We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What More Could You Ask For” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What More Could You Ask For”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We normally go to the Angela in Fuengirola for 4 weeks in January but as it was closed for a refurb decided to try the Las Arenas instead. We came for a week in March and loved it so decided to come back for 3 weeks.

The hotel is on the main road about a hundred yards from the ‘Windmill roundabout’. Some people complain about noise from the road but it certainly never bothered us. It is across the road from Bil-Bil castle and less than 100 yards from the start of the promenade which runs along to the marina (15 minutes walk) and then onto Torremolinos (another hours stroll).
I contacted the hotel beforehand asking for a room on a high floor and got exactly what I asked for. The reception staff are some of the most friendly and helpful we’ve ever seen. Like most of the other staff, nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are a decent size, well decorated and clean. They have a flat screen TV and various British channels (BBC,ITV etc). Like most hotels the walls are a bit thin but we were never bothered by any noise from adjoining rooms.

The restaurant is small but the staff are so well organised that it generally runs like clockwork. The hotel was full so at times there was a queue to get in – I can never understand why people queue up 15 minutes before opening time just so they get the same table each time. Go a bit later and it’s far quieter. There is always a good variety of food which is well cooked and reasonably hot. At breakfast a pot of coffee or tea is brought to your table. Be prepared to wait at the door to be shown to a table by the head-waiter. Some people don’t like doing this but it’s far easier than wandering about trying to find a table yourself. There is a hand spray to the right of the entrance to the restaurant which the majority of people ignore although it is obviously for their own good.

The entertainment is pretty good with all the usual Costa del Sol artists (Ricky Lavassa, Laura Elen etc.). As ever, you have to get in fairly early to get a decent seat. The main act is preceded by either a quiz or bingo. There is a happy hour (2 for 1) every evening between 5 and 6 pm.

Outside the hotel, to the front there is a large sunny terrace where you can sit (preferably with a drink) and watch the world go by. There is a large pool area to the side of the hotel but it seems to me that it’s on the wrong side and, in the winter, most of it only gets the sun in the morning. If you get right down at the front you might get the sun until 4pm but this area is a bit restricted by a water-garden feature which would be better replaced by more sunbeds.

There is everything you might need in the vicinity of the hotel. There are bus stops for travel to either Fuengirola or Torremolinos/Malaga within 50 yards – a little further if you want to go to Arroyo or Mijas. To the right of the hotel there are a few bars within 50 yards and also a Tabac where you can get your newspaper etc. Here you can also get a bus card which gives you a discount on the local buses (1€ instead of 1.60€). Another 20 yards and you’ll find a McDonalds – turn right at the roundabout and about 400 yards away is a supermarket (Mercadona). To the left turn up past the side of the hotel and up the hill you will soon reach the beautiful ‘Paloma Park ‘ and if you carry on walking up the hill you eventually get to ‘Arroya de la Miel’ (20 minutes walk) where you will find the railway station and the Friday market.

The Las Arenas is a fairly small hotel and so you soon get to know all the staff and most of the other holiday-makers. It was fuller than usual because various other hotels in the area were closed for refurbishment but it was still one of the friendliest hotels we’ve been to and it’s in a great location.

Will we be back? – we’ve already booked for 4 weeks next January.

Room Tip: We always like a high floor (7 is the top). Odd numbered rooms overlook the pool and the marina and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Borrowdale36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    626
    144
    35
    24
See reviews for
369
1,209
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here for a week 1st - 8th feb, only one complaint: We should have booked for longer .Lovely location, easy walking distance to beach, marina and the georgous paloma park (check out the wednesday morning flea market next to this). Booked through Thomson as a limited side sea view room, we were given room 528 which had a side window with said view and a rear balcony with inland mountain view. Room had flat screen tv with lots of English channels, air con, fridge, clean bathroom with complimentary toiletries. All areas of hotel extremely clean. Restaurant food was good with plenty of choice and the staff worked very hard to accomodate everyone at busy times. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janetw890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

lovely hotel with all the amenities for a nice holiday, staff very friendly and helpful and the food and resturant were also very nice. entertainment in hotel in evening so no need to go further afield if you dont feel like it.

Room Tip: we were in a room overlooking the pool and got the sun in the morning, but it was january and perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlasgowHolidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Well this Hotel has everything you want for your comfort and go out of there way to help you ,
Food is good and a great choice ,
Staff are so helpfull through out the hotel.
I have read other reviews good and some that are not but in my opinion this hotel is great will be back again.

Room Tip: We were in 220 this is a great room for sun but overlooked a building and we had side sea veiw but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SomersetMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We where set to go to another hotel but sent here what a result couldn't fault anything food location cleanliness staff and weather would go back tomorrow we had sea view with very spacious room walk along prom nice with plenty of bars to stop an av a drink rooftop terrace is a must all in all cant wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30trebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed for a week at the Las Arenas Hotel and found it to be the best hotel we have stayed at in the area. Room with sea view , great staff and food was superb, happy hour if you like a tipple, no complaint's what so ever! Good location and bus stops nearby if you want to travel around.
We would certainly return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LancashireSwany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. Hotel in a great area just facing the beach and also a short walk to the marina. The rooms where a good size and was always kept Clean. Food was good and staff where helpful. Would definitely stay here again :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach very big and gets the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Property: Las Arenas Hotel
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing