We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Impressive Hotel Shabby Area"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
wigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"Impressive Hotel Shabby Area"”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We went to the the hotel following reports on Trip Advisor, it certainly did not disappoint the food, room, staff and facilities as are as good and if not better than many hotels that we have previously stayed.
We found it so relaxing we are contemplating another visit in November.
Shabby Area, outside the front of the hotel the rubbish smells are unpleasant and the buildings are tired and need renovating and very garish in the evenings. None of this being the hotels fault.
Though the Spanish bars/restaurants to the left of the hotel on the promenade are superb for lunchtime snacks. sardines a speciality

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dw2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    648
    188
    39
    24
See reviews for
314
1,011
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I want to start by saying we have stayed in a lot of 4 and 5* hotels (sorry if that sounds snobbish but I want to explain that my opinion is well balanced). You need to remebember that this is a 4* star hotel not 5. The benefit of this is that the drinks are cheaper!
Firstly the location is fantastic. I can honestly say the hotel has the best location in Benalmadena. You have the marina and the beach just a stroll away and if you want to go further afield there is a taxi rank outside. The fact that you can get to the hotel in 15 mins from the airport just makes it even better.
Inside the hotel is clean and tidy. From the swimming pool area through the restaurant to the rooms everywhere is well maintained and cleaned.
The food here is great, the only problem is that on arrival you are allocated either a 7pm 'sitting' or 8.45pm. If you have kids they are either going to miss the mini disco or eat really late!
On the subject of kids, if your idea of a holiday is to drop them off at the kids club for the day or let them run around causing havoc forget it! There is a token kids club that is pretty similar to most 4 and 5 star hotels (pretty non existant) and there are no arcade machines, pool tables etc (thank god!).
The staff at the hotel are really good and the guests are a good mix of British, Irish, German and Spanish. There isn't even the usual 'bun fight' for the sun loungers.
The only down side is probably that the pool is a little small if I'm being fussy and that you can't have any more than 3 people in a room as they aren't big enough.
Ultimately would I go back? Yes definately, if only for the excellent location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauliley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Visited the hotel after reading reviews on this website. We were thoroughly impressed from our arrival to our departure. The hotel had excellent facilities, service and location. We wanted a relaxing holiday and we were not dissappointed. The rooms were clean and even though our room was on the front the double glazing blocked out any noise. The food in the hotel could not be faulted, there was a wide variety every night. The hotel is in an excellent location, on the edge of both the marina and the beach. For this particular hoilday we wanted a child free hotel and although young children would be welcome at the hotel there were very few as entertainment for children was limited.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Just returned from the Riu...after having booked it from the reviews on here.
The hotel position was fantastic... 2 mins from the marina and promenade and bars and restaurants. Taxi stop 1 min away so a car was not required for short journeys. The food was fantastic...a huge choice ...and i had an extremely fussy eater in my party...and they were cateed for well...2 types of fish every evening and 3 types of meat ...as well as pizza, pasta ,huge salad bar , desserts, 2 soups and cheeses every evening. No complaints there. Dress code was not adhered to for long trousers so don't bother packing them just for the restaurant ....most people made an effort but it was very casual.. I was extremely concerned with regards to air con before leaving as read it turns off at midnight!! and I hate warm rooms....no need to worry ...yes the air con goes off at midnight but there is a ceiling fan above the bed in your room that we left on all day and evening which made the room so cold that we needed blankets!! The 1 piece of advice regards to rooms is to email your requests.I requested pool view adjoining rooms when booking and even phoned the hotel a week before and was told it would not be a problem ...however a couple of days before leaving, i emailed my requests, so that i knew we wouldn't have problems on arrival, and was told there were not any pool view rooms adjoining together left !!!! I travelled alone with 3 children and it was a main priority...and i explained this when booking. So make sure you email ...as the person i dealt with ...Anna Maria...was so helpful when i arrived and tried to help as much as possible ...and even gave me choices of rooms to view..1 overlooking road adjoining and 1 that was a couple of doors apart pool view....we went for pool view 2nd floor...so anyone with particular room concerns...email a few weeks in advance, as these rooms were very quiet. The whole family loved the holiday grandparents that joined us for 5 days, teenagers, child and mother.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicki_121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2009

stayed in puerto marina in may 2009 very clean hotel service was exellent staff were very helpfull food was exellent except for tea at breakfast water was never boiled room was overlooking a rubbish collection point on main road and was very noisy in the mornings we would definitely go back again but would insist on a room overlooking pool
michael Ireland

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickyjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Stayed at the hotel for 14 nights mid July, on the whole we had a fantastic holiday, i emailed the hotel twice prior to our arrival requesting a room overlooking pool, i got a reply saying they would try there best, we are Hilton Gold members and advised them of this. On our arrival they had no knowledge of this, as i didnt have a copy of the email they said there was nothing they could do and allocated us a room at the back ground floor overlooking an old garden and the street! It was also very dark! I would even go as far to say the receptionist was rude! I then went to log onto my emails and they suddenly said they would change me tomorrow! Thats exactly what they did and from then on it was fantastic, we were given a room with pool view, then at the end of our first week we were offered a Suite! It was lovely with a living room! The food was very nice, something different on the menu each night, even on our 14th night we looked forward to our meal! The only fault was the sausages, they were small and mediteranean and the deserts were very spanish, no cheesecakes or anything english. The croissants were not great either small and tasteless! Our table was outside and in a fantastic location, the fact your wine could be corked up and returned the next evening was great! On the whole the food is fantastic! The starters and soups are lovely, the pizzas and pastas beautiful, seafood cocktails, anchovies on your pizza its all available, even a carvery counter with gravy and all the veg, just be aware of the sausages and breakfast and the deserts, they look georgous but very different to the UK!

The pool area is nice but the beds are very millitary, lined up in lines and next to each other, also the pool advertises no airbeds etc but the life guard doesnt tell people and it can be annoying when busy!

The waiter/waitress service is fantastic and the staff very very friendly, the best thing about this hotel is the location, the marina is georgous 2 mins walk away, and turn left and your on the Carouella, its lovely in the evening with loads going on for a stroll! We found 2 lovely bars in the marina where you can get a coffe and seperate brandy for 2 euros! The Ferrero Roche ice cream is also worth a try!!

Anna on reception is lovely, she is dutch and speaks perfect english, she will put herself out to help you and really made us feel welcome!

It is worth pointing out that there are only 2 english tv channels, skynews and fox news. this is very annoying when there for 2 weeks!!

Another good point is the train service, we got the train from malaga airport to Il Pinillo, it took 8 minutes and was 1euro 30, the taxi from il Pilino to the riu was 5 euros, the taxi fare from the airport is 25 euros each way so you save loads doing this! The trains are every 30 minutes and are lovely and air conditioned!!

It is worth pointing out the beds are not great! Again would put me off 2 weeks!

On the whole i will return for the location, cleanliness, food and customer service, however only for 1 week due to the TV, i really missed it when i was in the room!!!

If you have any questions just email me!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duffy722016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Having stayed at Riu Monica in Nerja at the beginning of May, we booked this hotel expecting the same quality. We were initially very disappointed. Although on booking, we had requested a top floor, sea view room NOT INLAND, we were given a room on the 1st (ground) floor. We complained at this and were then given a 3rd floor room which we thought would be ok. However, what a shock to see that this room not only faced inland, it also had a panoramic view of the rubbish skips. When we saw that it had double patio doors, we knew it would be a noisy room. I returned to reception to say that this room was not what we had wanted. The receptionist was most unhelpful. He looked at our original booking made some weeks previously and said that we had only 'requested' a top floor non-inland room but as we had wanted a double room, they could not make arrangements for a non-inland room! He was completely unreasonable and only wanted to explain by shouting. I walked away and left him shouting in reception. I presumed that all the other couples there had single rooms!
After unpacking, we went for a stroll out of the hotel. On our return to our room, a note was pushed under the door to say they would have another room for us in 2 days.
We were right about the noisy room. First thing in a morning, the waggons came to empty the skips, followed by the man 'hoovering' up the litter. After that the water waggon arrived, washing down the street and then the traffic started. It was impossible to sit on the balcony after getting ready for dinner, as the noise and fumes from the traffic was not conducive to relaxing. At night time, and early hours of the morning, we had the noise of the night clubbers going past.
After 2 days, we moved to a room on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pool and outside restaurant areas. What a difference. Quiet, restful and a great place to sit out and read and no noise at night. Bliss.
We visited places which we knew i.e.Mijas and Marbella by local bus. Very reasonable fares. However, a bottle of San Miguel and a glass of orange juice in Marbella at 7 euros, we thought was a complete rip-off. Spain is no longer a cheap holiday destination. I know that their recession is worse than ours but they seem to be milking it from tourists.
The little train around the marina was good value but when we enquired at the price of the double decker sightseeing bus, we couldn't believe it at 23 euros. We told the girl that we could probably get to Gibralter for that price. No wonder the buses were empty when they went round the town.
We thought the marina was the best we had seen. Although it didn't have the size of the yachts that Puerto Banus has, there were certainly beauties there and lots of them.

The rooms we had in the hotel were spotlessly clean, the towels changed every day. We have to say that there was more choice of food there than at Riu Monica even having a separate area for pizzas, pasta etc., We are not meat eaters and we couldn't fault the choice for us. The salad and pudding islands, were replenished all of the time.

After our initial room problem, we enjoyed our stay but have the following criticisms:-

1) why have all the staff had charisma bypass surgery? There was not a pleasant one either on reception or in the restaurant.

2) why does the website and literature in the room specify that men should wear long trousers for dinner when this is not enforced. Not a pretty sight to sit next to someone wearing shorts, vest and flip flops. OK for breakfast but a big No No for dinner. Girls in shorts for dinner don't do themselves a favour either. Call us old fashioned but standards met by the majority, should apply to all.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing