We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MS Alay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MS Alay Apartments
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

First impressions weren´t great. The reception area stank of stale smoke and was pretty dark and uninviting. Reception staff were averagely friendly - not rude but not overly warm or professional either. We only stayed for one night and were put in a room on the side of the hotel facing the road. It was a good size with a kitchen area well equipped with kettle, toaster and microwave. There was also a sofa with a very small plasma tele. The shower pressure was very low and the complementary bath products were very difficult to open! Bed covers were noticeably worn, one of the bath towels was dirty with toothpaste stains and parts of the walls looked in need of a good scrub. There was a small balcony with a partial lateral view of the sea. Very noisy day and night despite double-glazed windows, due to the busy road and nearby clubs and bars. You could also hear other guests loudly through the walls. All in all, for the price you pay the quality of the accommodation is satisfactory but don´t expect much more.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    137
    51
    17
    21
See reviews for
62
149
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scot
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

we stayed in these appartments 7 years ago and it was dreadful, but now wow what a difference. the hotel has been completely refurbished to very high standard, we were in a 1 bedroom apartment a large living area lovely bathroom and good size bedroom the kitchen utilities were all you could need microwave and for once the hob heated up very quickly.the flooring was laminated which deadens any sound from above. the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful which in our experience is very rare. the hotel is near to all amenities and marina. overall the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stayed here for a long weekend with a couple of friends. It had been recommended by another friend and knowing the local area I knew it was very central. The 24hr square is 200 yards away, the beach is less than a 5 minute walk and the marina is again within 5 minutes. We were 3 males staying in an apartment - we asked for 2 single beds but got a double but there was a pull out bed in the lounge and the sofa doubled up as a bed too so not a problem. Facilities were fine and there was always someone on reception.
People leaving the square created noise so if you are a light sleeper you may wish to have a room facing the gardens (we faced the road).
Facilities for eating and drinking in the marina are superb and light bites/breakfast can easily be found on the beachfront - been coming for 10 years and will be back again.
If you want a central location (with Rubens the best money exchange place opposite) you cannot go too far wrong with MS Alay if you want a cheap option.

Room Tip: get a room facing the gardens for a better sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turbo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Lovely apartments and fantastic value for money. Ideally located within 5 mins walk of both the Marina and the 24hr square. Would recommend these apartments to absolutely everyone!! Will be back next year :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polydolly1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Just spent 3 nights at the apartments and couldn't fault them, had a great time. Requested on booking a pool view and this is what we received. Pool area was quiet and we had morning sun on the balcony.

The apartments were modern, spacious, well equipped and very clean. Had everything you needed including a safe that we did pay for but it was only 2 euros a day. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and professional.

Bars, shops, restaurants and the marina are literally on your doorstep, but the apartments were quiet and had a good nights sleep.

The only negative is that we were charged to use the sunbeds, priced at 1 euro 80 and that the pool guy collected them in at 6pm so you couldn't enjoy the last bit of sun - however, it didn't spoil our break away.

Looking forward to returning next year on a girls holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chorleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

just returned after staying at these apartments for ten days after reading some reviews they must be very fussy apartments were cleaned every other day could not here any noise from the square staff were very polite and helpful would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlie900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Wow, what a difference a refurbishment makes.

We stayed here when they known as the Pepita Alay Apartments, until a few years ago when they went down-hill, big time.

This year we returned & were very impressed. We stayed in a studio apartment, room 303, overlooking the swimming pool area.

The clean & spacious room was finished to a good standard with great air conditioning. The beds were comfortable & there is ample clothes storage. Safety deposit box was 28E (+ 6E deposit) for 2 weeks. Flat screen TV (deposit required for remote; don’t know price as we did not take it). Bedding was changed regularly by helpful cleaners.

The kitchen is well equipped with a 2 ring ceramic hob, toaster, kettle, micro-wave & a fridge (no ice-box for ice-cubes for your G & T’s). Good selection of cutlery, plates & pots & pans, if required.

Nice bathroom but shower was a bit temperamental, with the temperature not being consistent. Towels changed regularly & extra towels left at the weekend. Basic toiletries supplied in the bathroom ie shampoo & shower gel.

Good sized swimming pool & kiddie’s pool. Sun-beds are 1.80E each, including a thick mattress & a couple of times during our fortnight, they did not have enough beds. There is lots of grass to throw a towel down for sun-bathing.
Johnny, the pool attendant, nice guy, very helpful & efficient, doesn’t speak a lot of English, just banter him about Real Madrid.
Pool side bar opened in July. Beer is 2.50E a pint & you can get burgers, toasties & other snacks (but no chips) & soft drinks & ice lollies. Reasonably priced.

Reception staff were very friendly, helpful & efficient. Large lobby with pool table, football machine, vending machine & a couple of PC’s. No bar in the apartment complex.

Exit apartments left & the beautiful Marina, restaurants & bars are a few of minutes walk away. Walk promenades left & right of the Marina for miles of restaurants, bars & shops.

Exit apartments right onto Av Antonio Machado. There is a big supermarket on your left across the road, 24 Hour Square in front of you & Lidl is less than 10 minutes walk away past Los Porches. Lots of restaurants & bars all along Av Antonio Machado.
Bus stops also on this road, heading in both directions up the coast. Bus to Torremolinos costs less than 2E each.

Recommended.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Tigertribal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.3 mi away
Best Siroco
Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palmasol
Hotel Palmasol
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Triton
Best Triton
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MS Alay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MS Alay Apartments

Property: MS Alay Apartments
Address: Avenida Alay 3, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MS Alay Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments MS Alay, were completely refurbished in 2009 and are located by the sea in front of the Benalmádena Costa Marina and alongside the promenade. It is a unique enclave which lets you enjoy your holidays on the Costa del Sol , whilst being near tourist attractions. Benalmádena Marina has received the distinguish of “Best Marina in the World” twice, an award given by specialised international magazines, it also has the Blue Flag for Cleanest Seas in Europe, thanks to the quality of its amenities and its waters.Apartments MS Alay has one bedroom apartments with ample front rooms, internal telephone, international TV, air conditioning and heating, American kitchen totally equipped with a fridge, microwave, glass-ceramic hob and a full bathroom. The one bedroom apartments also have a sofa bed in the front room.All the apartments have terraces. Ask about the supplement for an additional bed to sleep 4 people. The MS Alay studios come equipped with internal telephone, international TV, air conditioning and heating, American kitchen totally equipped with a fridge, microwave, glass-ceramic hob and a full bathroom. All the studios have terraces.Ask about the supplement for an additional bed to sleep 3 people. Check in: 14:00Check out: 12:00 CHILDREN AND ADDITIONAL BEDChildren under 2 years of age are freeAdditional beds and cots are available only on request. The Hotel has to confirm availability.No animals allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your MS Alay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ms Alay Apartments Hotel Benalmadena
MS Alay Apartments Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing