We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you want!”
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just what you want!”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The location of the hotel is brilliant. It's two minutes away from the beach, there's small stands selling jewellry and other souveniers on a night time outside the hotel over the road. It's quite a busy road, but there's traffic lights. There's a McDonalds a few doors down on the right hand side, and other small cafes and restaurants (as we were half board). Nearby is Paloma Park which is beautiful - serene, a large lake and many different animals. You can purchase bread for $1 to feed the animals, there's terrapins in the water and chickens roaming around. It's also within walking distance of the harbour which is also well worth a visit - we walked up there almost every night. It has beautiful views and many shops, and there's fish which yet again you can buy bread to feed.
The Hotel itself is 3*+ which is a fair review. You get what you pay for, and I disagree with many of the reviews on here.
The pool was nice, could be marginally cleaner but there was a nice atmosphere, and many different nationalities.
The entertainment was often poor, with free bingo etc, but there were dancers on an evening and it was cosy and homely.
The food was adequate. There was a large selection available but many strange combinations.
I'd recommend the hotel for older people, but our party was a 38 year old, a 16 year old and a 6 year old and it suited us perfectly.
We will be returning, don't let a few bad reviews put you off!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,084
    642
    148
    35
    24
See reviews for
378
1,243
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The good thing about this hotel is the nice Position close to the beach and the lovely sea views.,
The reception area was spotless as were all the public areas and pool.
There was a vast choice of food at breakfast which was always hot,never once had to use the microwave. also lovely puddings at dinner and always lots of fresh fruits.
Coffee and tea are served to your table and there is a STRICT rule in place that long trousers are to be worn for evening meals and we saw this being implemented on many occasions.
Mikki in the restaurant is lovely,always smilling and chatty.
The bad things about this hotel are not All rooms have balcony, some rooms that do on floor one only look out at the wall to the raised pool area so request high floor if you want sea view.
theres no pool bar so you have to walk up and down steps when you want a drink and therefore you have to dry off if you've had a swim.pool not heated but thats ok once you get in.
Some rooms are tiny we paid suppliments cos two of our party had single occupancy but one of the rooms was a single anyway and you could barely turn in it, and it had an awfull smell of sewers all week.
The entertainment was terrible, bingo was free just one card each and over within 10 mins, and quiz was only 10 questions,
This Hotel is not suitable for younger travellers as the majority of visiters are 60 plus and this hotel is geared up for that clientell. we took mum whos in her 70s but she agreed that it has the atmosphere of a rest home and not a hotel.
we sat out on the chairs at the front of hotel several times to find ambulance turn up or the man delivering mobility schooters. dont get me wrong we love and respect the older generation but it was all so depressing.
Lifts are very tiny and kept breaking down..had three power cuts for several hours on three seperate afternoons.
The strange thing about reception was the man who hasn't a clue what he's doing...
When we arrived he was dealing with a lady and told her to come back later as he had to check us in..we asked if we could get a safe key and was told to come back later, we went back later and was told he was counting money and to yes you've guessed it ..to come back later.
On our last day we had paid Thomsons for a late room and the same man told us it was'nt possible to have paid them and he wanted 20 euros, after refusing to pay again he went to check with the manager and came back 5 mins later to say we were right.

To sum up ..we have no idea why this hotel scores so high and will deffinately NOT be returning.

Room Tip: rooms that end in 1 dont have balcony, pool side has morning sun, other side evening sun and better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 20JAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

stayed at this hotel 9` may 14`may half board, food is excellant, staff are very helpful and friendly,rooms cleaned every day prices in bar very fair, bus stop is about 200 yards from hotel,we had afew hours in torromelines one day it only cost us 2 euros one way for 2peoplewould definately reccomend this hotel marina is 15mins walk away along a flat promanade

Room Tip: none smokeing rooms are best pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank magnumengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We have stayed here twice and have booked to return this October.
It is not in the league of the Arona in Los Cristianos, but is great value.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly if you are openly friendly with them.
Reception staff usually try to accommodate your request. Have never been able to get through
to them by email, but usually send a letter to make our room request.
It is situated right on the front by 'bil bil castle', near to the lovely park with rabbits, hens etc running free. Just 20 mins up-hill to the train station and the lovely town, which has a different
feel to the resort of Benalmadena.
Do not usually stay in for entertainment,but have found a great bar on the front.
Only negative we have found with this hotel, service in bar area during evening was poor and
measures small and expensive, hence we drink elsewhere.

Room Tip: We prefer a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

stayed here 2011 roo only had oms very clean but would only suit 2 in the room we had iwas with my daughter and friend ithink they just put extra bed in a twin room so not much room cleaned each day towels changed daily staff helpful and nice food very good iam bit fussy and icould find ameal every nightplenty to choose from and desert were fab pool cleaned every night and best bit door locked till 9am so cant bag beds but not for kids nothing for them more a adult hotelmy daughter was bored only pool and internet entertainment more for older people

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Great hotel, great position, a short walk up to the port/marina. Food is very good and the staff are lovely. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just returned from a week at the Las Arenas, very central for costa del sol attractions. Price reductions on 3 attractions, the cable car, sea world and Tivoli centre if booked together with reductions for seniors as well as children!. Trips to Granada, Ronda, Gibralta all make a great day out from this location. A very nice hotel in all aspects except for the beds which we found too hard, not good for people with back problems.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher level and not pool side if you like the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veronica268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Property: Las Arenas Hotel
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing