We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
nelson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top hotel”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Just spent the New Year at this hotel. What a great time. We have spent 11 of the last 13 years in spain for New year but this was one of the best. The rooms are spotless as is all the hotel. The location is perfect for the marina and the lovely walk into Torremolinos. There is a bus stop at the top of the road about 5 mins away & a taxi rank across the road from the hotel.
The food quality and choice was superb and the restaurant staff are friendly and helpful. All the staff we had contact with were pleasant and courteous. Overall I would recommend this hotel as great for couples. We will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 151 it was nice and quiet and got the sun on the balcony in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely comments regarding our hotel, staff and the service received.

We hope to see you again shortly

Best regards
Rafael Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    678
    195
    42
    24
See reviews for
333
1,047
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After staying at this hotel when it was a Riu and being very satisfied we decided to have an11 day holiday taking in Christmas. As before, the reception was first class and our room and bathroom immaculate and clean.

We were surprised to find the hotel very quiet until the 23rd when it was busy only until Boxing Day. The bar is very pleasant for a pre dinner drink (and after) but unfortunately we had to wait ages on many occasions for someone to appear behind the bar. This was not the fault of the barman in charge who gave us excellent service when he could but obviously there was a shortage of staff.

Our main complaint was the very poor food and service in the dining room. Bearing in mind that everything is self service surely it is not asking too much for the table to be cleared while you are getting the next course. This happened frequently. We hoped that we would have our favourite waiter Rafa but he was at the other side of the room and we came across another waiter who was downright rude. Overall, the roast meats were tough (except for Christmas Eve), the salad bar very boring with mainly veg and very little meat or fish. The french fries were reheated after being out on the hot tray as were other foods. We know we were not the only ones to be dissatisfied as we heard guests discussing the comparison from when Riu owned the hotel.

We were so disappointed particularly as we had recommended this hotel to a number of friends, some of whom had taken up our recommendation. We can only hope they had a better experience than us.
It is a shame as the hotel is in a prime position but we will be looking for somwhere else next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sunny side overlooking the pool - not the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patom2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We take this opportunity to thank you for your comments. We have taken good note of all of them and they will be transmitted to every head of department of the areas involved. For sure this will be a chance to improve the quality of our services. We feel sorry because you missed some things compare with your previous stay but we confirm you that our standards remains the same.

We will do our best to achieve an important goal, that people you have recommended to visit us will get a very positive impression and enjoy their time among us as well as it is highly appreciate from a vast majority of our guests.

Best regards
Rafael Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I travel a lot and have stayed in hotels all over the world, my family and I have stayed at this hotel since it opened as a Riu Hotel for 3 weeks over Christmas and New Year and went back this year (2013) when it changed over to a Mac Hotel, but in all the hotels I have stayed very few feel like home and so welcoming. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect, the food was better than when it was a Riu. Christmas and New Year were fantastic. I would be very cautious reading the negative reviews from other customers which I have seen and met, they are miserable people who should have stayed at home and cooked for themselves. The staff were lovely, friendly and can't do enough to help you and make you feel welcome, it was great value for money and I will definitely be re-booking. My only negative comment would be that the entertainment needs updating, but I could say that for a lot of other hotels as well.

Tina

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TK Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are very happy for your comments regarding your stay and I will personally transmit them to the rest of the team.

We feel great because you have spend such a wonderful time.

We hope to see you again

Best regards
Rafael Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we stayed here from 1st to 8th December having previously stopped at other hotels and wanting to go "upmarket". I have to say the location is excellent and the hotel is spotless. That is where, sadly, I have to cease the praise. For the evening meal, the starter choice was more akin to a 2 star hotel (not 4) with the main dishes being of poor quality, sometimes cool (if not cold) and presented on plates under heat lamps! The overall impression was of a cramped area that was not fit for purpose.
The bar/ lounge was not cheap (recognising that this is a hotel not a bar) and I was disconcerted one evening when i gave the waiter a 50euro note for a bill of less than 10euro (only note i had) and had to chase for the change twice despite the same waiter returning to other tables with their change!!
we decided that, after two nights of the evening meal standard being so bad, we would eat out each night - which is what we did. Fortunately Benalmadena is blessed with a wonderfulla rray of restaurants and we enjoyed our meals out very much!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterdave2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I want to thank you for your comments. Your opinions will help us to improve the quality of our services. In general our relation price - quality related with the choice of our buffets is highly appreciate for our guests and we fill very sorry that we did not match your expectations.

Once again than you for your visit and best regards

Rafael Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we stayed at this hotel over christmas last year when it was a rui hotel and had a great holiday couldnt fault anything. we return this year hoping that the standards were of the same high standards now it was owned by mac hotels, oh but rui what have you done, the food was at times un-eatable under cooked or overcooked, lack of choice. I have to admit though the gala dinners xmas eve and new years eve was of the rui standards.the hotel looked shabby and needs decorating, no mini bar or tea making facilitys in the rooms.will not be re-visiting again. If you are staying at this hotel over the new year make sure you book your table in the bar for new years eve, there is limited space and only the elite will be advised to book a table the rest will have to be in the marquee not quite the same!!!! never never again i would rate this hotel 2 star standards

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We would like to thank you for your comments. Unfortunely you did not like this stay as the previous one last year. We feel very concern with this matter due the fact that all the standards, menus, procedures and even hotel staff continues to be the same.

Having into account that you are an experienced visitor to Costa del Sol we will be very happy if you consider giving us the chance of having you as a guest in the future.

Best regards
Rafael Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here 23 - 29th Dec 2013. Lovely hotel very clean, lovely rooms, balcony and bathrooms. I paid 10 euros extra per night for a sunny balcony with side sea view overlooking the pool. The bar area was lovely too but the entertainment was too low key for me, we had flamenco dancers boxing day night which ended at 10pm and then nothing! I complained to reception and the bar manager but no one was interested. I expect to be entertained especially at Xmas paying a premium price and having no where else to go as everywhere was shut. We had a lovely gala night Xmas eve plenty of wine flowing but for me the food was really hit and miss. Some nights it was fine with lovely roast beef but some nights it was terrible. I got fed up with french fries like Mcdonalds and on the one night we got boiled potatoes they were uncooked and like rubber and couldnt be eaten. We had brown mash one night Ugh! I was sat next to Gill B and saw what happened and would have been disappointed too. The bacon was too streaky and just all fat and the sausages were no better, I had egg on toast every morning. The salads were mostly vegs with little choice of anything else and their was a tiny bird nesting above the light over the salad bar all week - not very hygienic!
I was woken up very early every day by the scraping of mop buckets along the tiles floor outside the bedroom door room 346 which went on for hours. The cleaners did a really good job but this is a first for me and I have three/four holidays a year.
Special mention to Bella and Edith two lovely ladies who made our evenings for us and Edith hope the leg is better!
The bus was accessed at the top road which would be difficult if you have walking trouble the Triton Hotel would be much better for this as its on the main road and very close to the marina. The bus service is excellent and cheap with plenty of places to see along that coast, hotel reception were good enough to provide timetable too - excellent. Overall though, dont think that I would choose this hotel again which is a shame because it could be so much better. Sorry Puerto Mac.

Room Tip: room 346 was on the third floor overlooking the pool, had sun all day and with a side sea view but h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. You con be positive that they will help us to improve the quality of our services. We feel deeply sorry because your expectations were not fulfil and we appreciate the time you have taken to inform us.

Thanking you again, please receive our best regards

Rafael Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent Christmas 2013 here, as we did in 2012, Great staff, lovely room, lovely food and good help from reception re getting around locally, and getting out and about further afield.

had a wonderful time !!! Gala buffets on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve were fabulous !

Beautiful ocation, near the marina and a nice walk to Torre Molinos, or further if you are up to it.

Local bus to Malaga or Fuengurola is easy.

Room Tip: Ask for the sunny side !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your Christmas Holidays and we count on seeing you again next year.

Best regards
Rafael Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,093 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.8 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing