We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent hotel for the price paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Northants, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel for the price paid”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas and we arrived with an open mind. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the room and our request for extra pillows and for someone to sort out the TV was dealt with immediately.

The buffet meals (we were half board) were more than sufficient with a choice for breakfast and dinner. Bedding and towels were changed every day and the bathroom and room were cleaned to our satisfaction. The hotel was nowhere to being full.

We found all the staff to be polite and helpful.

The hotel is surrounded by bars and restaurants. As mentioned before, its very close to the sea with a nice sea view although it wasn't very nice as it rained solidly for practically all the time we were there. That's life!!

If we ever decide to visit this area again we will certainly use this hotel. If we want 5 star we will pay 5 star prices.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    217
    129
    49
    49
See reviews for
79
291
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Just back from an enjoyable week in the Hotel Vilasol, after my partner making a slight error with the room choice at time of booking we were allocated a superb room with a sea view, which also came with a tremendous sunrise which I believe was at no extra charge. The room was thoughtfully cleaned and linen changed daily and despite their long hours we found all the staff very friendly and always happy to help. We stayed half-board so had the opportunity to experience two meals a day, the buffet meals were well organised with plenty of food for all, initially we were a little disappointed with the evening meal choices but has the week progressed so did the food selection. Our only complaint of the whole week was that tea and coffee was only free during breakfast once breakfast was over you then had to purchase it from the bar. Hotel Vilasol is ideally located, the Portillo bus stop is right outside giving you the opportunity to visit various locations further South and if you take a short walk right of the hotel to the offical bus stop outside McDonalds you will find a number of other locations. Bus travel is reasonably priced and most places can be reached in a couple of hours or less, we managed Malaga, Marbella and Mijas using the Portillo service, next year we are doing 'N's. Benalmadena also has various travel operators 'viajes' that organise daily visits to surrounding areas, such as Gibraltar, Tangiers and many other places. We visited Sevilla using one of the operators, we had 6 hours in Sevilla, 3 for visits and 3 free-time, bi-lingual guide of the journey from Benalmadena and another bi-lingual guide for visits within the city. Benalmadena's neighbour Torremolinos, boasts a number of bars, restaurants and shops where you can get just about anything you may have forgotten. If I were to return to the Costa Del Sol, Hotel Vilasol would be one of the first considerations on my list.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Freespirit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

I had a fantastic time in Benalmedena and the hotel was the cherry on the cake!!! there were 4 of us and none of us had any compliants we read these other reveiws before we went and were worried that it would be a horrible hotel but it was excellent value for money, really good location, friendly staff and very clean. 10 mins from good night life 3 mins from beach and restaurants etc!! cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmalou87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clacton on sea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We booked the Villasol for five nights, half board,before reading the reviews. Having stayed in the area several times we knew about the occasional school parties. There must be around fifteen cafes and restaurants within a stones throw, to have a hot breakfast etc, so we were not too worried about the poor food reviews.The hotel is right on the sea front with excellent views of the marina. The bus stops are outside the front door if you want to explore further afield.The hotel is not up a hill either as most of the hotels in Benalmadena are so we did not cancel our booking. What a revelation. We were greeted warmly with a smile and no we do not speak Spanish only the normal polite phrases such as please, thank you and hello. The hotel and room were clean and we over looked the sea and pool.The evening meals were perfectly adequate. It is a Spanish hotel but chicken and pork etc are the same any where.There was even a hot meal choice at breakfast so no need to go out for an english breakfast. We found all the staff to be polite and friendly and even ready for a joke. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabella37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2008

for a 3 star hotel this was very good value. I've seen some malicious photos of this hotel on a website and they aren't true. The food was Spanish and good but if you're dying for English food and eastenders you're in the right place. The room was cleaned every day, there was a splendid terrace and the reception areas were ideal. You absolutely do need a smattering of Spanish as we had a problem on departure at 1am and the receptionist didn't speak a word of English. We do. I would recommend this as a very good, no frills hotel

  • Liked — clean and very quiet-we were at the back on a main road
  • Disliked — no night life
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank richananat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Having just returned from a stay with several members of my family I was very dissapointed in many ways with this hotel. The main complaint was the noise and lack of manners from none British guests, on our last night two coachloads of Spanish schoolboys arrived. They arrived back at the hotel in groups at 0130hrs and were left to 'run riot' until 0400hrs. The breakfast was dry rolls and jam and if you sat on the patio outside you were constantly pestered by children from rooms above, this also happened if you were by the pool. My family booked this hotel hoping for a nice week in the Spanish sun but this quickly turned to a terrible experience all round.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

east northumberland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

My husband and I would not recommend anyone to stay here for their holidays, especially people who are British and middle aged.
The hotel itself is not very clean, and they donot cater for the British. The recepionists were very un helpful.
The pool was disgusting, it was green with algi and was never cleanned.
Their is 71 slipply stair in which people have climb to the beach, which is used as a urinal at night.
It was that bad my husband and I returned home 5 days earlier then we were supposed to, NEVER AGAIN BE WARNED!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank rama51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palmasol
Hotel Palmasol
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Villasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Villasol

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 43, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Villasol 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Villasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villasol Hotel Benalmadena
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing