We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“A great location”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

i stayed at the hotel with my wife for a week at the end of September 12, and found the hotel to be exactly as you would expect from a Rui hotel. It seems to cater, at least whilst we were there, for the more mature holidaymakers, we are in our early 50's and we think we brought the average age of the guests down. There were a few younger holidaymakers staying there, but not many.
The hotel is on a half board basis, and the food was very good with a lot of choice, although after a week I was glad not to have to go again into the same dining hall twice a day, and potentially if I stayed in the area again I might consider an hotel on a B&B basis as there were lots of restaurants close by.
There is a nice bar at the hotel, and entertainment was laid on each night, usually a singer, who generally weren't that good. I also thought the music they played wasn't inspired, the hotel seems to think we must be 80 plus as they tended to play easy listening music all the time, when in fact many of us in our 50's or 60's were teenagers when the Beatles and the Stones, even Led Zep were in their prime. I personally would have liked some disco music.
The Perto Marina is just across the square from the hotel, and the nearest beach 100 yards away. There is an uninspiring pool on site, which we didn't use as the beach was much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank needdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    648
    188
    39
    24
See reviews for
314
1,009
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed with friends at this fine hotel for a week mid September and thoroughly enjoyed it. This hotel is perfect for those not wanting a "lively" holiday, there is no loud music and relaxing by the pool on very comfortable loungers is heaven, We had half board and the food morning and evening was excellent and varied and we did not feel the need to eat out "just for a change". There is a lovely terrace for dining and we were able to dine outside for more than half our stay. The evening entertainment was low key but there was plently of nighlife nearby. Everywhere was extremely clean and the bedrooms were roomy and well furnished. The bar and dining room staff were more than willing to help in any way they could to ensure a pleasant stay.
THis is great hotel but do not accept a room on the ground floor overlooking the pool area. You will have guests sunbathing or walking right up against your balcony wall and you will need to keep the room curtains closed all day, there is absolutely no privacy, it is like camping in a street. We were allocated such a room but were relocated the next day to a similar room but one where we could sit out on the balcony in realtive privacy.
Although the waiting and cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful this did not extend to the reception staff who were anything but helpful and actually said they were too busy to help and yes they were very busy but let this lovely hotel down very badly. Unfortunately this comment would apply to several of the reception staff but my overall impression is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms overlooking pool area offer no privacy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patsy060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a comfortable, well appointed hotel with good food and friendly, competent staff. There are however a couple of problems: First, there is no WiFi in the rooms and only limited (and expensive) access in the public areas. This is simply not acceptable these days - and certainly not in a four-star hotel. Second, the glazed floor-tiles around the swimming pool are lethal when wet - no child should be allowed anywhere near them..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExpatSouthernSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

i was so disappointed with this hotel, it got such good reviews that myself, daughter, son-in-law, 2 grandkids, charlie 3years old and sophie 16months old, where do i start?! food was pretty basic, charlie did'nt eat the whole 7 days we were there, the swimming pool area was an accident waiting 2 happen, shiny tiles which is like an ice rink when u come out the pool, charlie slipped and banged his head coming out the pool! there is'nt even a small play area 4 kids, nothing 4 them 2 do and nowhere 4 them 2 play! we certainly won't b back at this hotel again and i will make sure none of my freinds do! that holiday cost us a lot of hard earned money, would have better staying at home and going 2 blackpool!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineturnbull17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Just returned after a week half board stay with my husband who is a wheelchair user. Hotel and staff superb and no issues with access. Clean, friendly staff and a wide choice of meals. Nice room with air con and ceiling fan. We had a super stay and the area is great for strolling around with the wheelchair. The hotel organised the rental of a mobility scooter for us and we went all along the promenade. A bit hilly away from the prom and marina area otherwise perfect. Check out the "sandman" who does amazing sand sculptures on the beach opposite the Hotel Barracuda - absolutely amazing!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank pkeypetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have just returned from Benalmedena and I was staying in the Riu Puerto Marina. I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. The location, food and cleanliness were top class.

But it's biggest selling point has to be the staff! Polite, friendly, helpful and always in good humour!
This was my first stay in a Riu hotel, but I will certainly do so in future if there is one available!

Though not in need of them myself, I would also like to mention the facilities available for disabled guests. I have travelled very widely and can honestly say I have never witnessed the amount and standard available for these guests.

As Arnie said.....I'll be back!

Room Tip: I was located on the 3rd floor with a street view and there were no problems with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

just retured 1week stay 100% now lets talk about clever people. the review by marmite margolis they talk about wi fi flat screen tele im impressed woundnt you think they would have known that the balconey doors have a small sensor so the air con works 24hrs if these are closed correct we have all met these type of people before just dont take any notice iv been going to the costa del sol for the last30 years on and off im now 52 and this was the best hotel and food and sevice yet

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuble2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing