We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

When we booked this hotel, for the price we paid (around £60 per night, half board, for 2), we were not expecting an awful lot to be honest. However, we were pleasantly surprised!!

The hotel is located in between a lovely sandy beach and a vibrant marina area, so perfect for days & nights out.

The hotel was immaculately clean, the staff were extremely polite, professional & attentive.

Having not gone half board for many years, we hadn't planned to actually use the restaurant, but thought we'd give it a go on the first night as we arrived quite late and the food was delicious!! We had breakfast there every morning, which ranged from continental to a full cooked breakfast. We ate dinner there 4/5 nights and each time we found the food to be excellent with a different option every time, with the buffet being regularly refreshed. There was food to suit every taste. The waiting staff were excellent; very quick & friendly service.

The pool and surrounding area was very clean and there was never any issues getting a sun-loungers, even late in the day. There is a pool bar but it is expensive (2.50 euros for a beaker of fanta!). No need to pack your own beach/pool towels as you can hire these from reception for just a refundable deposit of 10 euros.

The rooms were basic but kept spotlessly clean. All rooms have twin beds which are not the most comfy in the world. The aircon was awful (made noise but didn't get cold), so wouldn't like to rely on it during the summer months. There is a ceiling fan in the room, but again, very noisy. You are given a few complimentary drinks in your room on arrival which is a nice touch. Don't know how much it costs to replenish the drinks as never bothered, as there is a shop across the street.

There is a safe in the room, but you have to pay 2 euros per day to use it plus 10 euro deposit (which you of get back at the end if you keep your receipt).

The only other negative comment I would make about the hotel is that we asked to keep our room until 2pm rather than a midday check-out and they charge 40 euros, which is a bit of a rip off considering you only pay £60 for a whole night with breakfast & dinner included.

Overall a great day and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Not worth paying the extra 10 euros per night for a high floor/view room as there were clearly other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryandstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Mac experience with us on Tripadvisor. We also thank you for choosing our hotel and for writing such nice comments about our staff, food and cleanliness. We are glad to hear that the hotel has surpassed your initial expectations, hopefully we will meet again next year.

Kind regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    659
    190
    41
    24
See reviews for
317
1,026
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We arrived at hotel at 11 am after early flight from UK. Paperwork said we could not book in till 14-00 so were expecting a wait. However after going to reception they said no problem and gave us our room early and offered a free drink. An excellent way to start your holiday.
We ordered a pool room view and were not disappointed. We were given room 340 which was right on top of pool. Room was excellent very clean. Pillows were of a very poor quality but after speaking to room service they gave us extra pillows.
Restaurant was very good. Excellent choice of hot and cold foods. All self service have as much as you want. There is something for everyone. Only downside is they give you coffee for breakfast but don't offer coffee or tea for evening meal.
We stayed half board breakfast and evening meal. If you want lunch they serve food with the most expensive meal being around 8 Euro so good value.
Bar area is large and clean. Excellent table service but entertainment is pretty dire. So be prepared to go elsewhere if you want evening entertainment.
Pool area is fabulous plenty of loungers . Pool is nice but only access is steel ladders. my wife has walking difficulties so would have liked steps built into the pool.
The hotel in general is spotlessly clean, rooms are made up daily and all staff are very polite. They cannot do enough for you.
On checkout day you have to book at by 12-00. Our flight was not until midnight so we were told we could leave bags in luggage room or pay 40 euro to keep room till 21-00 so that's what we done . So in effect that gave us a full extra day there. Hotel booked us taxi back to airport for 25 EURO.
Hotel location is fabulous. 2 minute walk to Marina and 4 minutes walk to beach. Sun loungers on beach cost 4 and half euro a day. My wife has walking difficulties so found this hotel the perfect location.
We are going back to Benalmadena in September would love to stay there again but in September its twice the price of a self catering apartment in Sunset Beach Club . So that needs to be given thought. Are the meals worth twice the price of self catering apartments ???

Room Tip: try and get a second or third floor. Some ground floor room don't have good views. IE walls or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate your positive comments about the food, service, staff and cleanliness. We are also delighted that you have spent a great time with us at Mac Puerto Marina and hope we will greet you again next year.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had a three night break in this lovely hotel and wished I could have stayed for longer. When I booked the hotel I was looking for somewhere close to the Marina but at a reasonable price and I was really pleasantly surprised to find that it was indeed in an excellent location. We got the train from the airport which took about 20 mins and cost 2 Euros then walked to the hotel, which in hind sight, and although it was a lovely walk, we should have perhaps have got one of the many taxis. On arrival we were met with a very welcome glass of champagne and a quick and easy check in procedure by a friendly member of staff.The room was really clean, very spacious and extremely comfortable. The pool area was lovely and clean with a bar and sun bed service. The public areas were all nicely decorated and clean and the bar was spacious with a different act on every night. The dining room was large with plenty of room, two sittings each night and the food was plentiful, lots of choices and delicious. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
On behalf of the staff and myself I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share this brilliant review with us. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your break at Mac Puerto Marina and are grateful for the nice comments about the staff, food, cleanliness and hotel in general.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just got back from 3 nights at this Hotel. What a great location. Right in the square just behind the Marina with the boats and vast amout of bars and restaurants. Within easy walk of everything you need. We had a half board booking. What a great selection and quality was superb. You would have to be very fussy not to find something you can't enjoy.
Poolside very large and although pool cold in April it didn't stop the enjoyment. Lots of loungers to go round.
Rooms great size and very clean and well maintained. Reception had lots of staff who were helpful with any needs we had. Large luggage room to leave our belongings before we left. €25 (euro) taxi ride each way from Airport.
Would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Group I travelled with had rooms in all areas. No problems. Our room 171 was on ground floor with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacoLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are grateful for your wonderful review and are glad to hear that you have had a nice stay with us at Mac Puerto Marina. We also truly appreciate the positive feedback about the food, pool area, cleanliness and staff. Thank you very much for recommending us.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

stayed for six nights over the easter period with my daughter, Hotel is a great location with easy access to lovely beaches and the marina . Pool area ok but pool not very big, not a problem with the beach being so close. The rooms were ok. I requested a high , quiet room with matress toppers if possible. I didn,t get anything I requested lol.we were in room 203 just above and left of the reception and overlooking the entrance to the hotel. Terrible room, so noisy, the patio door rattled all night and the noise from the street meant we were constantly woken up.All we could hear all night was slamming doors. On our last night we were woken at 2.00am by lots of shouting so bad i went out the room to see what was going on, only to find the reception had , people arguing with police and security, never experienced this before in a 4 star. food ok, staff great, entertainment rubbish lol. Would not go back as far to noisy but great for stags hens etc

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us and have taken note of your overall comments, which I am sure will help us to solve some of the points mentioned and offer our guests improved service.
In relation to the stag parties we would like to comment you that we were not aware of this particular event, which was a general repeted experience for most hotels on the Costa del Sol during that particular weekend. We most certainly don't want to be regarded as an apt/ ideal hotel for these type of parties, on the contrary, we will try our best to avoid similar situations in the future.

Thank you again for the helpful feedback.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned after four lovely days in Benalmadena. Went with my husband and another couple to celebrate our friends birthday. The hotel is everything that has been described in previous reviews. On arrival we were greeted at reception by a very friendly receptionist who offered us a glass of champagne. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. We were booked in for bed and breakfast and at breakfast there was plenty of choice. The position of the hotel is great being close to the beach and the marina where there are lots of bars and good restaurants. The weather was fantastic for the time of year and we will certainly be returning hopefully in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool and terrace. Only there for four days so we didn't use the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
First of all we would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for the pleasant review of your Mac experience. We really appreciate the nice comments about the rooms, cleanliness and breakfast. It is always motivating to receive positive feedback, helping us to maintain the standards and good service towards our guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
276 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely and clean hotel in great position at the marina and just a few steps away from the beach. No tea/coffee facilities in the room but the fridge is stocked with free refreshments... 2 beer, 2 water and 2 soft drinks....nice touch.
First time we had been on half board. Buffets at breakfast and dinner. Great choices at breakfast and incredible choices at dinner...nothing repeated during the four nights and sooo difficult to decide with delicacies such as smoked salmon and caviar available. Found all staff from reception to maids to waiters very friendly.
Only negatives would be :-
that with the angle the hotel sits only 50% of rooms get any sun. We were lucky with a room just above the main door and we got the sun on our balcony from mid morning till about 1800.
and that the towels need to be replaced having reached the end of their lifespan and are now so thin.
Would we return..you bet we would..one of the best hotels we have stayed in on Costa del Sol.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ledgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are delighted to hear that you have had a fantastic stay with us at Mac Puerto Marina. It is very nice to hear the positive comments on the food and the staff and we are really honoured to be amongst the best hotels you have stayed at on the Costa del Sol.

Hopefully we can greet you again next year.

Kind regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,960 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing