We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Never review hotels normally, but have made an exception!
2nd visit to this hotel - I loved it the first time (May 2007) and was looking forward to going back and it did not dissappoint! Amazingly a lot of the same staff were still their.
The welcome - complementary drink on arrival, much needed.
Room - basic but very clean and modern. The rooms on the main entrance side can be a bit noisy, we had one overlooking pool area - very very quiet! We have emailed both times to request pool view rooms.
Hotel - great layout, spacious reception area, pool and terrace adequate - my husband sat in the shade all day (u - shaped pool terrace which gives a couple of metres of shade from about 10am - 4pm, he is scottish and burns just looking at the sun!! He appreciated this).
Restaurant - excellent food choices (both breakfast + dinner), you can be good or naughty (their is the option of skimmed milk and low fat jams and yoghart if you are watching your figure) One morning they even served "cava" - nice!!
The bar area is good and the prices are not too bad, there is entertainment most nights, which varies!
The best part about this hotel is the staff - they make you feel like you are the only guests there - very friendly and courtious at all times, even when they are busy!
Location perfect - near the marina and the beach. Nice bars - "Murphy's Law" has a good pint of the black stuff and Monets + Caracus are also good, full of locals which I think a good sign.
Looking forward to going back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    659
    190
    41
    24
See reviews for
317
1,025
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I've just returned from a week long stay at the Riu and couldn't fault the pllace really. As we are only 27 we were about half the age of most of the other guests but to be honest it suited us as there was none of the usual noise around the pool and disturbance at night. The glass of champagne on arrival was a lovely touch. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, maids come around every day with fresh towels etc. The rooms were a great size compared to many Spanish places I've stayed and all with a balcony. The pool and all ares in the hotel were always kept immaculate.
The hotel only takes bookings on a half board basis. Breakfast is great, a big enough choice with fruit, cereals, pancakes, hot breakfast and a large choice of bread and croissants. We tried dinner on our first night and while the food is of a good standard we didn't go back again as there are just so many really great restaurants so close by. But if you were to eat there each night I'm sure there would be no problem with the food...the only thing was that you have the same table every evening which could be a bit monotonous after a few days.
The location of the hotel is just perfect, right beside the marina and right beside the beach too. As I've said, the hotel guests are mainly older couples, this is definitely not the place for groups of young party people!
All in all I'd most definitely recommend the Riu and would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank katelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.I.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Have just returned from our second visit to this hotel. At the same time last year we took elderly parents and because the trip was so succesful decided to repeat it. The location is ideal for those who may have mobility problems - on the marina and at the end of a flat promenade with plenty of seats for breaks.
We have always found Riu hotels to be well run and this one is no exception. It may not be in luxury class but I have stayed in luxury hotels where the service would not compare to here.For example my husband is allergic to feathers and one phone call and 10 mins was all that it took to have the pillows delivered. My father-in-law broke the toilet handle and again it was fixed within 10 mins.
On the down side we noticed that the standard of the food had dropped. Meals were always buffet style but the quality was not as good as before eg. no fresh prawns at dinner and only fresh kiwi or melon at breakfast. You will certainly never go hungry but it is quantity over quality. However for the price paid I wouldn't complain. The waiting staff are happy and helpful and seem to remember returning guests.
Rooms are fairly basic Spanish hotel rooms with a stocked fridge. Ours was always cleaned fairly early in the day which is a bonus.
The pool area is compact with plenty of beds and matresses which you need to get for yourself, and pool towels are supplied from reception, where again the staff are very helpful.
One tip i would give is that we found a hire shop for mobility vehicles and hired motorised scooters for 1 day which gave the elderly parents a chance to see more.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in early May and were very pleased with everything the hotel has to offer. All the staff in the hotel are the most friendly and helpful we have known anywhere, a credit to RIU. We stayed in a room on the top floor with a pool and sea view which was excellent, large and very clean. There was a good range of food on offer and entertainment at night if needed. The hotel is located near to the marina and with easy access to walks along the "prom" and the local buses to Mijas, Marbella and Malaga all within an hour.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waringstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This was our 3rd visit and did not disappoint. Hotel was spotless and staff extremely friendly and professional. The location is superb and on this occasion we had 4 days of unbroken sunshine reaching 25c each day. I thoiught the choice of food had gone down slightly but nothing to complain about. Would go back tomorrow and escape from frosty nights in May.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coarmaghayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Stayed in the Riu Puerto Marina for a few days over Easter, hotel is great! In a fab location for the beach, marina and bars and restaurants.
Rooms are small but lovely and comfortable, nice views from balcony and are serviced everyday.
We had a room which was effected by music from near by bars and clubs, not a huge problem for us a s we were out most nights however we did have a girls night in and we found the noise to be a problem.
Food in the hotel is great, excellent service and good prices on drinks. Some of the bars on the Marina have huge prices on drinks so be aware if your out that area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazy_julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel Easter 2009 and had such a great time that we decided to re-book for another week - although with the recent volcanic issues we ended up staying for a total of 11 days - and I must say that despite the very changeable weather we had another excellent stay. We picked the hotel again for the following reasons:
Fantastic location - The hotel is 50 metres from the Marina with access to the many restaurants / bars / small number of shops and is also a similar distance to the sandy beach with beachside promenades in either direction.
Hotel Staff - Reception staff most impressive as they just can't do enough for you and are always extremely polite and efficient as indeed are the waiting staff in the restaurant. In fact, whilst we were "stranded" for the additional 4 days I had to conduct several important business calls and needed a room where I wouldn't be disturbed (telling the family to keep-out of out room whilst I made the calls just wasn't an option especially around dinner time !), so I asked and, without hesitation, was given the keys to an empty guest room !
Cleanliness - We are again impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel - the cleaning staff always seem to be at work both outside (in and around the pool area) and inside - indeed it seems that no matter what time of day you will always come across a cleaner (who are always courteous) wiping something !!
The buffet food is also very good with a large variety of hot and cold dishes (for breakfast and dinner) to suit most tastes.
It is true that the hotel could do with a few more facilites because when it does rain (as it seemed to do consistently this April) there is not that much to do within the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamarindUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,960 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing