Villasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Villasol

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 43, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Villasol 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Villasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villasol Hotel Benalmadena
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing