We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Service friendly and welcoming we were given a glass of cava on arrival. Room clean tidy and spacious. The food was very good lots of choice for breakfast and evening meal, they operate 2 sittings 6pm and 7.45pm which seems to work. Great location near the marina and beach.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We are delighted that you have had a great time at Mac Puerto Marina and thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind comments with us.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    642
    187
    39
    24
See reviews for
313
999
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just come home from a great weekend in Spain, staying at the Puerto Marina and was impressed with this hotel. the rooms are clean the bed comfortable , breakfast and evening meals really good and the staff helpful and friendly ,also well placed a stones throw from the Lovely marina ,would definitely go back !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We are grateful for your kind review and are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your weekend with us. We appreciate your nice comments on the service and nearby area.

Hopefully next year we can welcome you again at Mac Puerto Marina.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford
Level Contributor
322 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is in an ideal position sited across the road from the Marina which is beautiful and is minutes away to some of the best beaches on the Costa del Sol. The hotel itself is perfect. The food is plentiful and very good with great breakfasts to start your day. Evening dinner is also very good and there is something for everyone. The public rooms are clean and welcoming, the bar prices reasonable and there is entertainment every night. The bedrooms are spacious and well kept by the housekeeping staff. If you are thinking of Benalmadena then I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelmanCastleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you have spent a nice holiday with us at Mac Puerto Marina and appreciate your positive comments on our hotel and the resort.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just for the record we have stayed here previously when the hotel was owned by RIU and had nothing but good things to say about it. But how things have changed for the worse.

Previously we had always booked half board. We also had rooms overlooking the pool/restaurant area for no extra charge. On the last visit we were "upgraded" to a 4th floor room with its own sunbathing area again at no extra charge.

This year we returned for 5 nights in October on a bed and breakfast basis. I emailed the hotel prior to arrival asking whether a 4th floor room would be available. I received a reply saying that we could have a suite for an extra 10 euros a day. I replied that we would wait until we arrived, basically to see what the weather would be like as we would only use the terrace for sunbathing, and if the forecast was good and the room still available we would pay the supplement. I also queried that if we didn't want a suite could we possibly have a 3rd floor room overlooking the pool? The reply was there was also an extra charge for a pool/seaview room? If you know this hotel you will know you don't really get much of a seaview and not worth paying the extra supplement. I then received a reply saying they would try to give us a room overlooking the restaurant at no extra charge. Don't get me wrong I don't mind paying a supplement if you get what you pay for but this is ridiculous. It was like being browbeaten into paying them extra money.

Ok, the 4th floor rooms give you extra space and a large terrace with sunbeds, so they are probably worth paying a bit more for. But the others are not. There is not much of a seaview anyway as the hotel is a low rise building which has trees and a Burger King blocking the view. I also notice that it does not mention any sea/poolview supplements on the main MAC Hotels website. Very strange.

As we don't like to be ripped off we decided to wait until we arrived to see what room we were given. As we picked the only week in October with bad weather we didn't want a "suite" so we waited for our key with anticipation. We were given the welcome drink as usual and were checked in. We recognised one member of the reception team and had a nice chat with him. He said as were previous guests we would receive a gift in our room the following day. This never arrived.

We were given a room overlooking the road at the back of the hotel. Totally different to what we requested. I know room requests are not guaranteed but we felt that we were given this room on the basis of us refusing to pay extra for a pool facing room, only being there for 5 nights, and also because we were not on half board. We think the best rooms were given to people on half board. We were told the hotel was full but we and others observed that there were lots of empty balconies facing the pool. As we were there for a short break we decided not to make a fuss.

The only thing this hotel has now is the location. Our room was adequate. The shower was the slowest we have ever experienced in Spain, definitely worse than the ones in the other rooms we had stayed in here. The housekeeping was good but the new MAC towels need replacing already.

I agree with the other comments on here regarding the breakfast room. They are in dire need of more staff. We noticed tables not being cleared quickly enough, cutlery not being replaced. If you went seeking your own cups and saucers you were met with a curt reply of I will bring them to you, and then you had to wait. Luckily we didn't come across dirty utensils like previous reviewers, but seeing the chaos I can quite imagine this happening. We didn't get offered coffee until day 4. We also noticed staff arguing amongst each other.

This used to be such a good hotel as you can see by my previous reviews, but unfortunately we will be looking elsewhere to stay next year as a hotel cannot survive just by it's location alone. I would say it's about a 3 star now not a 4.

All in all a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra pay for a 4th floor suite with extra room and sunbathing terrace. Do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your last experience at Mac Puerto Marina.

Please, if you don't mind, I would like to explain the different types of rooms we have in the hotel and which are subsequently advertised on our webpage. We have standard double rooms, standard double rooms with pool view and junior suites. The rooms on the fourth floor you mention belong to the second category, standard rooms with pool view, and are subject of a pool view supplement. Indeed we don’t have any sea view rooms and neither do we advertise them as such anywhere. Of course we apologize for the confusion this might have caused.
As for your comments on the restaurant, we have taken good note of them and are sure they will help us as we intend to make an important improvement in this area. Also our temporarily lack of cups and saucers been resolved, allowing us to have the breakfast service returning back to normal.

Once again we would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused and truly regret your last stay at our hotel has been a dissapointing one. We wish you could give us a second opportunity to prove to you that this has been a gathering of unfortunate coincidences, and that this doesn't correspond to the excellent standards Mac Puerto Marina offers on a daily basis.

Sincerely yours,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We booked this hotel under the name of RIU but its now a MAC Hotel not worthy of 2 star in our opinion. 3 of us stayed for 9 days in early november, after checking in and waiting for our room to be ready (This was midday) I asked about the complimentary arrival drink - was told this was only for people who have checked in (I had checked in 5 minutes previous) That was just the start - it got worse.

1. - You don't get the complimentary drinks as usual in your room just 2 bottles of water between the 3 of us.

2 - Day 2 went to the dining room at 9am to find nowhere to sit, dirty tables with the remains of peoples breakfast on. I asked a waitress could we have a clean table and she said they were too busy - We decided to sit outside as this was the only place with clean tables. I asked the waitress for some clean tea cups and saw with my own eyes her getting a used cup - wiping it with a damp cloth and serving it - I was disgusted at this walked out and requested to see the manager. Reception said he was not on duty until later that day. - Never saw any manager.

3 - The assistant manager was serving champagne at breakfast the morning after - We actually got a seat today but after waiting 20 mins for a cup went over to him and complained that there were no cups again he said he will tell the waitress to fetch CLEAN Cups - one again (after waiting 15 further minutes) she fetched our cups over and again they were dirty and still had the remain of the coffee of the previous person in. - I walked straight over to the assistant manager, showed him and told him this was disgraceful and went out elsewhere for breakfast.

Later after evening dinner the assistant manager pulled me to one side and apologised for her actions and said she would no longer be a member of their staff as from later that day. He said the reason for the poor, slow service was because they had taken over from the RIU chain and hadn't anticipated the hotel being so busy at this time of year and that they were having staff problems. To me that wasn't a good enough excuse - no reason to have used dirty cups, chipped crockery and dirty knives and forks.

4- As an apology the day after we had 3 complimentary fruit skewers in our room which were warm and from the leftovers at breakfast!

Anyway to sum things up

This is not the standard for a four star hotel
Breakfast organisation and cleanliness disgraceful
Entertainment non existent except one night when a motown tribute act were on.
Unfriendly staff that seem to argue with each other.
Not worth the money at all

We would like to thank the room cleaners who were lovely and the dinner waiter Billy who was a great guy - very polite, friendly and funny.

We have been to many hotels in Benalmadena and will not be returning to this one - I do hope the manager reads this and gets his staff problems sorted out otherwise there will be a severe drop in trade which seems ashame as the RIU had such a good reputation

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your personal opinions on Tripadvisor. We deeply regret that your recent experience at Mac Puerto Marina has been a disappointing one and would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences caused.

The described circumstances were an accumulation of unfortunate coincidences which regrettably contributed to causing you a bad impression of the hotel operation. However I can assure you that this is not a recurring circumstance, in fact it is a punctual situation influenced by several temporarily factors. Our hotel is known to offer high standards and the best possible service to our guests, as many comments have proved in the recent past. We are aware that we have failed to live up to your expectations and wish we could have corrected the described incidences at the time.

Hopefully we get a second opportunity to prove to you why our hotel is considered one of the leading hotels of this area, offering you the service and attention that you and all our guests deserve.

Sincerely yours,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Want to return next year maybe September - just back from a 10 night stay - hotel spotless and in a very good position - just a little quiet as end of season, but is a good time to go if you like it a bit quieter. Maids very friendly and kept our room spotless they are a credit to the hotel. Only one fault, take a travel kettle with you, none in rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne_eden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are delighted that you have had a wonderful stay with us and thank you very much for the positive review on our hotel.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us next year.

Kind regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had a great 4 nights in November. The staff were all very efficient and very friendly. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the rooms were very spacious and the food was excellent. Would definitely return. If I wanted to be really' picky' the only negative was that the room towels need replacing. They have a sunbed towel service but make sure that you sign for this and keep a copy of the receipt to ensure that you get your 10 euros returned without any fuss.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mozza3259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
On behalf of the hotel staff and myself we thank you very much for your most positive review. It is great to hear that you have had an enjoyable short break at our hotel and appreciate your kind comments on the service and food.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing