We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and Good Value”
Review of MS Alay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MS Alay Apartments
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at M.S. Alay Apartments the last week in February 2012. Our studio was on the second floor facing the road and unlike other reviewers we had no problems at all with noise. The resort is quieter at this time of year so maybe that's why.

We found the studio well equiped, very clean and spacious. At £162 for seven nights (booked through the Travel Republic website), it was excellent value for money. Apartments this close to the lovely Marina are usually much more costly. The studio was cleaned and bedlinen and towels changed once during our seven night stay. This was fine for us as we don't like daily intrusions. The receptionist was cheerful and helpful. We rang the day before our arrival to confirm our E.T.A. and were met at reception and checked in without delay. The pool and pool bar was closed as it was out of season but it looked as though it would be a pleasant area to use in the summer months.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tourist4753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

Three of us stayed here for four days over Christmas and we were very impressed with the apartment. It was bright, modern, clean. We requested a room on a higher floor with a pool view, which we got and the balcony/ pool view was great.

There is no reception, however we called them when we arrived and they sent someone with the keys to check us in within 10 mins.

There is a TV in the room with a few English channels. Shower was good. Apartment had a fridge, plates, cutlery etc, which came in handy, also had a cooker hob but we did not use it.

Tried to use the Games room, however it was never open when we went there.

Overall, we chose these apartments because of their location, being five minutes from the Marina it was everything that we needed, close to bars and restaurants and the Opencor supermarket is a short walk away.

The location of the hotel saved us from having to get taxi's on nights out. Benalmadena itself, was a little more on the 'quiet' side than we would have liked. However, good restaurants, The Angus by the Marina is excellent and we enjoyed going to the bars dotted around the Marina and surrounding area.

We would definitely stay again. Perfect location and clean modern apartments at a value price. Would be great to stay here in summer.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor / pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank querolasolespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Spent 9 nights mid-November with another couple - they had their own apartment. Basic but adequate accommodation, Very noisy location. Huge let down is lack of Reception facilities - extremely stressful on arrival to be locked out & to have to phone for assistance. Sun Bar, below Apartments, are more than helpful when you arrive to make that all important telephone call - so reassuring. Apartments good value for money but in November the swimming pool is closed and pool is not empty, just taped off - very dangerous. Overall area is disappointing - no really good restaurants - plenty of eating places but they are just cafe bars. Restaurants at the Port/Marina area are expensive. Wok buffet is good as long as you don't buy wine! Supermarket situated very close by along with various souvenir shops. Do visit the Sun Bar! Lovely pub, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, even in November!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VerityCarrigart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed with my wife and our 2-year old. Nice rooms with new furniture and kitchen supplies. Great location a couple of hundred meters from the beach. Near several supermarkets and the marina. Situated at the border between Benalmadena and Torremolinos. Friendly staff. So so pool.

Downside: Our apartment was next to some spanish family who lived there permanently. A bit noisy a times.

I don't have that many pictures from inddors since we didn't spent much time there....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank racedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We recently stayed here and generally it was fine. Certainly even this time of year the noise from outside was pretty loud and could keep you awake. We only saw our cleaners once during our weeks stay but maybe out of season is different to peak times. Worringly, reception quits after Nov 1st leaving the desk unattended at all times. We had to let people in with our key who had turned up in the evening with all their luggage, otherwise they had to ring a phone number left on the door. I have no idea how long a response would have taken! If a serious incident had taken place (eg fire) I dread to think of the consequences. As mentioned in another post there was a very musty smell in the reception area and the reception staff when there earlier were very matter of fact. But, we enjoyed our stay in Benalmadena, the Harbour area is very attractive, a trip in a cable car to the mountain is a must (13 euros) and there is a beautiful park to visit as well. There are numerous boat trips from the Harbour to see Dolphins, most offering money back if you don't see them....we did! Numerous restaurants offering excellent deals, we enjoyed 'Cabanas' along the sea front where 2 steaks,chips + salad + bottle of wine was 19.80 euros. A resort to be enjoyed in an apartment which is certainly adequate & ideally situated for all amenities.

Room Tip: Facing the pool if you want some sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

First impressions weren´t great. The reception area stank of stale smoke and was pretty dark and uninviting. Reception staff were averagely friendly - not rude but not overly warm or professional either. We only stayed for one night and were put in a room on the side of the hotel facing the road. It was a good size with a kitchen area well equipped with kettle, toaster and microwave. There was also a sofa with a very small plasma tele. The shower pressure was very low and the complementary bath products were very difficult to open! Bed covers were noticeably worn, one of the bath towels was dirty with toothpaste stains and parts of the walls looked in need of a good scrub. There was a small balcony with a partial lateral view of the sea. Very noisy day and night despite double-glazed windows, due to the busy road and nearby clubs and bars. You could also hear other guests loudly through the walls. All in all, for the price you pay the quality of the accommodation is satisfactory but don´t expect much more.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank AnonymousSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

we stayed in these appartments 7 years ago and it was dreadful, but now wow what a difference. the hotel has been completely refurbished to very high standard, we were in a 1 bedroom apartment a large living area lovely bathroom and good size bedroom the kitchen utilities were all you could need microwave and for once the hob heated up very quickly.the flooring was laminated which deadens any sound from above. the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful which in our experience is very rare. the hotel is near to all amenities and marina. overall the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank satJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#34 of 45 in Benalmadena
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palmasol
Hotel Palmasol
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,674 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MS Alay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MS Alay Apartments

Address: Avenida Alay 3, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £45 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MS Alay Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments MS Alay, were completely refurbished in 2009 and are located by the sea in front of the Benalmádena Costa Marina and alongside the promenade. It is a unique enclave which lets you enjoy your holidays on the Costa del Sol , whilst being near tourist attractions. Benalmádena Marina has received the distinguish of “Best Marina in the World” twice, an award given by specialised international magazines, it also has the Blue Flag for Cleanest Seas in Europe, thanks to the quality of its amenities and its waters.Apartments MS Alay has one bedroom apartments with ample front rooms, internal telephone, international TV, air conditioning and heating, American kitchen totally equipped with a fridge, microwave, glass-ceramic hob and a full bathroom. The one bedroom apartments also have a sofa bed in the front room.All the apartments have terraces. Ask about the supplement for an additional bed to sleep 4 people. The MS Alay studios come equipped with internal telephone, international TV, air conditioning and heating, American kitchen totally equipped with a fridge, microwave, glass-ceramic hob and a full bathroom. All the studios have terraces.Ask about the supplement for an additional bed to sleep 3 people. Check in: 14:00Check out: 12:00 CHILDREN AND ADDITIONAL BEDChildren under 2 years of age are freeAdditional beds and cots are available only on request. The Hotel has to confirm availability.No animals allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MS Alay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ms Alay Apartments Hotel Benalmadena
MS Alay Apartments Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing