We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Season Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Out of Season Break”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We have just come back from a fantastic holiday at the hotel riviera, we had a view over the swimming pool and sea which was well worth looking at when you get up in the morning. The food and service was excellent all english exept a few dishes which were like a curry and so on, the staff were very friendly and a very welcoming staff as you walked in and all the way through our stay.
Very good location for touring as just outside the hotel you could get a bus to malaga and marbella if you wanted to.
The entertainment was more for the over 50's so if you're younger than that, it may be worth while thinking of somewhere else to go.
The hotel bar was the same price as the local bars very reasonable, we had good weather most of the time like a summers day with a little light breeze which was lovley and not too hot.
Unfortunately, the rooms on the south east side suffer a great deal from road noise and during the winter months the air conditioning is turned off and the heating pturned on so that if the day is hot, you have to open the balcony doors and let in the noise!!!!
The carpets are looking a bit old but don't let them put you off. I heard they are going to replace the carpets.
PLEASE DO NOT REPLACE THEM WITH NOISY BUT CONVENIENT LAMINET FLOORING!
We would recomend this hotel to anyone but if you get a pool and sea view it is a lot quieter.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    583
    179
    43
    23
See reviews for
118
1,262
73
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 4 years, and whilst I agree that the carpets are getting a little tired please do not let that put you off, the food, staff and all round are are worth the visit.
As my wife has problems walking this is an ideal choice, plenty of cafes, bars and the promenade ony a short trip ( in the lift ) away.
That coupled with the fact that id child free makes it an ideal relaxing holiday.
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sculthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I have just spent two weeks in this hotel , the room i was given was room115 on the ground floor the room for a single was a reasonable size ,but suffered a lot of road noise , and had to close the curtains during to day ,to avoid seeing constant traffic ,three days into my stay the room next door to mine 114 was undergoing a major refit carpets removed and laminate floors put down i believe all rooms are are eventually having new flooring.
I requested a change of room which i did not accept as it was also next to the main road.
the thomson rep told me the hotel was less than half full,so why did they allocate me a room where noisy work was going on next door? bad planning.
As a single traveller i had paid a suppliment for this room .i would suggest anyone coming to this hotel requests a room away from this very busy road.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keith1076999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed here over Christmas. Both hotel and resort are geared up for older people. Very English emphasis everywhere. Rooms were good and very clean, however there is quite a problem with noise. We had a high side room and the road was busy until quite late, you can't hear the tv with the balcony door open. Food was also very English in style, however choice was excellent and it was perfectly okay, just don't expect anything remotely Spanish. Always plenty for vegetarians too. Service in the restaurant was excellent , and wine starting at 7.5 euros a bottle is good value. They put on quite a spread on Christmas night but you will have to share tables then, we even had free wine, cava and brandy. Happy hour and entertainment every evening but service in there was a bit hit and miss and we didn't really bother with it.

Bus stop is a few yards from hotel entrance, there is also a tourist open top bus, and also a tram/train going round the resort. The road outside is quite busy and to get to the park or town it is up quite a steep hill, but well worth the visit. Also near the village is the cable car which is good for views if you like heights. There is a lift from the hotel down to the promenade/beach and you can walk all the way to Torremelinos with plenty of seating, shops and cafes along the way.

Pool area was okay, but very quiet when we were there, also there are garden areas with sunbeds which are a bit more private.

Overall nothing at all to complain about, it was a very easy and relaxing holiday but you could have been anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hotfooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We arrived at the hotel Riviera in the evening, we were greeted at Reception by a very pleasant male Receptionist who said it was best to put our luggage in the luggage room and go straight to the Restaurant for dinner. Our first meal was very nice, we had about 15 minutes before closing and there was still plenty of choice. Once we had eaten we were given our room key, I had requested a sea view and a room on a low floor, this could not be guaranteed on booking but we found we had been given a room on the 3rd floor and had a pool/sea view which was nice. The first thing I noticed on walking into the room was the slight smell of smoke, people muist be able to smoke in the room, it wasn't too bad, just a hint but we sprayed the room with deodorant and it did seem to disguise it. I also noticed the carpets were heavily stained, most of the reviews mention this and I thought they wouldn't be too bad but indeed they are, why MedPlaya don't have them cleaned following all the reviews I don't know, the room was clean and tidy, not 4 star standard but it was OK.

The towels were changed daily and the sheets were changed while we were there and we only stayed for 5 nights. The entertainment was geared mainly to the eldery as the hotel was full and I would say 95% were elderly but we still enjoyed it and it was nice to be entertained and not to have to entertain ourselves with the usual quizzes and karaoke, there were professional acts entertaining you every night.

The food was lovely, the breakfast especially, so much choice, there was eggs, bacon, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, hot baguettes, rolls, cereals, fruit, cakes etc. all very tasty too. The evening meal was nice too, plently to choose from, Roast meat every night, a different soup, vegetables, jacket potatoes, salad, ice cream (4 different flavours) desserts, cakes and fruit.

There are a couple of things that could be improved to make it a 4 star, fridge in the room, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, we went to the hotel Yaramar in Fuengirola which is a 4 star Gold hotel and worthy of 4 stars, it is a lovely hotel and you can really see the difference which is why I can't see how Thomson can justify the Riviera being a 4 star.

The Riviera is in a good position, very close to the beach, a few steps down to the gate which lets you out onto the promenade and within walking distance of the Marina which has a lot of restaurants, shops and bars, quite an upmarket area. You can easily get a bus outside the hotel to other resorts and it doesn't cost very much and very straight forward. We vsited Paloma park, it is quite a big park full of birds, rabbits, peacocks, all roaming free and you can buy some bread for 1 Euro to feed them.

One tip, don't bother changing too much money into Euros before you leave, there are plenty of places where you can change your money and you get a much better rate, there is one place in particular called Rubens which is close to the hotel where the rate was very good.

The weather was lovely, very warm about 75 degrees during the day but chilly in the evening, you may need a light jacket or cardigan in the winter months. Most of the resort is still open and there are quite a few holidaymakers making the most of the winter sunshine. The pool was very cold so we were unable to swim and the indoor pool could be warmer too.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aamod65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

just back from a lovely holiday, at hotel rviera,food very good, rooms spotless,excellent staff at this hotel, only thing that is negative,is the carpets in the bedrooms which are badley stained, this realy lets the hotel down, ithink all the complaints this hotel gets about the carpets it is about time something is done,to improve this situaton.apart from these moans,i dont think you could get abetter hotel,you could not get abetter position and lovely veiws.bye the way i have heard the riviera is no longer,going inclusive,it would be ashame to spoil the hotel,with some off our yobs. J and J

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coolkitty030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Riviera.

We are very pleased to hear that your holiday experience at the hotel was all you expected and that you returned home with happy memories.

We take all feedback that our customers give us into consideration when reviewing our performance and planning improvements for the future and we are reviewing the carpet situation.

We can also confirm that the Hotel Riviera is not being sold as All Inclusive for next year.

We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Riviera in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Stayed 3 nights on way back from Estepona,having stayed last year at the excellent Riu Hotel at the Port we were interested to compare the two.
Firstly your level of satisfaction is the location of your room. If you want some sunshine on your balcony only the south side will do this,as the other side gets none whatsoever at this time of year anyway.Which ever side you are on you need to be away from the main road,not just the traffic noise,but the disgusting behavior of the British yobs who visit the pub on the opposite side of the road. Dont even think about taking your family in there ,the noise and the language are unbelievable and encouraged by the senseless people who run this dump.
This is a pity as the Hotel is very good,nice food and friendly staff,and fantastic views from the high floor sea/sun facing rooms. This is not going to last for long,,as can you believe it, the highly paid execs at Thomsons are changing it to all inclusive and no doubt allowing kids in as well.The Hotel ,I am informed, is over 80% occupied by pleasant mainly retired people who return year after year,and now they want to attract the drunken yobs who have an unlimited amount of cheap bars where they can blow whatever brains they have every night. Thomsons appear to be losing the plot entirely and whilst we usually book Thomson Gold,this year the brochure is going in the bin

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thenew2Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel Riviera in Benalmadena.

We are very pleased to hear that you were very happy with the standards and service offered at the Hotel which has been very popular with our British Customers for many years now.

We would like to take this opportunity to confirm that the Hotel Riviera will not be All Inclusive for 2011, and that it will continue to be an Adults Only hotel. We hope that with this in mind we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Riviera in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing