We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Hydros(Benalmadena)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Best Siroco(Benalmadena)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
MS Alay Apartments(Benalmadena)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Playabonita Hotel(Benalmadena)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveller rating
959
662
209
48
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
959
662
209
48
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantshow cookingthomson repcouples hotelwalk in showertapas bartea and coffee making facilitiesfree safepool areasingle roomlovely hotelolder generationroad noiseplenty of choiceage groupevening entertainmentafternoon sun
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,381 - 1,386 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our weeks stay at the Riviera, couples only hotel, fantastic, no kids, peace and quiet, what bliss! So relaxing, that's what you call a holiday! All staff luvly. We will be returning. Thankyou Riviera.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angrybi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Be aware of booking this chain of hotels. We were due to arrive 12th October, on the 10th of October after booking this hotel in January we were told the hotel was fully booked and offered the choice of two MedPlaya which were nowhere near acceptable. We were left running about trying to get a hotel ourself. To make it even worse I had been in contact with the hotel a month ago by e-mail and they replied by looking forward to you returning. Think long and hard before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlfieandElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Dougie R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience with our hotel. First of all, apologies for any inconveniences caused due to hotel change. Our booking system had some technical problems which resulted in incorrect booking planning. Therefore we had to move some booking to nearby hotels. In such cases we always offer accommodation of the same category. This situation was unique and rest assured we normally don't experience such problems. We hope that the recent experience will not discourage you from booking the Hotel Riviera in the future.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Review of The Riviera
We stayed at this hotel in July for a week, so apologies for delayed review
The hotel had just had a complete make over and was absolutely stunning in brilliant white . The Rooms were lovely - beautifully maintained- The bathroom was HUGE and had a fabulous double walk in shower on a non slip floor with double sinks and bidet.There was a selection of soap and toiletries provided. The Bed was massive and had amazingly soft duvet and linens – couldn’t fault the room , only criticism was the air conditioning was rather pathetic ! All the rooms have a sea view but if you want a nice view request a room overlooking Benalmadena Harbour. There is a very busy main road outside of the hotel so it can be very noisy at night !
We stayed on a Half Board Basis and were completely shocked at the price of Cava produced in Spain and yet the hotel charged almost £20 a bottle. We overcame this by going to the supermarket over the road from the hotel where The Blue Rondel Cava was £3.50 for a 75 cl bottle and kept in the fridge in the room !!! The House wine was around £6 a bottle, Spirits were around 5-7 eu.
The Terrace around the bar has got day beds and lovely large rattan settees which overlooks the sea and the Harbour. Every night there was basic entertainments such as quizzes etc and thankfully a brilliant Duo called The Switch Duo – who played every night and were very talented.
The bar service was generally very good. We never waited very long to be served.
The food here was excellent. Traditional Full English Cooked breakfasts every day, with coffee machines as well as waiter service hot drinks at breakfast which were of good quality plus fresh fruit juices etc
There was a very large choice of Evening buffet, Themed nights, ladies night with complimentary Cava , Absolutely superb menu choice including masses of salad dishes, Traditional Roast Joints on the Carvery, and a Tapas Bar. The service in the dining room was very good.
The hotel is on a hill so the pool is accessible by a lot of steps the Towel games was evident and the sunbathing area was quite limited with the sun going behind the hotel mid afternoon putting half of the beds in the shade. For this reason the sun beds are quite close to one another which we didn’t like very much. You can also sunbathe on grassed terraces around the hotel but space is at a premium.
If you wish to access the beach you can walk down a number of steps or take the lift which is very hot in July !! You have a pass card to allow you out on to the promenade and beach but beware the gate is locked quite early (around 10 pm ) and you have a very long walk to get back to the hotel by road !
From the Promenade to the harbour is about a 20 minute walk – Benalmadena Harbour was packed with holiday makers but lovely to browse through the shops and then sit and watch the world go by.
WE took the bus to Torremolinos for a morning shopping and it was very cheap – the shopping here was wonderful and kept me occupied whilst my husband sat in the bar ! Loads of amazing shoe and bag shops totally recommend you spend some time here and have a drink in the main square,
We travelled with Thomson for a short R and R break and got just that – for what we paid we thought the hotel was excellent value, if a bit cramped and at times around the pool, and catered for the older generation. Food was superb and service excellent. We would consider returning for another short break.

Room Tip: Request room overlooking Benalmadena Harbour side
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TISSUEHANKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear TISSUEHANKIE,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Riviera for your holiday in Benalmádena Costa and for taking the time to share your opinion with the TripAdvisor community. We are very happy to hear your holiday was most enjoyable and the consider to return to our hotel. It is very encouraging to receive reviews such as yours, and rest assured I will share your feedback with the hotel staff.

Thanks once again for being our guest and for your lovely comment.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel exceeded expectations, we really enjoyed our stay, the food was excellent, the staff bent over backwards to make your holiday enjoyable, can't see why anyone would find fault at all! It is a hotel for the more mature guest but we find it's the age group that are more fun to be with ! Thanks for a great week hotel riviera !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetskiBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the second time I have been to this hotel, and since I was last here it has had a major refit, the hotel was clean, welcoming and the room was lovely, the hotel staff were lovely, unfortunately I can't say the same about a member of the Thompson Rep team, but nevermind.

I would quite happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose the 7th floor and ask for a view overlooking the marina, the sunrises in the morning are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulD1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews