We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotels success could be its downfall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

this hotel is now so busy it is struggling to cope with the influx of guests.having undergone a major refurbishment hotel still only has two small lifts,so if you are a middle floor be prepared for lengthy waits for the elevator.the same can be said at certain times waiting for a table for breakfast or evening meal.this is on the whole a very good hotel clean throughout and well located for shops bars beaches etc.the food is of a very good standard and the addition of a tapas section seems to be well received.i don't know why hotel management spent so much upgrading this hotel and pool area and neglected actually trying to heat the actual pool.i have visited this hotel in june and july as well as out of season,i can assure you the pool is literally freezing.the bedrooms are spacious and well appointed with plasma tvs hair dryer his and her sinks wall shower with double controls,the beds are American style huge king size.mini fridges are available for 3 euro a day,this is a 4star hotel and it should be included in the price of your room.

Room Tip: ask for low down or high floor to save time waiting for lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed one week at the Riveria. Arrived 29th sept. Excellent hotel good food and great service.
Weather average 32 degrees. Visited local park, lots of animals running free in the park,rabbits chickens and cats. Small turtles in the lake.
Would look to return next again.

Room Tip: Had room looking over pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear mike w,

Thank you for taking the time to review Medplaya Hotel Riviera and for staying at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holidays in every aspect.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First impressions of this hotel are a bit mixed - reception is very efficient & everywhere is spotless but everything is very grey including the outside of the building & all paintwork inside which makes the corridors a bit depressing. The rooms are lovely with large comfortable beds, coffee making facilities(replenished daily) & TV with lots of British channels. The bathrooms are great with a large walk-in shower, 2 sinks & soft touch toilet seats. The restaurant has a large tapas selection every evening, show cooking & a wide variety of main courses, salads & desserts. The breakfasts are wonderful with the usual cereals, & hot & cold selections plus made to order omelettes & pancakes. We visited during the second half of October & never had a problem getting a sun bed. The hotel is ideally situated with views of the Marina which is only a few minutes walk away along the promenade which is accessed by steps or hotel lift. There is a bus stop outside so it is easy to visit places such as Malaga, Mijas & Fuengerola. The staff are all friendly & helpful & nothing was too much trouble. There is also an on-site spa which is reasonably priced for a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms all have a side sea view but the ones nearer the sea end of the hotel are better as the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tort658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Had a lovely two week stay here in July/August 2013. The rooms were spacious, fresh and clean with nice bathrooms. The restaurant was nice; especially if you got a table at the far end next to the windows where you could over look the sea. On Tuesdays you were presented with a flower and had the opportunity to have your photograph taken on leaving the restaurant. I also liked that there was hand sanitiser on entering the restaurant. The food for a buffet was above average and quite varied, for instance there was a tapas section, show cooking and regular buffet. There was a variety of food in the buffet and once each week you could order form the a la carte restaurant. However, two weeks of this food was enough for me. The entertainments staff tried really hard and offered a variety of activities. They even remained upbeat when very few people joined in. The nightly performances were well advertised and there was a variety across the two weeks; magic shows, music request nights, quiz nights and flamenco being only a brief sample. The quality was however also quite variable.

When we first arrived at the end of July there was rarely a wait for anything and no problems getting a sun lounger, however as we moved into August this was becoming harder. The pool bar is convenient when you're not wanting to leave the hotel but the standard of food isn't great, served cold for example.

Staff were all very friendly, polite and helpful and the rooms were well maintained by housekeeping. I especially liked the tea making facilities, although paying to use the fridge was a bit odd.

It is also worth noting that there are a lot of steps to the beach, but a lift is also available.

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

we have been to this hotel many times before but during the last year it has undergone a full refurbish and what a difference. You wouldn't believe it's the same hotel.Its wonderful.the beds are all queen size the bed linen is so soft, there is his and hers wash basins in the bath rooms and a lot of other features including tea and coffee making facilities,and reception is so much lighter and clean looking.Extra thick glass has been installed in the windows in the rooms near the road and you don't hear the traffic as we know as we were in one of those.We can't wait to go back which I hope will be soon. The one thing that has stayed the same is that a lot of the same friendly staff have stayed and that makes it feel like home.The food is also of the same standard as when we have been before which is excellent. Well done Med Playa a fabulous result on our favourite hotel.

Room Tip: Since the refurb any room will do due to installation of new windows and doors and sound proof glass
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel - me and my partner are both in our mid twenties and we were accompanied by my grandad and his partner who are frequent visitors to the hotel and Benalmadena itself. We have never been to Benalmadena before. It's safe to say that we were the youngest guests by far at the hotel, but it seems the hotel does try and cater for the mature guests anyway. Can't really say much about the entertainment as we went out every night, but from what we heard from other guests it isn't anything special The hotel is ideally located and is just off the beach, you can get the steps or lift down to the promenade that overlooks the beach. The marina is only a 5 minute walk away and the hotel is surrounded by lots of restaurants / shops if you fancy a walk or something for lunch. Drinks in the hotel are way overpriced compared to what you can get in the bars just across the road. The food in the hotel was a bit of a disappointment on a couple of evenings - it was cold and inedible. But we always found something we liked. However, with breakfast it was a complelely different story - always lovely and hot. The breakfasts are one of the best bits of this hotel! We tried the A La Carte restaurant while we were there, you get one free visit during your stay and have to book in advance. The service and ambience was excellent, the dining room was decorated lovely but the food was a let down, wasn't nice at all.. The menu needs looking at. All four of us agreed that if it wasn't free, we definitely wouldn't have been happy paying for the food we were served. The rooms are really big and spacious, they've been refurbished to a really high standard. Loved the big walk in shower. Only let down of the rooms is that we were on the very end overlooking the dual carriageway and it was very noisy. The hotel itself was kept very clean, including the pool area. We always managed to find a sunbed - you have to get up early to get one on the front overlooking the sea. The pool itself is FREEZING. I am always in and out of the pool / sea when I go on holiday but in this pool I could only manage a 30 second dip to cool off. The staff at the hotel are really friendly and will do anything for you. The rep Cristina was really nice and always willing to give you advice and help if needed. The daytime activities co-ordinator Joanna was really nice too, always had time for everybody and the variety of things they had on during the day was great - boules, smoothie making, tapas lesson, mini golf.. A nice refreshing change from the normal activities. Would possibly go back, but only if it was a cheap last minute break away. Wouldn't pay over the odds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaceyDicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just come back from a weeks break at this lovely hotel. It has recently undergone a complete refurbishment. Now very Modern, bright clean and airy. I shared a room with two other ladies and there was ample room for the 3 of us and all the things that us ladies need during our break.
The room had 3 very comfortable beds, a TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a very spacious bathroom with walk in shower. We booked for half board and the food was splendid so much choice and something to suit all palates. Even a Tapa's selection if you fancied being a Spaniard for the evening! There was also an A,la Carte restaurant and menu which could be used for free once during our stay; again this food was outstanding! The hotel grounds were very nice you could sunbathe either around the pool or around the gardens. The hotel has made vast improvements to the daytime and evening entertainment since my previous stays here, which meant that we did actually stay in the bar lounge a couple of evenings instead of going out. If you do go out there are actually hundreds of bars and restaurants to be visited both on the main road thoroughfare or along the promenade which can be accessed via the back of the hotel. There is also a very nice marina just a 10 minute walk away with lots of shops, bars and restaurants. This lovely resort literally has something for everyone's taste. The beach is clean and safe and again lots of comfortable sunbeds and shades at a reasonable cost. Us three ladies said we will definitely be going back and with empty suitcases for all our clothes purchases. We visited Torromelinos market, the shops and Rock of Gibraltar and also the Lakes in Rhonda. This holiday either offers a total chill out time or you can have hustle bustle if that is what you want from your holiday break. We ladies recommend a visit to the bar called "Chesters" run by Gill & Roger! Roger runs a quiz which is an experience in itself! The couple are great hosts and make you feel very welcome. To find them turn left at the main hotel entrance, cross over the road at the 1st pelican crossing keeping left and then they are just a 5 minute walk down the hill on the right hand side. Gill also provides fabulous home cooking. Costa del Sol, Benalmadena "I will be back"!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor room 314, overlooking a sea view, the hotel car park and also main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sapphire2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Sapphire,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Riviera for your autumn break in Benalmádena Costa and for taking the time to review this place. It is a pleasure to receive such lovely comment from our guests. Be certain, your words will be passed on to our staff. Our hotel team along with the management daily strives to exceed customer expectations and make them feel at home.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £88 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing