We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNDERWHELMED”
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is an average 3 star hotel, not 4. I have to say I was very surprised that the rooms were so small as the cost of the stay was extremely expensive. It was actually so small I asked the hotel if it would be okay if we checked out after 2 days. Thankfully the hotel were quite accommodating and allowed us to leave. This hotel would be fine if you got a good deal but definitely not for full price.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from the front of the hotel as it is on a very busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firstreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,643 - 1,649 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Very very clean, excellent food, excellent entertainment, we couldnt fault the hotel at all and will be staying there again...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harasallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just returned from Las Arenas a couple of weeks ago. This was our first time in the Costa del Sol. Holiday was booked three weeks prior to departure and chose the Las Arenas Hotel mainly because of previous reviews.

Arrived in Malaga Airport and quickly got Thomson transfer coach to Benalmadena. Took approximately 20-30 mins to get from airport to hotel. Bus stop is within walking distance of hotel.

On arrival we both were very impressed with the reception area and general appearance of the hotel. Check-in took a very short time. Reception staff were helpful although possibly could have been a little more friendly. We got a room which we had asked Co-op Travel to request for us.

The rooms are exceptionally clean and fresh towels are provided everyday. Rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day. Each room has a safe and you will get your deposit back. The air conditioning worked very well. The buffet style restuarant was fantastic. Staff were more than helpful with an excellent choice of food at all times. I have to say i always looked forward to getting to the restuarant!

The hotel has a pool with plenty of sunbeds although because the beach is so close we preferred to use it.

The Las Arenas is very central with the beach just across the road from the Hotel. This hotel is about 20-30mins sea front walk from the Marina which is beautiful. The walk is beautiful with numerous stalls, diners etc. Mostly done this walk every night. There is a great holiday atmosphere around this area. This area felt very safe although do not accept any free flowers from anyone as we were warned on arrival to ignore these people as they can be pick pocketers. Just ignore them. There are not many of them about.

We booked our excursions through Thomson holidays at our induction talk. Advised to do this as prices are competitive and trips are fully managed and recommended by the holiday operators. Strongly recommend the Gibraltar Trip. This was fantastic. Make sure and visit the rock to see the fantastic views, war time tunnels and the monkeys!!. As we both are in our late 20s early 30s we had to visit Aqualand in Torremolinos. Was excellent. If you are not scared of heights make sure and take the Cable Car trip from Benalmadena to the top of the mountains. Views are amazing and there are some beautiful walks at the top and if you go around midday or early evening you will see a very good Falcon display. Another enjoyable trip is to the Bioparc in Fuengirola. Very interesting and enjoyable. Buses are the best means of transport to these places as these are cheap and run steady throughout the day. Taxis are also relatively cheap and safe.

It is strongly advisable that you visit the park behind the hotel (up the hill from the windmills). This is about a five minute walk from the hotel. This is beautiful and at night there is some music. I also recommend you take the little train which will take you a tour around the Benalmadena area.

The only fault i had is that the entertainment in the hotel was geared more towards the older generation. Do not let this put you off as there is plenty to do in the surrounding area at night time.

As we are from Northern Ireland we could not believe how great the weather was. We never saw a cloud the whole time we were away!!! Just be prepared for some very warm days.

We will definately return to this hotel and would recommend to anyone. Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for room as high up as possible to see the sea views and also the mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GDC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The hotel is well situated, so near the wonderful park and the beach. Lovely walks along the promenade. The staff are very friendly. The food was excellent ,lots of choice, with different choices every night. We stayed for 2 weeks and never got bored with the meals provided.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruby062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We travelled to the Las Arenas on the 31st July & stayed for a week. Hotel was very nearly perfect! It was spotlessly clean, dining experience was excellent! Rooms were lovely too! If we had any criticism at all, it would be that the entertainment on an evening in the hotel was dull for our 2 teenagers! That said, the Las Arenas was excellent in every other way possible! The pool area was very nice and clean too, our teens ( easily bored ) enjoyed the shuffleboard and the water polo on a couple of occasions. The restaurant team were extremely friendly & nothing was too much trouble for them! Thank you very much to everybody at the Las Arenas for making our holiday one to remember

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank kazray10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have visited this hotel for a winter break for the past few years and plan to return again in 2012.

The staff in the hotel are most helpful and very courteous. The food is of a high standard and the hotel is very clean. The location of the hotel is ideal for walks along the promenade and the nearby Paloma Park is worth a visit, especially for animal lovers.
Benalmadena is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I have just returned from Las Arenas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is in a perfect situation right on the sea front and we had a lovely side room with sea view. Our room was comfortable and very quiet and situated on the top floor. The pool area is adequate and there was always a large choice of sunbeds and umbrellas to choose from whatever time of day you went down. The pool itself is small but was never busy. The food is very varied and extremely delicious. Having tea and coffee served to you makes all the difference and is much safer than in other hotels we have been in where people are wandering around with hot drinks. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
A few niggles - the air conditioning in our room did not seem adequate for the 33+C heat outside and two of the floor tiles were loose. Also the door stopper in the bathroom could be quite dangerous where it is situated - right in front of the toilet. We also felt that the air conditioning in the dining room was switched off, or at least turned down, towards the end of the evening - maybe to discourage people from sitting too long?
Overall though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others and we will definitely be returning in the future.
Just a wee addition - there is a lovely tapas bar near the hotel called Cafeteria Cristobal - just turn right and then right again - past Nero's bar. Make sure you are hungry though as they serve huge portions!!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor or you will have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank snawba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,999 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,321 reviews
0.6 mi away
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £50 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing