We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely relaxing hotel but not the full wow factor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely relaxing hotel but not the full wow factor”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Myself and my wife stayed for a week in late October. The hotel has undergone a good refurbishment throughout, with all the outdoor furniture looking very modern and the carpets and very clean. It was good to have different levels to the rear of the hotel overlooking the promenade to sunbathe in as these were quieter and more secluded than round the pool.
The rooms were spacious with large bed and a modern bathroom with double sinks. As commented by others the balcony, although small did have a thick glazed door which kept out the noise from the busy road at front of hotel.
The restaurant was nice overlooking the sea at one end and with the option of taking a drink to the outside pool area, but sometimes struggling to cope with the amount of people, having to wait a few minutes to be escorted to table, and sometimes the one juice machine ran out, always at breakfast you were escorted to table and sometimes then left with out tea or coffee being served as is the norm.
The tappas section was a very good option, allowing people like me, who do not usually eat the local food, an opportunity to try different things.
We did find the lifts sometimes a bit slow and small more than 4 people and they were cramped.
However what let the hotel down mainly was, the quality of entertainment with the resident duo singer acting as if she was better then she was, and sometimes at the pool bar the staff acted as if they 'had to be there' with no service with a smile.
Overall we thought this was a good hotel but the location in Benalmedena which is quite dirty, let it down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephene20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    583
    179
    43
    23
See reviews for
118
1,262
73
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent a week at this hotel with my sister at the end of October. The refurbishment of the hotel has been well done and all areas have been upgraded.

Check in was quick as we managed to get to the front of the queue when almost all of the people on the coach were going to our hotel. We had e mailed the hotel before arrival to ask for a high floor and room close to the sea. We were allocated room 312 which had a side sea view and was very pleasant. Our room had a shower which was walk in and quite large. There was a choice of 2 shower heads. The beds were comfortable and the kettle and tea and coffee supplied daily was a nice touch.

The choice of food was good. You had the usual choice from the buffet but also show cooking. every night there was also a Tapas bar which we enjoyed, trying various different dishes. included in our meal choices were roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and lamb steaks with mint sauce. there was also Spanish dishes and pasta.The salad bar was excellent with lots of fresh food. There was a good selection of sweets including rice pudding, bread and butter pudding and apple crumble and custard.

Breakfast was good with the usual hot foot but also a lovely fresh fruit selection and lots of breads.

We did not go to the free night at the a la carte restaurant as the menu was not to our taste.

We would highly recommend Cristina the Thomson rep at the hotel. She is excellent and sorted out a small problem for us immediately.

Room Tip: High floor and close to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear margshel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment on your recent stay at the Hotel Riviera and for choosing us as your holiday accommodation. We are pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking and had a good time with us.

Once again, thank you for staying here and we will be happy to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Four of us in our late sixties arrived home on the 22nd October after a week at the Riviera. This being our fourth stay and second since it reopened in May after its grand refurbishment.
Super rooms with tea making facilties which means we don't have to take our kettle along as before.
All the staff in the dining room were helpful and friendly as were the ladies who cleaned our rooms and also those in reception. Kristina the Thomson rep.was a tonic just being herself.
The food was plentiful and a good standard and was enjoyed by us all. Lots of choice.The view from the dining room overlooking the sea was beautiful.
After our evening meal we always went to a nearby bar for our coffee as the coffee in the bar was not to our liking. If this was improved the hotel would benefit as guests would remain in the hotel. Cannot comment on the entertainment as we didn't attend.
We travelled around on the local buses, boats and "WalleyTrain". All fares resonably priced.
We had a lovely time here and will certainly revisit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived at hotel riverira on Sunday 27thOctober for a weeks relaxation, the hotel was lovely very clean, the rooms are lovely very spacious, the pool area was very peaceful, the buffet restaurant was good quality food, the only downside was you have a night at the hotel alacarte restaurant where the food was below the hotel standard. On a lunch and evening we went across the road to Bar Avit where Jill Mark and the staff serve excellent meals and fantastic fun for an evening.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jackie P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion regarding your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera. We are glad to hear that the hotel met your expectations. With regard to Araucaria restaurant we are sorry that you did not enjoy the meals served. We use to receive positive comments from our guests who enjoy the restaurant and are very pleased with having the option to dine in our À la carte restaurant.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willand, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

All staff were very helpful throughout our week stay, the room was plenty big and clean enough. Food is varied and well cooked, Tapas was a pleasant option, given the number of guests it must be impossible to please & cater for everyone but the make a great attempt I was more than happy. Lifts can have busy periods being on holiday a little wait is not a great issue. Alcohol is typical hotel prices, the entertainment is ok, after all its not the West End of London or Broadway, New York so don't expect it to be. The holiday reps make a lot of effort in helping you enjoy your time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked a late season (October) Holiday for one week and found the whole stay very relaxing, the catering offers a wide range of food of good quality. The guests where in the most part pensioners and the evening entertainment reflected this.

Our room had the choice of either having a bath or shower.

If you want to use the inexpensive local bus service the bus stop is approx. 200yds away

The beach is reached via a security gate operated by your room key, either walk down the steps or use the lift.

Would we go again ??

Yes we will

Room Tip: On the top 8th floor nearest the main road having the door open one could naturally hear traffic b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englisheric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If you have booked this hotel and read some of the negative reports by previous commentators concerning guests ages, cold food and just about every other section of the hotel,then do not be alarmed.We were a party of five people aged between 26 and 62 and we all had a great time here.The staff, the meals and all the facilities were all excellent.I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear James a,

Thank you for being our guest along with your friends and for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera. We are glad to hear you had a great time and that you enjoyed the facilities and that the overall stay was satisfactory.

We look forward to welcome you once again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing