We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Revisit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Revisit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just back at the Riviera after its refit. It was good before but now excellent .The main improvement is in the bedrooms. These have been totally refurbished with a brilliant new bathroom with two sinks and a very large walk in shower. The dining room also updated is now much smarter, and the food which before was very good, now offers enen more choice. There is even a tapas bar and alsoan up upmarket a la carter restaurant free one a week.Well done Med Playa.As always staff very good and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridgeman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    566
    175
    43
    23
See reviews for
115
1,223
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Booked this holiday 5 days before and was reading all the reviews which are mostly good. This is a lovely hotel with lovely friendly staff and I could not fault it at all,food was excellent so much choice, our first meal was roast beef and yorkshire pudding, but a great selection and excellent tapas bar. Rooms are modern and clean and area of Benalmadena was much nicer than I expected. Would definitely return as had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: High floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Geraldine,

Thank you for providing us with your comment on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel's location, food and friendliness of our staff and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have recently returned from one week at the Riviera. From booking in to leaving the hotel the staff work really hard to make sure that your stay runs smooth. The reception area is spotless, like all other areas, and the rooms are superb. We asked for a high floor and sun in the afternoon and the hotel honoured our request. We were on the 8th floor with a side view of the sea. Lovely to sit on the balcony in the evening watching the sun go down. The rooms are huge and spotlessly clean and nice to have tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom had a bath and a shower and twin wash basins. Lots of hot water constantly and beautiful towels which were changed every day. The food was excellent, so much choice and loved the tapas corner, always plenty of seating available. Lots of tables for two if you are a couple and larger tables for groups. There is the chance to have a Gala Dinner one night during your stay but think the restaurant food and atmosphere is better. The location is so central to catch the local buses outside the hotel. We went to Malaga, Mijas and the cable cars up the mountain where there was a wonderful bird display. Lots of walking was enjoyable. There was a lovely park nearby with rabbits and birds and nice to watch whilst having a coffee. Through the gardens of the hotel, through a private gate you reach the promenade where you can walk down to the marina in Benalmadena, lots to see and do. We went on a dolphin watching boat and as it was low season there were only six of us and we stayed out at sea longer as we saw so many dolphins. The day we went to Malaga we came back by ferry, which takes an hour and very pleasurable. So many places to visit we shall definitely be back to the Riviera. Thank you for a great week and the warm sunshine all week was super. Keep up the good work and hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are newly refurbished and the ones overlooking the pool lose the sun at lunchtime at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

With the weather being so good in Andulucia at the end of October we decided to book a cheap last minute deal to this Thomson Couples hotel.
To be fair we were not expecting it to be anything better than a usual spanish 4 star hotel that had just gone through major refurbishment. How wrong could we have been as this hotel exceeded our expectations in all areas apart from the entertainment which was very hit and miss. Bedrooms were spacious with excellent beds and brilliant wet room showers plus TV with English channels such as BBC1 & ITV if you want to keep up to date on soaps, news etc. Request a high floor room on the sunny side which are rooms not facing the marina if you want sun on your balcony from lunchtime onwards. Food was surprisingly good with excellent choice at both breakfast and Dinner. Tapas area in evening was brilliant and gave you chance to try local dishes. There are always sunbeds available around the pool and gardens if you want to stay within hotel grounds but this does have it's downside as sun disappears behind hotel from mid afternoon. My suggestion is go to beach and hire couple beds for 9 euros which are very clean and well maintained.
If you can get this hotel on Thomson late deal it represents great value for money and we both agreed it was best £800 we had spent on holiday for years. We went to 5 star Crowne Plaza in Vilamoura in summer and spent over £3000 for our stay and guess what Riveria beat it by miles. Everyone from staff to guests made this great place to stay. Book it , Enjoy as you will not be disappointed .

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank spender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel Riviera has recently been re-furbished to a very high standard.The rooms are very modern with king-size beds which are very comfortable and clean.There is also a kettle and tea-making facilities in ther room which is a bonus.The bathrooms are also very modern and toiletries are supplied.The hotel staff are all friendly and couldn't be more helpful.Its a central location with easy access to the beach and also good local buses to other resorts.
I will be happy to go back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great Hotel, enjoying a fantastic position on the seafront with raised position, giving great views out to sea and the Benalmedina Marina. This is one of the major pluses for this hotel. Excellent bedrooms with super kingsized bed. We were in room 324 (east side of hotel) with view towards Marina. This room, like most, has a modern wetroom type bathroom with an excellent shower and twin basin, toilet and bidet. Helpful and friendly staff on reception (shame our departue day wake up call was 35 minutes late!) and very hard working restaurant staff, quick to clear used plates, etc. Good variety of food including fresh cooked. Evening Entertainment was nothing to write home about. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and two nice cabanas on lower terrace. Also has a pool table and table tennis table. We visited for one week 3-10th Nov. Hotel was full with mostly seniors, as could be expected for time of year. Many are multiple repeat customers who are always to be overheard comparing the hotel with how it used to be in the past - many whingers! Convenient bus stops to front of hotel. Marina is in walking distance and Benalmadina has a clean and well kept promenade. We saw the street sweeper drive up and down each morning. Yes, the hotel has chosen a rather grey paint job inside and out but hey ho. Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. We had a thoroughly enjoyable, great value stay courtesy of Thompson holidays. Quick airport transfer time. Convenient location for trips to Benalmadina Pueblo, cable car, Mijas, etc. Hotel has a nice compact spa with winter special offers - had a 45 minutes massage for 20 euros. Don't get concerned about minor issues such as waits for lifts, sounds from other rooms such as water flowing, etc they are nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HD_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear HD_UK,

First of all, thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera and for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectation in all aspects, enjoying hotel facilities along with its services. Our major concern is customer satisfaction and such reviewing as yours make us understand what are guests value and expect from their holidays.

Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Myself and my wife stayed for a week in late October. The hotel has undergone a good refurbishment throughout, with all the outdoor furniture looking very modern and the carpets and very clean. It was good to have different levels to the rear of the hotel overlooking the promenade to sunbathe in as these were quieter and more secluded than round the pool.
The rooms were spacious with large bed and a modern bathroom with double sinks. As commented by others the balcony, although small did have a thick glazed door which kept out the noise from the busy road at front of hotel.
The restaurant was nice overlooking the sea at one end and with the option of taking a drink to the outside pool area, but sometimes struggling to cope with the amount of people, having to wait a few minutes to be escorted to table, and sometimes the one juice machine ran out, always at breakfast you were escorted to table and sometimes then left with out tea or coffee being served as is the norm.
The tappas section was a very good option, allowing people like me, who do not usually eat the local food, an opportunity to try different things.
We did find the lifts sometimes a bit slow and small more than 4 people and they were cramped.
However what let the hotel down mainly was, the quality of entertainment with the resident duo singer acting as if she was better then she was, and sometimes at the pool bar the staff acted as if they 'had to be there' with no service with a smile.
Overall we thought this was a good hotel but the location in Benalmedena which is quite dirty, let it down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephene20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing