We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fab hotel”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We visited this hotel in March 2012 and promised to return the following year. However we couldn't as the hotel was closed for.a total refurb. We have just returned and I can say that it was definitely worth the wait.
The improvements are great. Rooms have very comfortable large double beds and fridges wifi and safes are available at an extra cost. The hotel is now a Thomson Couples hotel and so there is always something to do if you want to. Danny and Caz do a fabulous job at keeping guests entertained both day and night. The cabaret show every evening are varied.
The location of the hotel could' be better as it is right on the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, either looking towards the marina and overlooking the pool or on the sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynda1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Lynda1354,

Thank you for your nice review, which we were delightes to read! It nice to know that our efforts result in positive effects for our guests. We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    578
    176
    42
    23
See reviews for
118
1,245
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

i have just arrived home from this hotel on my first visit to the costa del sol i went there with an open mind not knowing what to expect fist of all the airport at malaga seemed dated compared to alicante and palma so after a trek up and down stairs we were funnelled into a cavernous underground bus station oh well then we arrived at the hotel the wellcome was fantastic which continued throughout the holiday the rooms were spotless plenty of hot water and a sea view on the sunny side of the hotel the public rooms were again spotless and there seemed to some polishing or sweeping somewhere the resturant buffet was very clean the staff freindly always with a smile a special mention about the thompson rep christina she was one of the best if not best rep that i have met in all the places i have been would i go there again ? you bet i would

Room Tip: any room after second floor on the sunny side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

This is the third time at the riviera and it's better than ever,fabulous refurbishment ,Roberto the dining room manager was a gem as were all his staff.The food was great and the new tapas corner well what to say about it FANTASTIC,Antonio the barman in the lounge bar is a true gent,Christina Caz and Danny all did a fab job and Caz as a great voice.we had a room on the sixth floor the bed was enormous any very well maintained with fresh sheets and towels every other day,the only down side and I no other people have said this but the charge for the fridge and safe is a bit steep,but all in all we had a great time and the weather was fantastic.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Stellaowenjenno1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Stellaowenjenno1112,

Firstly thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Riviera for your recent stay in Benalmádena and for taking the time to share your experience at this place. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time, I will make sure to pass your comments onto all departments, as to achieve your satisfaction is our main goal.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and we hope to welcome you again soon

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

When I arrived they could not find my booking. I was then shown two rooms. One with an almost subterranean balcony overlooking a mini golf course and no sea view, lateral or otherwise, as booked and paid for. The other room had no balcony and had a ceiling which had clearly suffered from water ingress and had a large patch of peeling paint. After checking my booking details online with booking .com I returned to the reception. I was met with some hostility. At one stage they actually said ' We are full why don't you just take your money back and go somewhere else'. They kept shrugging and saying 'we are full'. I persisted and eventually one member of staff said 'alright I will show the room you should have had but we will have to move someone'. I insisted and we finally were able to move my luggage into the correct room. I formed the opinion that they were not interested in the independant traveller and relied on Thompson etc.
I felt very strongly that they had tried to deliberately cheat me. The food was OK but was very canteen format and I always felt that they wanted you in and out as fast as possible. You could not relax with a coffee at the end of the meal as they refused to serve coffee.
I believe this is at best a 3 star hotel. You even have to pay 3 euros per day to rent a fridge. It is not a mini bar as advertised and the safe which they recommend is also rented only as an addition. The poolside bar as advertised never opened. The indoor pool, one of my main reasons for booking the hotel was in fact an indoor spa for which you had to pay an additional 10 euros per hour!
The room furniture was very cheap and basic other than the bed. All of the hallways are painted a very gloomy grey.
No real information about the area, events or any of the other information to help improve your stay as you would normally expect in a good hotel.
The gym is a couple of cycling machines items plus a rusting multigym.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colchestered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Colchestered,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Riviera for your holiday in Benalmádena and for taking your time to provide your opinion on this place. We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction as to the allocation of your room which has been caused due to the unforeseen state of overbooking.
We apologize for any inconveniences caused and please rest assured your comment will be forwarded to the management in order to look into it and make amendments and so avoid such situations.

Thanks again for reviewing us and we hope you you will give us a chance to prove our efficiency.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for only 2 nights, not having stayed there before. It caters almost entirely for British visitors so would be very suitable for many, particularly the older clients. It does not accept children. I thought the food was very good considering the numbers being catered for, and although we dined late there was still plenty of food available - mainly buffet style, but with some hot dishes cooked to order in front of your eyes. The tapas style starters were delicious and beautifully presented. The waiter who looked after us on our first evening immediately delivered our left over wine from the previous evening when we went to dinner on our second night although we were not sitting at one of his tables - remarkable memory!
The hotel is well situated on the beach, but in a slightly elevated position. Although there is a lift to the promenade I found it a little bit of a chore to go up and down all the steps as I am claustrophobic, and am 76, although quite active.
The hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms are large and airy and quite well equipped.
The lounge next to the main bar/entertainments lounge is quite barren and not very comfortable or welcoming.
It would be nice if the hotel offered free Wi-Fi in bedrooms instead of the reception area only, but this is probably nit-picking, and as the hotel is so reasonably priced they have to make money where they can.
I feel a little ungenerous rating the hotel as average - I would say above average but not quite rating very good.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a lateral sea view or main road view, so if you want a full sea view specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank june m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have previously stayed at the Riviera on several occasions, so though we would try it again, after the recent upgrade.

For those who have not used the hotel previously, it is situated right on the promenade with direct access from an internal lift straight down onto the lovely flat promenade where you can walk either way for miles.
The hotel has 8 floors with rooms either facing east with good views towards the marina, and early morning sun on the balcony, or west with see views and sun from about 1.00 o’clock. There also rooms on the front of the hotel with are a little larger and have bigger balconies. We generally ask for a room on the side which has afternoon sun, but I am sure in the summer some guests may well prefer a room with shade in the daytime, and use the pool area for sunbathing.

Accommodation.
All rooms have been fully refurbished to a high standard, have a very modern feel to them, and are a good size. Our room had a 7 foot double bed, and yet there was still ample space in the room. The bathrooms all now had twin washbasins and a walk in shower, which looks very modern. There is also now tea & coffee facilities in the room which is a useful addition. We have read on Trip advisor complaints about the room being too hot and stuffy at night, which surprised us. We slept with the heating turned down to 10c and with a duvet off the bed, we found this perfectly acceptable. W-fi is available in the public areas of the hotel, but is a chargeable extra in your room. The only down side to the rooms was the fact that you have to still pay for the safe and fridge at a cost of 3 euros per item per day, which on an extended stay of 3 or 4 weeks works out very expensive.

Dining
The Dining Room has also been fitted out with new furniture and still has those fantastic views over the sea and marina. The new Tapas Corner has been added with different items on every night, which is very nice addition. The food was regularly topped-up, and always seemed hot. As previously it is still excellent, with something for all tastes. You can even get porridge for breakfast….possible catering for us Brits who seem to make up about 80% of the guests.
There is also now a new al-la-cart restaurant downstairs now, which is available, free of charge once a week. We heard good reports about this from everyone who used it, although as we prefer a buffet menu, we did not try it.

Lounge & Entertainment.
The lounge has had all new furniture, and is still very pleasant with good waiter service if required. Drinks are a reasonable price, about £3 for a pint of beer, and there is a 2 for 1 happy hour three nights a week.
The entertainment usually consists of a quiz at 8.00pm, followed by a singer/keyboard player till 10.00, and then the main act, which were either singers, magic shows, goucho dancers, and of course a weekly flamenco act. Generally most of the acts were quite entertaining, in fact two or three were excellent, but as they appear on a two week cycle, after seeing them once, we did not bother a second time.
During the day, there were other activities going on such as shuffleboard, crazy golf, french boules etc for anyone interested. These were run by a girl called ‘Caz’ and a boy called ‘Danny’ who both did everything they could to make this enjoyable.

Outside areas.
The pool area and gardens are all very well maintained, and give fabulous views of the beach and sea. Obviously at this time of the year the outside pool was not used much, and we were disappointed to find the inside pool and jacuzzi is now part of a new Spar Centre arrangement, which cost 10 euros a day to use. For the 3 weeks we were there we hardly saw a single person use the indoor pool, which seemed a bit of a waste. We would have though that at this time of the year, some arrangement could have been made to allow guest to at least use the pool without a charge, rather than it just be left unused.

Staff.
The staff were all excellent, and dealt with us in a friendly and efficient manner. Many of them seem to have worked there for a long time, which is always a good sign.

Summing up
Overall we had a very comfortable stay at the Riviera again. The position of the hotel is excellent, albeit there is a busy road at the rear of the hotel, which could be a concern in the summer for those wanting to sleep with the balcony door open. The hotel only caters for adults, which makes it fairly quiet in the public areas. Food and accommodation are very good, and since the upgrade of the hotel will take some beating.

The only down side as far as we were concerned, was the fact that the safe, fridge and inside pool are at an additional cost, which can be expensive for anyone staying for a few weeks, and seemed poor for a 4 star hotel.

We will however be using the hotel again.

Room Tip: Try for a room near the front, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Banky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Banky,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Riviera as your holiday accommodation in Benalmádena Costa and for taking the time to share your constructive comment with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to hear you had a great holiday and that you plan to come back. Regarding our Spa & Wellness center, we do offer special packages which can be booked directly at the reception or in the Spa center. The information is available on our website, on the hotel's page.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Spent a wonderful week at this hotel Late February. It is an excellent hotel and all the rave reviews are justified. The entertainment staff work very hard (especially Caz). The food is very good with plenty of choice, our only criticism, which we raised with the restaurant manager was the temperature of the hot food which sometimes was only lukewarm. The al a carte restaurant we found disappointing and would probably have preferred another meal in the main restaurant. If your lucky enough to get a room on the opposite side to the pool, which we were, you get the sun on your balcony most of the day. There were some nice touches, a kettle with tea and coffee in the room and water on arrival were appreciated. On the whole a very good hotel staff very efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bern004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Bern004,

Dear Hughmarie5,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Riviera and for the time to share a review on this place. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll choosing Hotel Riviera the next time you are in Benalmádena Costa.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing