We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easter break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“easter break.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

First time to stay at this hotel and we liked it very much. On arrival we were given a refreshing drink at the reception. First time for this. Also told we had two bottles of water two bottles beer and two bottles of juice free in the fridge. Another first. Rooms were nice and clean. The food was excellent with plenty of choice. Sunbeds were well spaced out each with their own umbrella. Would come back again.

Room Tip: We were facing the pool in the corner not much sun there perhaps further along the block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruby-stars-finlay-do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your first stay with us at Mac Puerto Marina. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel, your positive feedback about the food, cleanliness and staff is much appreciated.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    663
    191
    42
    24
See reviews for
321
1,039
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just returned from our second visit in two years and have to say we received the same high standard of hospitality as on our previous visit.All areas of the hotel are kept spotlessly clean and we found all staff from the manager down to cleaners to be friendly, efficient and helpful, must give special mention to Billy(waiting staff) who has a fantastic personality and typifies all that is good about the staff at this hotel. We found the restaurant food to be of a high standard and surely something to suit even the most hard to please guests.In summary we would return to this hotel in a heartbeat as we love the area and the hotel holds a great location beside the Marina and the promenade.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alloasfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your second experience at Mac Puerto Marina with us. We are glad to hear that you have once again enjoyed your stay and really appreciate the nice comments about the cleanliness, food and staff.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusslingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

we had not been to Benalmadena since many years a go and it was surrprising how much this resort has improved for better from the nice restaurants to the bars with live music and the overall presentation for visitors. The hotel also contributed very much to this experience because it was clean and well positioned for our needs. Meal times busy but if you get there at the early sitting better because sometimes they take a little more than what we wanted for them to replace the food specialy the paella which was the favorite of many people. we can not think of any problems with this hotel and the price is also good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your time spent in Mac Puerto Marina. We also appreciate your positive feedback on the cleanliness and the service, this certainly helps us to keep us motivated to maintain the good standards.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conisbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a week at the hotel from 30th April. Fantastic weather all week. Our room faced the pool; we asked for a sunny room and the staff had done their best to oblige, but the design of the hotel and most balconies mean that little sun actually reaches them. The rooms have been criticized for being dated, its true that they have traditional brown Spanish furniture, but it was in excellent condition highly polished and looked good. The room and bathroom were the cleanest of any hotel room I think that we have ever been in (and we have been to many hotels), not sure if this was down to our particular chambermaid (Victoria), as all the hotel was super clean I am sure other rooms were of a similar standard. The let down in the room was the TV (I know you don't go on holiday to watch the TV) it's many years since we have been to a hotel that didn't have UK channels, apart from Sky news. You could get , I think it was CBS also, but for us Dr Finlay's casebook, the early Dallas and Knotts landing weren't good viewing. The analogue sets might get a good price in an antique market! With regard to the hotel generally, it seems to be very well run; all the staff that we had contact with were a delight. The dining room was also excellent, room between the tables, no rushing pushing and general overcrowding as in some hotels in Spain. Food quality was a different matter. Soon after we arrived we were told by other people that they felt that they had been misled by some comments on this site. At that stage we felt the food was certainly better than a much more expensive hotel that we had been in in Tenerife in November (that was B.. awful) but as the week went on we thought really it was not very good, my rating would be average, my wife said a bit better than that. We travelled with Jet2 holidays, I think they fly to Malaga everyday from our local airport. This means that they are popular with 2/3 night stays, in turn this often means hen, stag and golfing groups. The flight out with a number of hen and stag groups was the noisiest we have ever had, but they did generally behave themselves. The hotel consequently had a number of groups in the hotel, but mostly golfers. One night there was about 60 in large groups in the dining room, of various nationalities. They were fine, but I agree with earlier comments about some being in the pool area and hours of bellicose laughter and shouting. The design of the hotel (u shape) seems to act as a megaphone making it worse. What I am saying is that to me it didn't seem to be a holiday hotel. A guest told me that the police had been called to the hotel the week before as staff couldn't control some behaviour of a group of youths. To sum up: In many many ways an excellent hotel, well managed, if they could get the food quality better than it would be excellent all round...... except I suppose for some of the guests. I don't think we will go on a Jet2 holiday, or not to that sort of destination anyway and sadly I don't think that we will be back to the MAC

Room Tip: I suppose the pool view rooms may be the best, but at extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinión with us, we are very sorry to hear that our hotel hasn't lived up entirely to your expectations. On your comment concerning the english channels I would like to add shortly about the impossibility to reach these channels anymore due to a satellite change as explained in the following link: http://www.surinenglish.com/20121213/news/costasol-malaga/loss-channels-201212131631.html
Apparently the satellite's english beam would be to tight for southern Europe to capt the signal. That's why we had to substitute our ITV and BBC channels with other movie channels.
We do certainly appreciate your positive comments on the staff and cleanliness.

Once again thank you for your helpful feedback, we hope that we might get another chance to welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was a quick holiday just to get away for a few days and so was pleasantly surprised on arrival to find such a nice hotel with such amazing service. The staff treat you so well from the minute you get there and offered us a cold drink after our journey. The room was nice and had comfortable space for storing clothes and cases and the bathroom was very spacious and done in marble. The cleaning ladies came in every day to check on towels and loo roll etc. and it was always spick and span on our return to the room in the afternoon. The meals served here are much better than most I´ve encountered at other buffets. The selection is vast and it is all laid out nicely and all very fresh and tasted great. The dining room guys looked after us well too and always noticed when you needed another drink. The beach is just at the bottom of the hotel and the shops and marina area just across the road so you cannot fault the location. Very impressed and now thinking about re-booking for the same time next year.

Room Tip: Pool view apartments are great.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
On behalf of the staff and myself I would like to thank you very much for you amazing review. We are absolutely delighted that you have spent a nice time with us and really appreciate the positive feedback about the cleanliness, food and the staff.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights over the bank holiday weekend.

Was greeted at reception with a ice cold glass of champagne. The reception staff are extremely Helpful and really Nice

The hotel offers safes at a very reasonable 2 euros per day with a ten euro deposit. The hotel also offers free pool towels for a deposit of ten euros per towel which you get back at the end providing you keep your receipt

We stayed half board but never ate in a night, beware though that gentleman must wear trousers for the evening meal. We never thought about that although reception did say tailored shorts would be ok. The breakfast was adequate. Nothing to write home about though. We ate there twice out of the four days but there are plenty of places nearby offering breakfasts for a reasonable five euros.

The hotel and the rooms are spotless with maid service every day. Shower gel is provided and it has nice large white towels. The room had a minibar fridge and the first drinks are free which was two bottles of water, two fantas and two San Miguel beers which I thought was a really nice touch. The only thing I feel let the rooms down were they offer no double beds or extra pillows in the room. The pillows were a bit flat, but you can ask for more at reception on a morning. Lovely blackout curtain which I love. Lots of hangers and storage space.

The pool area is lovely, again spotless with plenty of loungers, brollies, tables and mattress toppers. Nice largish deep pool which is freeeeezing. Lifeguard very attentive when children are in the pool which is excellent and the toilets offer showers and all are very clean.
Nice little pool bar, the staff here are very friendly and helpful. I ate a pizza here once but didn't really like it, cheap ingredients and quite expensive for what it was. If you want a snack, I'd recommend you go to one of the many local restaurants.

Lots of parking around and underneath the hotel if you are renting a car and also the hotel offers a complimentary shower rooms which you can book at reception if you have a late flight. They will also give you clean towels for this. It has a baggage storage room but it's not locked so be careful what you leave in there.

The hotel is a few minutes walk to the beach and a few minutes walk to the marina. Ten minutes walk into torremolinos too. Plenty of bars and restaurant nearby. Excellent location and would definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claireser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Mac Puerto Marina to spend your holiday break, and for sharing this experience with us on Tripadvisor. The nice comments about the cleanliness and the staff are also much appreciated. It is true that we maintain a dress policy of long trousers for the diner area...of course we respect that you did not agree with that. The fact is that other guests complain when this policiy is not respected...

We hope we can greet you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rafael Álvarez
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was so looking forward to staying in this hotel after looking at all the reviews and the photos of the hotel. On first entering the hotel I got a shock, the reception is very basic, no atmosphere what so ever. The first room we were given was on ground floor looking at a wall or the garden as they called it it was also a long walk from the entry to the hotel and as we had our dad who is 84 with us this would have been a long walk every time we wanted to go to our room. The girl on reception was very helpful and moved us up one floor and near the reception area. The rooms are all the same and are all very basic but of good size and very clean which is most important, unfortunately beds are not that comfortable though. The bar area and entertainment was not great, my 84 year old dad described it as being like an "old folks home with no atmosphere". On the positive side the terrace area is beautiful and a lovely place to sit after dinner with a glass of wine, the food was very good, you would always have got something that you could eat and the staff in the dining room were all brilliant and always at hand to help you out. The location of the hotel is fantastic and Central to everything. Overall we had a great time but I would say this hotel is more 3* then 4*. The staff, cleanliness and location make it

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor rooms for more light. Rooms at poolside are charged at €10 each per person per d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyinghighdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are sorry to hear that you were a little dissapointed with our hotel and that the experience didn't entirely live up to your expectations, despite the great time you have had. Nevertheless we really appreciate your positive comments on the cleanliness, food and staff.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing