We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“passing the hotel while in Benalmadena..now booked a week here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My nan and her husband came here to the Riviera many years ago when they were alive and loved it,so I thought while I was in Benalmadena id come and check the hotel out..obviously it has changed since the 1990s,i asked reception if I could have a look round and buy a drink..they said sure have a look n sit around the pool with a drink,i had a brief look around the hotel and was very very impressed,i bought a drink outside at the pool bar and relaxed around the pool for a couple of hours..longer than I thought,ha.even though as I was only there for a day I was so impressed and made welcome that ive booked a week here at the Riviera with Thomson holidays at the end of November as a birthday treat to myself....cant wait to come back..roll on November now,

Room Tip: ive booked a single room with pool n sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petermakinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,751)
There are newer reviews for TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Another good stay at Riviera. Good refurb. rooms very clean and modern . Staff as good as ever.
Nice addition of the al a cart good to be waited on . Brilliant location with plenty of sun beds.
ONLY downside lack of BBC and ITV on tv. not wanting to watch entertainment every night
But still be returning in sept.

Room Tip: pool view great sun rise in morning
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaviewrequired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, RRPP at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Seaviewrequired,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Riviera as your holiday accommodation and for taking the time to share your comment. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and i have just returned from the riviera,we were so impressed with the hotel,staff, and the accomodation that we have booked to return in early november.The pool area is lovely place to chill as there seems to be sun beds available at any time.The food was a very good selection covering all tastes,the a la carte was a delight,overall excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just arrived home after enjoying a 10 day break at this hotel. Positives first: Food excellent a vast choice well cooked and well presented something to suit every taste. Stay away from the Al-carte restaurant, menu poor, bland taste. Hotel very clean, swimming pool cleaned out each evening. Bed was the most comfortable bed we have every had on holiday. Walk in shower very good.

A few negatives: Reception staff need to lighten up. Amount of money taken from you before you start your holiday is ridiculous. 3 euro per day for safety deposit, 3 euro per day for the fridge and twenty euro's deposit for each pool towel. This amounts to 100 euros over ten days. We felt that this was a large amount taken from our holiday budget and quite unnecessary. Although it states that sunbeds around the pool were not to be reserved this was not case. however after a week of our stay notices were displayed. We could not believe that pensioners were getting up at 6.30 - 7.0 a.m. to reserve the best spots and then not using the beds for most of the day and despite the notices this still happened. The pool attendant should be taking towels away if not used for over 1 hour.

We would still recommend this hotel it is in a good position for cafes. bars shops etc. and we will probably return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor had view of the sea and marina and also the pool. Could not have asked...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Chris H,

Thanks for choosing Hotel Riviera and for taking the time to share your comment on your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Food is generally very good and of a mixed variety with regards to locale etc only one thing is do avoid the Ghoulash as it is more like ghoulish - what meat they has used I don't know but it was terribly gristley. The rooms are practical and spacious and the curtains so good that with them closed you wouldn't know that you are on the doorstep of the Med! The staff are very polite in the hotel and restaurant but one in the bar section is clueless in the extreme, takes ages getting your change and frequently gets your order wrong! The bar area is like a labour club thrown back to the 80s with what is meant to be entertainment to match - you will spend more time going up cardiac Hill to the Bali to escape from this dated sub standard crap. The televisions are lovely flat screen LG ones - unfortunately with the management lieing about what English channels they can pick up - 2 news channels, 2 true movie channels and 5 music stations...don't expect to keep abreast with the soaps... or the World cup....yet strangely enough the TV in the bar could get English speaking world cup coverage...until the sixties entertainment came on and drowned it out ! Great hotel but they seriously need to restructure their entertainment programme and the TV channels.

Room Tip: Get sky go, a laptop and an hdmi cable, you're gonna need them!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MWild67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My daughter & I have just returned from a week's stay at the Hotel Riviera. The hotel, staff & entertainment were excellent. So much so, that we found ourselves chilling round the pool every day & didn't bother booking a single trip. The room was bright, clean & spacious. Towels were changed every day & bed linen (although it stated 3 times a week) was changed every day except one. We took advantage of the poolside towels (€20 returnable deposit), which we changed daily & also the safe & fridge, which were €3 a day each but worth it in our eyes. Food excellent & plenty of choice for both breakfast & dinner. Poolside bar was also great. We had read previous reviews stating that the guests were mainly elderly & I was worried that my daughter, who is in her thirties, wouldn't enjoy herself. However, although there were a large number of retired people, my daughter was the first to say she would like to return next year. All the staff worked extremely hard, but special mention of entertainment staff Laura & Danny, who were fantastic. We'll definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Our room was on west side of hotel, so we had the late afternoon sun on our balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just stayed at the Riviera Hotel in Benalmadena. This was are first stay at this hotel .
We had a superior room which had a good view of the sea and harbour. Was well worth the extra money. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with more than you could eat. We will be visiting again

Room Tip: The superior rooms have a good sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 734Louise734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandamed, Relaciones Públicas at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear 734Louise734,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Riviera and for sharing your comment on your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £97 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing