We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Def going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Have just returned from a lovely week in Benemadena. We stayed at the Riu for second time. I travelled with my 5year old daughter who had a great Time. Food is excellent. We stayed in room 344 and never experienced any bad smell. Spotless clean, friendly staff, delicious food. We loved not having to reserve a sun bed. Will be returning next year with additional family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Siobhaneryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,249 - 1,255 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

We were here in late June/early July and although we have enjoyed staying in Riu hotels in the past, this one was lacking in a few areas.
On the plus side it is very well located in the marina area of Benalmadena which means you have the lovely promenade on on side and the marina on the other. The food is generally of a good standard and the usual buffet style that all the hotels are going for now. The pool area is also nice with plenty of sunbeds available and the staff are all friendly.
On the negative side, there were issues with the room. As we were travelling with a baby, we requested a cot but were given a travel cot with a plastic matress which was split and looked like something off an NSPCC advert. The beds were also on wheels which nearly caused a few accidents and the sheets had holes in them.
The hotel was also very tight with the air conditioning which was switched off at 3am and wasn't turned back on again till 3pm. Bearing in mind this was high season we had real problems keeping our child cool. When we asked at reception why it was turned off they came up with the excuse that they switch the air con off when the maids are working!
Overall, this hotel is probably better suited to couples, but I certainly would not recommend it for youg families.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajp2477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

OK. I was generally very happy with the hotel from the moment we checked in. It is clean and modern and the rooms are fine. The pool and the surrounding area is very nice and when we were there there room for everyone. I was very impressed with the food. The buffet selection was delicious and I really enjoyed every meal. The courtyard was a pleasant place to enjoy lunch. The only problem was that a very unpleasant smell of sewage permeated the bedrooms from time to time. We were offered the option of changing but with a day to go it did not seem worthwhile. We were in room 365 and subsequent contact with hotel suggests that we should book rooms on 'the other side' to avoid this in future. The is plenty going on in Benalmadena and the Puerto Marina makes a good base.

Room Tip: Avoid the 365 side!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OxfordshireTalltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

me and my partner stayed at the riu marina for a week from 17th june 2011. we got a lovely pool facing room. lovely welcome at the hotel and great welcome from Roule the 2nd manager - lovely lovely man. everyone from restraunt staff to clearners were lovely. food great,towels provided so save room in your case. lovely pool bar, nice comfy beds round the pool with plenty of umberellas. i wouldnt think twice about recommending this hotel, its right on top of everything, the marina, all the bars and restraunts, no loud drunken areas wonderful boat trips all within a ten minute flat walk. great holiday, i cried when i left!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Excellent hotel with very welcolming reception-the champange greeting was lovely.
I was blessed with a room viewing the marina and sea with the benefit of afternoon/evening sunshine.
The selection of breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant is awesome.
Overall very relaxing accommodation and good value for solo travellers.

Room Tip: Suggest a room towards the marina
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ulsterDistillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is the 3rd time that I have stayed at this hotel and it has continued not to let us down!!
Welcome - excellent and the welcome glass of champagne was a great touch! We had to change our booking due to our flight out being cancelled at the last minute, the hotel were very helpful when we phoned to re-arrange!
Food - great range of choice for everyone and good quality, very good for vegetarians!
Bar - reasonable prices for a hotel, peanuts / olives with alcoholic drinks welcomed!
Pool area - quiet and lots of sunbeds!
Rooms - good standard, air con / heating and a roof fan! There is a safety deposit box in the room, had not heard of any break-ins the 3 previous times that I have been to this hotel and for 3 to happen in one party as the previous reviewer mentioned I find remarkable! The doors are pretty solid and can be double locked!!
Staff - all staff very friendly and helpfull!!

The hotel in general is very clean in all areas!

If I were to fault this hotel it would be that the balcony lights do not work and there were no recycling facilities (for all the bottles of water we drank as it was so hot)

I wish I was back there now!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Angela1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Perfect central location just across road to marina lovely bars and selection of resturants ,Hotel staff are very good. Choice of food for both breakfast and dinner good.
Nice touch on arrival glass of champers or orange juice,,bedrooms are comfortable and very clean only minus is that there is no extracter fan in bathroom so gets very warm and steemy deserves its 4*Would recommend and stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Send an e-mail to request a quite room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank blonde190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,922 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £67 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing