We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a makeover since last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Seemed pretty much the same in most areas. Rooms made over and comfortable.
The decor was somewhat drab, greys everywhere! Possibly a picture or two in bedroom would also be an improvement.
Food as good as previous visit and the entertainment vastly improved.
Outside improved with new steps in place of dodgy ones.
I think the lift to beach could also have done with some improving. Still as slow and creaky. The gate to promemade also problimatical in refusing to accept door card to give entry.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from marina seem to get more sun during day (at least in February!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcesterMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have just spent 19 nights in this excellent hotel. Refurbished in 2013, the hotel is smart, modern and comfortable. It has a prime position between the promenade and beach, (access to which is made easy by a lift if you can't walk down through the garden levels) and the coast road where you can get on the local bus to Malaga or Fuengirola or even further afield.
Before leaving the UK, l e-mailed the hotel to ask for a room on a high floor, sunny side of the hotel. When we opened the door of the room on the 7th floor which we were given, the view was stunning - lots of sea, beach, promenade and expensive villas besides sun from early afternoon. The bathroom has two sinks and a walk-in shower, the bed is enormous and there was ample clothes storage. The furnishings and decoration, plus laminated wood floor completed the comfortable room.
The dining room overlooks the sea and there is a good variety of tasty food and even a special tapas corner. There is also an 'a la carte' restaurant' which guests can use once a week.
The entertainment room is large and comfortable. We saw three outstanding professional acts whilst we were there, together with other very good performers. There is a varied daytime entertainment programme as well. The pleasant helpful staff deserve a mention; one of the receptionists was very helpful in changing my daughter's room - there was nothing wrong with it other than it was on the ground floor and we were on the 7th floor. Cristina, the Thomson rep, Caz and Danny, the entertainers, are three really nice helpful people who do their best to look after and entertain guests.
There was a mix of ages whilst we were there, but the last 7 days the hotel was full and l wonder how many other hotels were full the last week of February.
Lastly Medplaya has an Amigo card scheme. Guests receive points according to their length of stay which can be exchanged for gifts or services.
Hopefully, we will be back at the Riviera soon! lt is on our favourite hotels list!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on sunny side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Maxibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Maxibird,

Firstly thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Riviera for your winter holiday in Benalmádena Costa and for providing us with your constructive comment. We are happy to hear about your satisfaction with our last year's revamp and hotel service. Please rest assure your comment will be forwarded to hotel management as making our guests happy is our prime goal which we strive to achieve day by day.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and make sure you to bring with you your Amigo card to take advantage of it.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

All the good things you read about this hotel are true, the food, cleanliness, staff (especially Elena), the rooms, the pool and gardens etc so I won't go into them all again and I would thoroughly recommend it but I have a thing about hotels charging for necessities. This hotel (and others) charge 3 Euros a day to hire a safe and the same thing for a tiny fridge. Now with 189 rooms and lets say an occupancy rate of only 80% that's 165,000 euros a year if everyone hires a safe and the same again for a fridge. Now I appreciate that not everyone will hire one or both of these but they must have paid for themselves many times over so why charge ? In this day and age a safe is a must and I believe should be free. If other hotels can provide them free, why not this one, especially a 4* ?
There is no wifi in the room (unless you pay) but I believe this is being rectified in May. You have to go to reception to read e.mails etc but it didn't always work there either. Elena seemed to spend hours connecting peoples IPad or phone to the wifi.
Last rant. There is a list of lots of TV channels in the room but many (mainly BBC and ITV don't work and you just get a 'no signal' message.
Two bonus points NO KIDS, brilliant and our room was cleaned every day by 10 am at the latest, often before.
Don't let the safe thing put you off. It's a personal gripe of mine. This hotel is super and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BootneckBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear BootneckBirmingham,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Riviera and for taking the time to share your comment with other Tripadvisor travelers. We are pleased to receive your constructive comment and very much appreciate your feedback. Please rest assure, your points will be forwarded to hotel management for consideration.

Thanks again for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

just arrived back from yet another super break at the Riviera Hotel cant fault this hotel the food entertainment and the staff excellent we asked for a specific room no problems we got it nothing was to much trouble for the staff.Danny and Caz great entertainers kept everyone amused good show you two,cant wait to return for another break,

Room Tip: rooms facing car park sun all afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just got back from this hotel after a week away with my boyfriend, The hotel is just excellent! Check in was really easy and the staff made us very welcome when we arrived. Hotel was in a great location with a few bars over the road , many of the attractions were also within walking distance which was great.

We had a premium room with a sea view, massive bed and Jacuzzi bath and shower, The room was very clean and nicely done out and the views were amazing from the balcony. Rooms were cleaned everyday which was great and cleaners were very friendly and didn't like to disturb you.

The buffet restaurant was great , huge range of different foods, things you'd never even think of eating back home , always lots of veg, salad ,meats and veg options and also great cooked breakfasts , pancakes , omelettes etc. The show cooking was great and the cooks made things in front of you, also there was a lovely tapas corner which seemed very popular too. We also went to the al la carte restaurant which you could visit once in your stay, good menu and food wasn't bad at all.

We used the hotel spa which you have to pay for at 10euros per couple for an hour , had a spa pool and Jacuzzi and a sauna and steam room which was great, You could also have a massage which seemed popular also.

Was also great to hear a lot of people staying had visited many times before and a lot of people seemed to know each other which was great.

The reps made our stay , Christina was available to give you any information on the area and where to go and you could also book trips and get tickets for attractions.Caz and danny were also brilliant on an evening and I believe they arranged a lot of the daytime activites too.The entertainment was generally for the older generation , being a very young couple we didn't see many of the acts.

Overall the visit was a great one and will be back again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Amanda R,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Riviera and for taking the time to share your review with Tripadvisor travelers. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that our staff provided you with excellent service.

Once again thank you for choosing us for your holiday in Benalmádena and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

First stay in this hotel as we tend to go to the Canaries this time of year. I can't fault it. The hotel, staff and food all excellent. The room was large and clean with a lovely view of the sea. We had the sun on the balcony all afternoon which was an added bonus.

If you like a stroll it's a beautiful spot. 10 minutes to the Marina, a further 10 mins to Torrelominus. All flat and promenade walk. In the other direction you have the stroll along the Benalmadena beach. 10 Mins in this direction and you have the Paloma park which is a beautiful park. If you walk up the hill to the cable cars it takes approx. 30 mins. We bought our tickets at the hotel as they had an offer but be warned if it's too windy up the mountains the cable cars don't run. Don't leave it to the last day of your hols or you could be disappointed.

We often stopped at the Palm 5 café on the front for a drink or a coffee and watched the world go buy. Weather about 19 degrees. Lovely for walking. I did brave the hotel pool twice. Be warned, it's very cold!!!!

The only down side was on arrival we waited for the coach to fill up which took a while. All the people on the coach were staying at the Riviera so when we arrived I felt very sorry for the one receptionist who worked really hard to get everyone checked in quickly but it was a long job.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor which gave us lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandASKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for a week this February, brilliant room & furnishings, good having a balcony but it was facing a car park with tiny view of sea, north facing which meant we had the sun during the afternoon so that was a bonus.
Staff were very helpful & pleasent, good service, only problem was each morning at 7ish we were woken up by noise, doors banging & loud chatter, we think it was the cleaning staff starting work. Our room was 111 which was the first on the ground floor, great for access to all other amenities.
Self service restaurant was brilliant, great choices, couldn't fault it & staff again were lovely. Watch the plates can be very hot I ended up with a blister one night!
Al a carte restaurant was disappointing for us, staff again lovely but waited half an hour for a drink & much longer for the food, the lamb with fruit was two small pieces of lamb & a dried apricot & a few raisins. The steamed salmon was very dry. We were glad to get back to the self service.
The walkway (back of hotel) with shops, bars & restaurants, was by the sea & just wonderful for strolling, views were lovely & about 15 minutes stroll from the lovely marina.
I would definitely go back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much bigger & appear to get a lot more sun & great views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £93 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing