We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit,still excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We first visited in February and enjoyed our stay so mush we booked again for May.
We requested the same/similar room and we're delighted when this was given.
Hotel lovely and clean,staff on reception friendly and welcoming.
Room large and well equipped,the fridge is a nice touch.
Location perfect as you are right on the marina and beach but quieter bars and restaurants short walk away.
We have been visiting the area for a long time usually 2-3 times a year and this is still probably our favourite 4* to date and we much have stayed in them all by now.
Would not hesitate to recommend,we already have, and we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We are grateful for your lovely review, it is very nice to hear that the hotel is still meeting your expectations after the change of name. It is also wonderful to receive the positive comments about the cleanliness and staff.

Thank you again for recommending us, we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Returned today after a great weeks holiday. Have stayed at this hotel for many years under Rui management and was apprehensive about standards and expectations under Mac management. No need to worry at all, greeted with a champagne drink and given a room on the ground floor overlooking the pool and away from the road (143 ) which we had requested. Selection of fruit on a tray placed in our room one afternoon which was a lovely surprise. All staff and management were extremely friendly and obliging. Will certainly be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road and nightclubs/bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We are delighted that you still like staying at Mac Puerto Marina and truly appreciate your excellent review. It's very motivating to receive nice comments like these and it helps us to maintain the concentration and give our guests the best service posible.

We can't wait to welcome you again next year.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Once again we had 10 days at Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena as we enjoyed our last visit so much. However this time the hotel is a Mac hotel (last visit it was a RIU hotel). The hotel is still as lovely and clean with lots of sun beds and parasols. Our room (377) was in a good position as we paid extra to have a pool view, we could also see the promenade which led to Torremolinos. The reception on arrival was cheerful and speedy with a glass of champagne. The fridge in the room is stocked with 2 bottles of lager, 2 bottles of soft drink and 2 bottles of water (complimentary) which was very thoughtful and welcome. Any further supplies can be ordered from reception. It was good to have a fridge as we could keep our own water and chocolate supply cool. The cleaners worked hard and always made a great job of cleaning our room but I must admit I think we missed a towel change as we had ours for about 4 days (not too good after several showers). The bed was changed regularly. There is a ceiling fan and air conditioning in all rooms, which we found very welcome and having a door key and not a card meant the fan could be left on when you went out so the room was lovely and cool on return. I personally loved the fact that a specific table is allocated for evening meal and remains so for the rest of your stay. The food was not quite as good as the last time we were there and maybe the lay out could be reorganised as meats and fish could be obtained on both sides of fitment but then everyone met in the middle where there was veg containers and only one container of chips which caused a bit of a gridlock. There was a carvery section each night which was really good. The salad section was very well stocked with a good variety. Some nights the sweet section was much better than others. However we did not go hungry - we usually found something appetising. We didn't use the bar as we went walking after evening meal and called in one of the local bars. All in all we had a great holiday. The hotel is very well situated and clean with very pleasant and cheerful staff. Would definitely recommend for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are good as they do not have palm trees blocking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsTraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you still enjoy staying at the Puerto Marina hotel, especially after the name change. We appreciate the comments about the rooms, staff and service and thank you for recommending us.

Hopefully we can welcome you many more times at Mac Puerto Marina.

Kind regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a brilliant stay at this lovely hotel! Everything was perfect from our arrival with cava until leaving. The rooms are large and airy, comfy beds, great bathroom, the staff who we came across were all very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent, huge choice of food all very well presented. We had x 2 triple rooms for 6 ladies and stayed for 3 nights, would highly recommend this hotel, can't think of anything negative to say! It's central location is excellent, so close to the marina and beach, would definitely return to this hotel! We all thank you for a wonderful break!

Room Tip: Bar ole for a tapas lunch with sangria, excellent value and also try the bars in ole square, Buddy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you have spent a brilliant weekend with your friends at Mac Puerto Marina. Your positive comments about the rooms, staff and restaurant are very much appreciated.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked this after a recommendation. Initially wasnt going to book due to balconies being covered but having read room tips on here thought that a suite on the roof would suit us. Got to the hotel and wasnt given a room on the roof, overlooking the road next to a nightclub. Gentleman on reception could do with a quick course in customer service, very unfriendly on check in. Although we'd booked half board we didnt bother going into the dining room for evening meal, the breakfast was very average. Cant fault the location and if you want a quiet hotel without lots of children running around then this fits the bill.

Room Tip: Dont assume if you book a suite that you will get a room on the room with a terrace and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are very much dissapointed to hear that you didn't like your stay at Mac Puerto Marina and we feel sorry for the inconveniences caused.
That being said we would just like to add a comment about the rooms, since we have noticed that this is causing a litle bit of confusión. We have two types of rooms at the moment (and are currently finishing a refurbished type of room): standard rooms and standard rooms with pool view. The rooms in the roof are considered to belong to the pool view rooms, even if they don't have a balcony but a terrace instead. Due to the fact that we only have nine rooms in the roof, they are much requested and therefore not easy to pre-book or get. On the other hand we have four junior suites, but hey are not located anywhere near the roof.
Once again we apologize for the inconveniences caused and wished there was more we could have done for you when you were staing with us.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

just come back from this hotel, very clean, all the staff were very helpful. The rooms are very reasonable and the hotel is situated close to the beach and Marina for either a quiet night out or if you prefer close enough for 24hr Square. there is enough food at either breakfast or evening. just one minor point, the bathroom sink was cracked and I think the TV's are dated, apart from that it is well worth the vist

Room Tip: ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveliz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are delighted to hear that our hotel was worth visiting and thank you very much for the wonderful feedback about the cleanliness, food and staff. We are also glad that you have enjoyed the surrounding área and marina. Your nice review is much appreciated.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Kindest regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is very clean ,the bed room attendants were very friendly and helpfull.
However we were very disappointed with the standard of food served as we were saying half board.As a result we ate out four nights.Also the view from our balcony was completely non existent due to the poisition of the pool bar room138.The wifi did not work in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paddy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review and for the positive comments about the staff and the cleanliness. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our food and that you were forced to eat out some nights. We try to offer our guests a wide range of choices as well in the cold as in the warm section and also offer a nice dessert selection. Generally our buffets are highly appreciated so of course it makes us feel uneasy when we receive a comment that says otherwise. We have nonetheless taken good note of it and will do our utmost best to improve to please all our guests.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £61 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing