We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the Mac”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return to the Mac”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our 2nd time staying at the hotel the previous year whilst under the Riu management. For 14 golfers it is an ideal base, easy to get about and located very close to the bars around the marina. The rooms are comfortable but the walls are quite thin and you can hear people returning late at night particularly when they wear high heels ! The addition of free wifi this year to the rooms is great.
However, the general consensus from the 14 of us was that the food was not a patch on the previous year. The selection was more varied and better prepared the previous year. That said it was still satisfactory.
In all likelihood, unless the majority do not want to, I will be booking this hotel again. Mainly due to its great location.

Room Tip: DO NOT get a room next to a hen party
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theg0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Mac Puerto Marina with us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that your overall impression is a positive one. We also appreciate your kind comments on the rooms and the Wifi connection and will certainly take the feedback about the food into consideration to proceed with a follow-up of the matter in order to improve where we can.

We hope to see your group again next year.

Kind regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    658
    189
    41
    24
See reviews for
317
1,024
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt Co. Londonderry Northern Irelad
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just home from spending 5nights here on a half board basis. Great location, pleasant staff, excellent food just what u want on holiday, Well done to all at Mac Puerto Marina we will definitely return and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the street so a bit noisy in the morning but didn't put us off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We are really grateful for your wonderful review and are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Mac Puerto Marina. We truly appreciate the positive feedback on the staff and the food and hope we can welcome you again next year.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Agree with BarryC, just back and I felt the food let it down. The people we were talking too all agreed that the food was never warm enough especially the breakfasts and I had to go and buy my own bananas for breakfast. The food choice was poor, not a patch on the Sol Hotels or the Fiesta Hotels. I complained to the manager about the cold breakfast and he more or less made fun of me and never took the complaint seriously so in that regard I will never go here again and I can assure you Ive been in loads of hotels. Its not 4 star. I had asked for a room with some afternoon sunshine but got put in a room overlooking a childrens playpark that hardly saw any sun at all. One of the drawers in the dresser never closed properly and the light above the mirror made a constant noise. The quality of the towels were poor. We had a great holiday as we know the area well but will return to the Pez Espada the next time.

Room Tip: The problem is the rooms hardly catch the sun so don't know what would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunprincessanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Mac Puerto Marina. In reference to the temperature of the food we have to admit that at the moment the complaint was made, we had a 10-minute failure with the plate warmers, which led to the plates not being warm at that time.
As for the small technical problems in the room, we have a technical service that is in charge of fixing these kind of details and they usually do it within 30-60 minutes. Of course, we would have been very happy to mend the commented points in the room.
Nevertheless these comments have been carefully examined and will surely help us to follow up and to improve our services.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel has a lovely atmosphere and the food was supurb. Nice family hotel i went with 2 children and had a lovely time. Very clean and tidy. The kitchen staff took pride in presentation and quality of the food. We stopped half board. Would definately go here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for choosing hotel Mac Puerto Marina to spend your holidays with your family. We are very pleased to hear that you have had an excellent time with us and really appreciate the positive comments about the cleanliness and the food.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for the second time with my friend and our daughters. The reason I returned to this hotel is the location. The hotel is minutes from the beach and minutes from the marina. As it was a girls trip only, it was important to feel safe without the need to take endless taxi journeys. There are dozens of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity and the beach with its lively promenade is just a stones throw away. I would describe the hotel as OK - the atmosphere in the reception and pool area is a little sterile but the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is ok - there is a lot of choice, although if you opt for the later sitting some of the food dishes had gone. The rooms are a little old fashioned and could do with an update but they are clean and everything worked. There is WIFI which can be accessed from your room. We got a really good deal through expedia and therefore find it difficult to be critical. I would rather stay at this hotel in this location than a five star luxury hotel in the middle of nowhere!!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor rooms that overlook the street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmwarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us. I totally agree with you that the hotel's location is ideal, close to the marina and the beach promenades with its shops, restaurants and bars. We also appreciate your nice comment about the staff.

We hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

after reading all the fantastic reviews we booked a 4 day stay over easter,and have to say it wasnt up to all the good things we had read about it.but it wasnt a horrible place either.first off ,great check in, lovely helpful staff , then into the rooms which are quite dated,no tea/coffee facilities,but you do get free bottle of water and a couple oof free beers for your first day.the bed was the worst i have ever slept in,the rooms although very clean are quite dated bathrooms are nice and a pool view room which doesnt get any sun.nice reastaraunt ,you have your own table for your stay,there was plenty of food to choose from for your evening meal, but we have to say it was all warm rather than hot ,the same at breakfast time. unless you happend to catch them topping up the containers with fresh cooked bacon saus and beans, also at dinner weere having to stack plates on the table at one stage we had our starter plates and main meal plates still on the table as were were having a sweet,now i know they are little niggles, but the hotel is not cheap to saty at .and i feel it lets itself down on some things .its not the worst hotel we have stayed in, but its not the best either ,all in all an average hotel which for the price ,we would expect a little better.

Room Tip: we paid extra for a pool view room, which you would expect to get the sun, but in this hotel due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baz n caz c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry to hear that the hotel didn't live up to your expectations and of course we have taken extensive note of your comments concerning the beds and the food. I am sure this will help us to improve our service towards our guests and to be more aware of the little details.

Once again we appreciate your honest review which has definitely been taken into consideration.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kety, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent in this hotel two weeks /March the 25 to April 07/, and I can find only one word to describe it: perfect. Everything was excellent: from the location:/ 1-2 minutes from the beautiful marina with many bares, restaurants and shops and from the beach, but also very quiet, because is situated not directly by the promenade/, very helpful and polite staff, even at the reception, delicious food, and finally very clean comfortable rooms with spacious bathroom.
For me the location in Benalmedena Puerto Marina is very good to visit andalusian heritage like Granada, Cordoba, Ronda, Malaga any may others, because from here is very close to Malaga , where are a lot of connection to all of Andalusia and Spain, inculding RENFE, AVE, airport, and of course buses or rent a car. If you do not like travelling single-handed, You can book a one of trips in the hotel or one of travel agencies.
Especially I would like to thank the young lady at the reception desk, who help us to book the tickets to Alhambra.
Anna F.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
On behalf of the staff and myself we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor and are absolutely delighted that you have had a perfect stay at Mac Puerto Marina. We truly appreciate your nice comments on the staff, food and rooms and will pass on your special gratitude to the front desk.

Looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,781 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing