We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Overall a good place to stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We recently returned from a three week stay in February at the Riviera, so here is my review:

Location
The position of the hotel is absolutely excellent!....right on the seafront, overlooking the lovely long and flat promenade, where you can walk for several miles either way. There is also a lift from the main reception straight down to the promenade for those guests who are less mobile.
The only down side to the hotel’s location is the fact that it is situated alongside a busy main road, which can be quite noisy at night if you want to sleep with the balcony door open

Facilities
The sunbathing areas are around the pool or in the terraced gardens which also have good sea views and are well maintained. We did not try the outdoor pool as it was February, but the inside pool is heated, albeit not very much!....and needs upgrading. There is also an inside Jacuzzi which was nice and warm, and a Gym which looked more than adequate with about 6 different pieces of equipment.
Anyone interested in dancing will be very happy here, as Tea-Dances are arranged on several afternoons a week, together with professional dance classes twice a week, and evening dancing before the entertainment acts start at 9.45.

Rooms.
The rooms are either facing the pool with views towards the marina and these rooms have early morning sun. The other side of the hotel has uninterrupted sea views and have sun all afternoon. There are also two rooms at the front of the hotel on each floor, which are described as superior rooms and have full sea view and corner balconies as well as more interior space. I have to say the rooms, although a decent size, are a bit of a disappointment in as much as they look a bit tired and dated. The rooms are gradually being upgraded to replace the stained carpets, which seemed to be the main complaint from guests, with a wood laminate floor which does look a bit better. However in a four star hotel we would have expected the rooms to have a fridge and tea/coffee making facilites these days, as most four star hotels we stay in these days seem to include this.

Food
We found the buffet style food to be very good. Lots of variety with something to suit every taste. The hotel is occupied by almost 100% British guests, so things like porridge are available for breakfast, as well as all the usual things you would expect. Evening meals also had loads of choice and we never struggled to find something we liked

Entertainment.
Because the hotel caters for almost totally Britsh guests, and no children are allowed in the hotel, the entertainment was reasonably good, with English entertainers 3-4 times a week. The other nights were Spanish entertainers singing British songs which were not quite as enjoyable for us. All entertainment started at 9.45 pm which seemed a little late for many of the guests.
The bar had a happy hour from 7.30-8.30 on three nights a week, and drinks seemed reasonably priced for a hotel….e.g a pint a beer for about £3.

Like all hotels, there are things which need improvement, but overall we had a nice comfortable stay at the Riviera, and we would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, well away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Banky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Banky,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent holiday experience at the hotel Riviera with us.
We are happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We value all the comments and feedbacks as that way we get better understanding of customer needs. We strive to offer our customers quality service, relaxed atmosphere with attentive and personal service.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon again.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    597
    189
    46
    24
See reviews for
126
1,300
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 703 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Hotel is well placed for promenade and beach. Rooms are a bit dated but no problems.
Food was good although not up to standard of some hotels have been to but always enough choice. Dining room furniture a bit tatty in places.
Entertainment was poor in evenings (do not know about days as away from hotel mainly).
Reception staff excellent.

Room Tip: The sunny side in February is that facing away from pool/harbour. Do not know how this will be later...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorcesterMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle,
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Rooms are clean but really need updating & the indoor pool not very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Daz29,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent holiday experience with us. We appreciate your comment as we strive to give the best service to our customers. Regarding the rooms refurbishment, some of the rooms are undergoing renovation, however it is not possible to act quickly owing to the high occupation of the hotel.

Thanks again for your feeback and we hope you will consider returning again soon.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Just returned from 4 nights. Hotel was much better than expected. We were in room 709 on the sunny side, with wonderful views of the sea. We originally though we would be better overlooking the pool, but soon realised that the pool side does not get the sun on the balcony at all. The hotel is very well run, the breakfast was excellent, with everything you could possibly want. Dinner was also very good, with nice efficient staff. There is free wifi in the quiet lounge,which is great for catching up with emails etc. Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel, as it is right on the prom and within easy reach of the marina, cafes and bars. The bus stop is right outside the front entrance, if you fancy a wee trip to fuengerola.

Room Tip: Upper floor opposite side of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bankies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Me and my husband have just returned from a lovely week away at this hotel. We were very pleased with the location*, service, food and amenities. We understand that the hotel is currently being refurbished but we weren't in one of the refurbished rooms. Even so, our room was clean and comfortable, if a little 'dated'. We will definitely return!!

* There is a lift from the hotel which takes you directly down to the promenade.

Room Tip: Although all rooms seem to have a sea view, ask for a room actually 'facing' the sea and awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ChipinBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear ChipinBrum,

Thank you for sharing with us your holiday experience at the hotel Riviera. We are glad to hear you had enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be back soon.

Thank you.
Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We just returned from our 14 night’s stay spending New Year’s Eve at this fabulous hotel, booked through Thomson’s. The restaurant is very pleasant indeed with a great choice of food both at breakfast and dinner.

All of the staff were extremely efficient, helpful and friendly. We are returning again for the New Year.

I was disappointed that guests are not allowed to dry their clothes on the balcony. A line over the bath was provided for this purpose which I feel is inadequate.

There is a space for a mini bar in the room but has no mini bar, I have never stayed in a four star hotel without a mini bar, however we paid 40 euros to hire a fridge.

I would still recommend this lovely hotel for its location, great food, cleanliness and helpful staff. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lizzy022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just back from spending Xmas at this hotel, booked through Thomsons. First impresssion, which was maintained during our stay, was the general cleanliness of the facilities and helpfulness of staff. Every question was answered with a friendly attitude. As the week went on, we found the food generally good and plentiful, even if you were late into breakfast or dinner. The lack of children made it especially relaxing. The main road, as reported by others was busy and even staying the beach end did disturb at night if you had the balcony doors open. Only a 30 kph speed restriction would solve this, therefore nothing the hotel could do. Found the bed mattresses particularly hard! Make sure you ask for one of the recently renovated wooden floor rooms which we found excellent. The site is ideal for walking into the centre of Benalmadena and surrounding local attractions plus there was a super efficient and cheap bus service to go elsewhere. Even with the competition we would go again.

Room Tip: Stay on the West side as far away from the main road as you can. Premium rate rooms are on the seasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MickeyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,080 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing