We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

stay here for 2 weeks every july, my favourite hotel exelent food, cant wait to see how its changed this year. the staff are all very helpful and friendly.Going again on the 9th of july. perfect position on the sea front. lovely gardens to relax in

Room Tip: i always prefare high room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    578
    176
    42
    23
See reviews for
118
1,245
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stopped here about 5 years ago booked allocation on arrival deal with Thomson I had been to the resort before so I knew of the hotel any was well chuffed when the rep told us were we were staying it was late but the hotel had saved us some supper cold buffet very nice . Went to our room very comfy and spaces . Had a few drinks and watched entertainment had very good first night the next day we had breakfast very nice and evening meal the hotel is set up for English so they new how to look after us the entertainment was good all week and we had a very good holiday I would highly recommend this hotel goon location on the sea front with a lift to the sea front

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Kevin G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your last stay at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera. We are pleased to hear that you have lovely memories of this hotel. We are reopening the hotel in May 2013 after it has been subject to considerable restoration.
We look forward to providing you with excellent accommodation and services.

Thank you.
Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Are rebooking to go back in May 2013 now it has been refurbished we are keen to see what it looks like. The food has always been excellent so hope this continues. Have requested high floor overlooking the pool which we had last year so hope we have the same again. Hoping to see some of the same staff too as they were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank CheltenhamRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear CheltenhamRufus,

Firstly thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera and for providing us with your positive feedback. We are happy to hear you will book this hotel again for this year. As you say, the hotel is currently undergoing a major renovation and will be open in May 2013.

We hope you will enjoy your next stay and we look forward to welcoming you again to the fully refurbished Hotel Riviera.

Thank you.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at the Rivoera in June for 2 weeks, when we booked we asked for high floor with pool view, this was our second stay. When we arrived we greeted with welcome back Mr & Mrs Crabbe and given our room number as requested high floor with a pool view. the food was good and we always got a sunbed down in the garden area, our room was cleaned every day and found all the staff friendly and helpful. I have already booked for our holiday next year and again asked for a high floor with a pool view and look forward to arriving at the refurbished hotel and seeing what has been done.

Room Tip: High floor and poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Apple131152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Apple131152,

Firstly thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Riviera as your holiday accommodation and for reviewing this property. We are pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate your comment and we look forward to welcoming you again in the newly refurbished Hotel Riviera.

Thank you.
Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Riviera Hotel from 19th - 26th October, 2012 and knew it was closing on 31st October. We had a great holiday. My request for a high floor, facing West, was met and we had the sun on our balcony from noon till sunset and every balcony has a sea view. We did not think the Hotel was tired apart from the indoor pool area. The indoor pool was empty as it only opens from November till March but the indoor jaccuzzi was there to use and the gym. The staff are the nicest staff we have met in all the Hotels we have stayed and we have travelled many Countries worldwide. We spoke to some of the resaturant staff and they said that they would be back next year when the Hotel reopens in May 2013. We found the food choce was excellent and always hot but if your food needed heated there were microwaves in the restaurant for your use. I don't know why some reviewers are complaining about the food!!! They had show cooking every evening with choice of meat or fish and there was always other European Country Theme dishes every night. Guest return to this Hotel many times but this was our first visit and we would definately go back. Next Year the Hotel will be even better with a new Spa section and new restaurants. The Hotel is situated right on the promenade with a lift to take you down. Only complaint we had was that the entertainment did not start until 10pm at night. Most Hotels we have stayed in have a resident band or singers that start around 8.00pm and then the night entertainment singers start at 10.00pm. We used to go out after our meal to the nearby Ole square and have a coffee and few drinks and then return to the Hotel for the nightly entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor mid way from sea and road, facing west if you want the sun in the afternoon in yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scotwomanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We have been to this hotel many times , when we booked we new it would be closing the day we left , but decided to go as we could not go back for a while , but we were dissapointed as we did not see a thompson rep once whilst we were there , the food became bad it was cold and the room service bad the staff seem to dwindle !! on the wednesday 31st oct went to use the internet room and computers Gone !! also the last night with in the dining room we were unable to sit and look at the sea views as it was closed of , the luggage scales also dissapeared it felt like we should not be there !! I know its difficult when closing down BUT we were guests and were still there it was dissapointing .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rgilli770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medplaya, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear rgilly770,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Riviera for your holiday and for providing us with your hotel review. We are sorry to hear that there were some aspects of the hotel which did not meet your expectations. We are aware of the fact that the customers might be affected by the preparations for the refurbishment. We apologize for any inconveniences this action may have caused you.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again in the refurbished Hotel Riviera, offering personal and attentive service.

Thank you.
Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We have just returned from a 14 night stay in the riviera (yesterday), Great location, large rooms, good food, lovely pool area, and only 20 mins from the airport. We are both disabled and don't manage stairs easily but we found the lift down to the promenade walkway and the shops and bars a thoughtful touch. The hotel staff, especially the maids and the girls and guys in the restaurant are a credit to the management. We can't wait to get booked again for next year.Well done Riviera! and thanks for making our holiday special

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the hotel next door and was close to the road which runs in front of the R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing