We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!”
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Having read some of the previous reviews we weren't too sure what to expect but having just returned I can only say that some people must just love to moan about something.... The hotel was in a brilliant position just over the road from the beach. The road is busy but we didn't hear it from our room. We asked for a 2 high rooms with a beach view and that is exactly what we got. The rooms were compact but clean but it was the staff in the restaurant that were absolutely fantastic. The food was varied and we were even allocated our own table most evenings by the busy but friendly staff who remembered us and catered for my husband's gluten free requirements. They were really busy but always friendly. The hotel's clientele was a mix of british and spanish couples and families and very few elderly people. The pool was small but we usually managed to get sun loungers and umbrellas especially between 2 and 4 when the spanish retired! We took good advantage of 'Happy Hour' between 5 and 6 and tried most of the cocktails on offer. There is no decent evening entertainment however but this was the only negative of this hotel. We would thoroughly recommend this Las Arenas even though the resort wasn't what we'd hoped.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room on 3rd floor or above as 1st and 2nd floors are a bit close to the pool if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jjak-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

We are literally just back from a 10 day stay, 2 adults and 3 children and it was wonderful. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are very nice. but it is the staff that really make the holiday. The staff are so friendly and courteous, helpful and fun. They are wonderful with children and adults alike and literally bend over backwards to help. It is in a great central location. When we went there was a variety of people staying there from elderly groups, couples and families and it all blended together seamlessly. The food is adequate, not amazing but there is a great selection to choose from. I would love to go back. if I could give any advice it would be to bring your own hairdryer or you will end up looking like Monica from friends in that episode!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oserNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

my husband and i stayed here in may. i also stayed here in january with my grandaughter in january, and although mostly older people do stay here she had a great time. the hotel is spotless, food is excellent, staff really friendly and entertainment is very good also. what else can you ask for. look foward to returning soon.

Room Tip: rooms on opposite side to swimming pool if you like afternoon sunsine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Lovely hotel in great location across the road from the beach and promenade. We stayed half board and the food was excellent and varied. Staff couldn't have been nicer with activities during the day for adults and kids. We are already planning to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markthull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband, 19 year old daughter and myself have just returned from the Las Arenas Hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We agree with the previous review in that the fact that a lot of older people stay in the hotel means that there is less rowdy behaviour. The hotel staff are attentive and very pleasant. The food is the best we have experienced in a Spanish hotel with a great choice of breakfast and an excellent variety every evening which was really tasty. We cannot understand how anyone could complain about the food as there was always something for everyone - indeed it was hard to choose what to have and we certainly never went hungry. We had a lovely family room which had a fridge, two separate bedrooms, bathroom and a balcony which looked straight over the sea - beautiful view! The room was kept really clean and the air conditioning was good. We could always manage to get a sunbed by the pool when we wanted to as most people seemed to go to the beach as it was so close. The pool had no bar which was a minor drawback. The location of the hotel is brilliant as there is a bus stop a few yards up the road which takes you to all other resorts in the area, you can walk to the marina and we even walked to Torremolinos. We also visited Mijas which is a lovely Spanish village up the mountains within easy reach by bus.
We would certainly return to the Las Arenas if going back to Costa del Sol.

Room Tip: We had a family room on second floor overlooking the beach. Road noise did not affect us at all but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Peugeot0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my family at the beginning of July. Admittedly, a great deal of the hotel guests were a lot older than expected (as mentioned in previous reviews) but I fail to see how this is a flaw in the hotel. This only meant that there was less rowdy behaviour around the pool, and it was easier to get a sunbed! Saying that, we only stayed around the pool for one of the days- with the beach right on your doorstep it seems pointless to not take full advantage of it! The beach is fantastic, even if the water is a little cold. If you rent two sunbeds and a umbrella for the day it is 8 euros, and you can spend the entire day there as cafes/restaurants are only a stone's throw away. The vendors that have previously been moaned about are at times, a little pushy, but if you are frank with them they go away immediately. In fact, many of them are very amusing!

Around the surrounding area of the hotel, there are lots of places to eat/drink but I would suggest walking a little bit further to reach the Marina. It is a far nicer place to sit and watch the world go by, or even go to some bars. We tried a few restaurants, including 'Gaucho' which served lovely steaks, and 'Metro' which is nice both for meals and for casual drinks. The area itself livens up even more so after eleven, where bars such as 'Mombosa' welcome you in, with plenty of drinks deals, music and shisha. Would really recommend that bar, the staff are friendly and the atmosphere excellent. Also, unexpectedly there was an Ice Bar near there, only 5euros to get in with a free cocktail too and it's something different! Two of my group were in our twenties, so we walked up to an area called the 24hour square, which is about 5 minutes up the hill from the Marina.

This place is perfect for the late teens/early adults and even stag/hen dos were there! There's a series of bars and clubs, and just as it says on the tin, it goes on till about 8 in the morning.

The hotel itself was excellent, as we were half board we got to try both what breakfast and dinner had to offer, and there was always something we all liked. The various choices for breakfast were for example: cereal, pancakes, fry up, fresh fruit, cakes, bagels. Dinner always had a salad bar, and then meals such as : pasta, pizza, veal, chicken, potatoes, lasagna, paella, chicken nuggets, cold meat section. Plus plenty of desserts! I fail to see how anyone can complain about the selection, at a buffet one cannot expect to have Michelin star food!

The rooms were clean, and a maid came every single day in the morning without fail. Air conditioning always worked, but the rooms were cool enough even without it. The staff were friendly enough, and the holiday went mostly without a hitch! Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ria771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Agree with most of the recent reviews. Good location for beach although allow for 20-30 min walk to marina area which is most sophisticated place to go for drink in evening (some of Benalmadena is like Blackpool). Hotel as I said in title is small, with small rooms and small public areas. Entertainment very low key but Benalmadena has a lot going on so this is no issue. Pool is very small and shaded and old fashioned but great beach across the road if that's your thing. Hotel on VERY busy main road with lots of traffic. Air con in rooms minimal but leave your Tesco club card in slot all day and get the room cool enough - also keep black out curtain shut to keep room cool. NB NO beach towels included so remember to take some or buy locally at approx Euro10 each. Food quality pretty good. Nothing to fault at breakfast everything from fruit to fried! Some evenings lacked variety. Things like this that justify lowering the star awarded to perhaps 3 or 3+. We went 1st week July and agree most people there were aged 60ish. Probably would not return unless we had a bargain which on this occasion we certainly did not!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the side of pool with side sea view. Request high floor for view and security. Quite p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequent_flyerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,021 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.6 mi away
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £47 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing