We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good-Some Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

When we arrived we were offered a welcoming drink, which was a nice touch and were told our rooms were ready for us even though it was only about 1pm. As a party of 3, my husband and I and our recently widowed friend, I had e-mailed earlier and requested rooms next to each other. This was done for us and we were allocated rooms 246 and 247.

Our bedrooms and the public rooms were all spotlessly clean, we requested extra pillows and that was attended to straight away. Our friend had trouble with his television and the toilet running, again sorted straight away. The furniture a little dated but the bed was really comfortable. Nice to have a fridge in the room, 2 small complementary bottles of water but no beer or soft drinks as I have read on previous reviews. Tea and coffee facilities would be nice, it would save having to bring the travel kettle. There was always plenty of hot water for showers or baths. We got 3 English channels on the tv, Sky News, ITV and Channel 4 +1. The Free Wi-Fi was really good and we also thought that the in-room save was good value at 2 euros per night ( We all shared one )

Dinner service was good as our table was allocated for the duration of our stay. Breakfast was a completely different matter, every morning we had to practically set our own table as there was never a table set for 3 or even 4 people. We were always hunting round for cups and saucers etc. We were there for 3 weeks so they must have known there was 3 of us, Not good enough for a 4*. We also had problems with used crockery not being taken away.

The Food, My husband said the sausage was awful and I would have liked to have seen some mushrooms at breakfast. Like a previous reviewer, I think I had egg on toast most mornings. At dinner the chips were like the thin things you get from a fast food outlet, only once and I think that was on Christmas Eve did we see some proper chunky chips. The mash left a lot to be desired, it was far too runny. One big disappointment came from not having turkey, ok there might have been some sort of processed turkey but not a real big carved turkey, Not on the 2nd sitting anyway !

What was good for me though was the lovely prawns, mussels and smoked salmon. The Free wine on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve was a nice touch.

The thing that really upset and disappointed us was when we came out of dinner on New Years Eve and went into the lounge, we found that all the seats had been taken (prior to that, hardly anyone in but a few of us ) and were told by another guest that you had to book a table, BOOK A TABLE, WHEN YOU ARE PAYING GOOD MONEY TO STAY IN THAT HOTEL ! How come after 21 days no one had informed us. We had been in there nearly every night spending good money (drinks expensive) and yet at the NYE Gala night we felt like second class citizens. After some friends had a word with the bar manager he found us seats in the marquee, which was far from ideal as they were wrought iron and although they had plastic cushions on (which felt damp) the backs didn't have any padding and were uncomfortable. We could not see the entertainment and the atmosphere was not like in the lounge.

In general the entertainment was poor, Boxing day we had Flamenco which was really good but it finished at 10pm, why nothing else ? surely some disco or background music could have been played.

So all in all, some good some bad but enjoyed our 3 weeks away from the British weather.

Room Tip: Rooms 246/247 overlooking the sunbathing area got the sun in the morning and early afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shin1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We would like to thank you for your comments. You can be positive that they will help us to improve the quality of our services. We feel sorry if your stay did not fulfil hundred per cent your expectations.

I can assure you that we will concentrate us to guarantee you total satisfaction if you decide to visit us again in the future.

Best regards
Rafael Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

As a couple in our seventies, we stayed a the hotel over Christmas and the New Year and it did not disappoint. We were checked in efficiently by pleasant staff and had a welcoming glass of wine.
The reception area is very light and spacious with comfortable seating with marble floor tiling as is the rest of the hotel. Our room which was on the ground floor with a south facing balcony with heavy drapes at the sliding windows to darken the room if required It was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated with adequate storage space for clothing. There is a fridge in the room any a multi channel t.v. with three of them English speaking. Sky news, which kept us up to date about all the bad weather we were missing back home, a drama channel and ITV. The bathroom was immaculate, with more than enough room, and a good shower over the bath, easy to operate with good quality water.
Extra pillows and blankets were delivered promptly when asked for.

One of the best points about this hotel is it's location. Close to the Marina with all the shops, bars and restaurants If you want to watch fish swimming about go to the marina. All the fish in Spain must live here. They are not edible so we were told and perhaps that's why there are so many. You can get boat trips from the marina.
From the hotel there the promenade walks east towards Torremolinos or west towards Fuengirola. Plenty of seating, shops, bars, and cafes along the way

Its a 15 minute walk to to catch public buses on the top road and a bit up hill. The buses are good value for money with a frequent bus service to Malaga and less so to Marbella, Time tables can be obtained from reception

The restaurant is very pleasing, light and airy and well set out. We were allocated a table on first sitting at 6 o'clock. The food is well presented and the quality, selection and variety is very good The restaurant staff are friendly and hard working and overall provided an excellent service throughout our stay

The hotel did them selves proud over the Christmas and New Year. The Gala dinners were great with complimentary wine and champagne The trio on new year's eve were very enjoyable and performed all evening well into the wee small hours of 2014. All the staff worked extremely hard and it is every credit to them

The bottom line about this hotel is there is nothing to dislike at all. We would certainly go back again and give a recommendation to our friends. With the warm and sunny weather we had, our stay was value for money and more than satisfying .

Gracias Mac Puerto Marina. y un saludo a todos

Ivan and Flo

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 530ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

You can no imagine how happy you make us feel with your comments. For companies within the tourism industry having guest with following up like your "more than satisfied" is our main goal to achieve.

We appreciate your positive impressions about the quality and variety of our food as well as the privilege of our location next to the sea.

We count on seeing you again
Best regards
Rafael Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Just spent the New Year at this hotel. What a great time. We have spent 11 of the last 13 years in spain for New year but this was one of the best. The rooms are spotless as is all the hotel. The location is perfect for the marina and the lovely walk into Torremolinos. There is a bus stop at the top of the road about 5 mins away & a taxi rank across the road from the hotel.
The food quality and choice was superb and the restaurant staff are friendly and helpful. All the staff we had contact with were pleasant and courteous. Overall I would recommend this hotel as great for couples. We will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 151 it was nice and quiet and got the sun on the balcony in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely comments regarding our hotel, staff and the service received.

We hope to see you again shortly

Best regards
Rafael Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After staying at this hotel when it was a Riu and being very satisfied we decided to have an11 day holiday taking in Christmas. As before, the reception was first class and our room and bathroom immaculate and clean.

We were surprised to find the hotel very quiet until the 23rd when it was busy only until Boxing Day. The bar is very pleasant for a pre dinner drink (and after) but unfortunately we had to wait ages on many occasions for someone to appear behind the bar. This was not the fault of the barman in charge who gave us excellent service when he could but obviously there was a shortage of staff.

Our main complaint was the very poor food and service in the dining room. Bearing in mind that everything is self service surely it is not asking too much for the table to be cleared while you are getting the next course. This happened frequently. We hoped that we would have our favourite waiter Rafa but he was at the other side of the room and we came across another waiter who was downright rude. Overall, the roast meats were tough (except for Christmas Eve), the salad bar very boring with mainly veg and very little meat or fish. The french fries were reheated after being out on the hot tray as were other foods. We know we were not the only ones to be dissatisfied as we heard guests discussing the comparison from when Riu owned the hotel.

We were so disappointed particularly as we had recommended this hotel to a number of friends, some of whom had taken up our recommendation. We can only hope they had a better experience than us.
It is a shame as the hotel is in a prime position but we will be looking for somwhere else next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sunny side overlooking the pool - not the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patom2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We take this opportunity to thank you for your comments. We have taken good note of all of them and they will be transmitted to every head of department of the areas involved. For sure this will be a chance to improve the quality of our services. We feel sorry because you missed some things compare with your previous stay but we confirm you that our standards remains the same.

We will do our best to achieve an important goal, that people you have recommended to visit us will get a very positive impression and enjoy their time among us as well as it is highly appreciate from a vast majority of our guests.

Best regards
Rafael Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I travel a lot and have stayed in hotels all over the world, my family and I have stayed at this hotel since it opened as a Riu Hotel for 3 weeks over Christmas and New Year and went back this year (2013) when it changed over to a Mac Hotel, but in all the hotels I have stayed very few feel like home and so welcoming. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect, the food was better than when it was a Riu. Christmas and New Year were fantastic. I would be very cautious reading the negative reviews from other customers which I have seen and met, they are miserable people who should have stayed at home and cooked for themselves. The staff were lovely, friendly and can't do enough to help you and make you feel welcome, it was great value for money and I will definitely be re-booking. My only negative comment would be that the entertainment needs updating, but I could say that for a lot of other hotels as well.

Tina

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TK Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We are very happy for your comments regarding your stay and I will personally transmit them to the rest of the team.

We feel great because you have spend such a wonderful time.

We hope to see you again

Best regards
Rafael Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we stayed here from 1st to 8th December having previously stopped at other hotels and wanting to go "upmarket". I have to say the location is excellent and the hotel is spotless. That is where, sadly, I have to cease the praise. For the evening meal, the starter choice was more akin to a 2 star hotel (not 4) with the main dishes being of poor quality, sometimes cool (if not cold) and presented on plates under heat lamps! The overall impression was of a cramped area that was not fit for purpose.
The bar/ lounge was not cheap (recognising that this is a hotel not a bar) and I was disconcerted one evening when i gave the waiter a 50euro note for a bill of less than 10euro (only note i had) and had to chase for the change twice despite the same waiter returning to other tables with their change!!
we decided that, after two nights of the evening meal standard being so bad, we would eat out each night - which is what we did. Fortunately Benalmadena is blessed with a wonderfulla rray of restaurants and we enjoyed our meals out very much!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterdave2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

I want to thank you for your comments. Your opinions will help us to improve the quality of our services. In general our relation price - quality related with the choice of our buffets is highly appreciate for our guests and we fill very sorry that we did not match your expectations.

Once again than you for your visit and best regards

Rafael Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we stayed at this hotel over christmas last year when it was a rui hotel and had a great holiday couldnt fault anything. we return this year hoping that the standards were of the same high standards now it was owned by mac hotels, oh but rui what have you done, the food was at times un-eatable under cooked or overcooked, lack of choice. I have to admit though the gala dinners xmas eve and new years eve was of the rui standards.the hotel looked shabby and needs decorating, no mini bar or tea making facilitys in the rooms.will not be re-visiting again. If you are staying at this hotel over the new year make sure you book your table in the bar for new years eve, there is limited space and only the elite will be advised to book a table the rest will have to be in the marquee not quite the same!!!! never never again i would rate this hotel 2 star standards

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We would like to thank you for your comments. Unfortunely you did not like this stay as the previous one last year. We feel very concern with this matter due the fact that all the standards, menus, procedures and even hotel staff continues to be the same.

Having into account that you are an experienced visitor to Costa del Sol we will be very happy if you consider giving us the chance of having you as a guest in the future.

Best regards
Rafael Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £61 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing