We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday”
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at Las Arenas and had one of the best holidays we have ever had. Some of our party had a week but at one point there were eleven of us ranging from 66 years to 7 years old and everyone had a great time. The hotel was spotless, the bar and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful, and the location was central to other bars and restaurants if you wanted to go out. We were lucky to meet some lovely families and the kids all got on well together spending most of the time in the pool. The managers gave us a pass to the sister hotel Las Portas down the road where there were slides and a pirate ship feature for the kids so worth an afternoon there, but we all agreed that we preferred our hotel to stay in. We also went back to Tivoli World where we had had a great time five years ago but they have changed it to entry fee then wristbands when you get in and then extra tickets for certain rides so it ended up costing a fortune and we felt as if we had been ripped off so I would give that a miss. The weak WiFi at the hotel was a bit frustrating for the teenagers but they got through it! The only negative was the lack of vegetarian food as one of our party had little or no choice most nights. A separate vegetarian area or decent labelling of the dishes would be an easy remedy to this. Some of the salads were great but then ham or crabsticks were used to garnish...this could be put in a separate dish for people to help themselves then the vegetarian guests would not be nervous of tasting food in case of it containing meat.
Without doubt the best part of our holiday was Juan (Johnny) who ran the entertainment. We joined in the games every day and the quizzes/ bingo at night. He made everyone feel welcome and encouraged the kids to join in, he was really funny and his enthusiasm was fantastic. His commentaries for the kids waterpolo in Spanish and English were out of this world. We would come back to the hotel just for him so Las Arenas please make a note of this!! Thanks for a brilliant time.

Room Tip: Any with 04/06 are at the front, odd numbers overlook the pool, even numbers have a view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisachris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Las Arenas with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

We are always looking for ways to improve our product and our services; open and honest reviews from our guests is our best way to address areas which need improvement.

It is gratifying to know that you have received a very kind and attentive dealing on the part of the whole personnel.

On the behalf of myself and the entire staff, thank you for sharing your comments and that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that when you return to Benalmadena-Costa you choose us again so that we may continue to provide you with 100% satisfaction.

Thank you again!

Best regards.

Lucía Arruti
Quality Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    647
    149
    36
    24
See reviews for
384
1,258
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed at las arenas in April and January in fact this was my 6th stay in 18 months so that must say something about the hotel.i cannot praise the hotel enough, great food, spotlessly clean, excellent, hardworking staff and good entertainment. i am returning in 7wks time with my partner and my 2 brothers and their wives. I am really looking foward to it. Thank you Las Arenas.

Room Tip: higher floor. on the side opposite to the pool if you like afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for staying at hotel Las Arenas and for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay.

Our best satisfaction is knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that they are looking forward to visit us again.

Thank you very much for staying with us!!

Kind regards

Lucía Arruti
Quality Dptm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is a firm favorite of ours we have stayed at Las Arenas for numerous holidays we love everything about this hotel, food, staff, location are very good the entertainment is not to our taste but we go out every evening there are some really nice bars within a ten minute walk.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLionking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about hotel Las Arenas with us. Thank you for your comments given towards our services, location, food and our staff, fact that I will make known of the whole team, because is in our interest, that all of our guests leave the hotel with a wonderful memory of their holiday

We will take note of the points indicates for improvements.

We appreciate your loyalty and hope you´ll give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Best regards,

Quality Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely hotel, great staff, comfortable rooms, food is excellent and close to everywhere in Benalmadena. Just home after 10 days here with Thompson and Im not one for going back to places but this would one place I would.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and you get a huge balcony, try to avoid 7th floor as lift only goes to 6th an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear customer,

I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about hotel Las Arenas with us.

We are very happy to know that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our facilities, restaurants and services. Also, we want to thank you for your comments about our staff, our guests are our passion and the most important to us, we work hard to bring you memorable experiences and the best vacation.

We appreciate your loyalty and hope you´ll give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Quality Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

we would be happy to return here or recommend to friends, good place to stay. One issue is that the swimming pool and sun deck is on the first floor and access is by steep steps with no lift if you have mobility issues this could be a problem

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Las Arenas with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

As you have said, the swimming pool and sun deck is on the first floor and access is by stairs or lift if you have mobility issues. Probably there has been a lack of communication. There is a lift to the pool at the end of the bar salon, in addition to the stairs. If you have any doubt ask the reception.

We say goodbye to you, reiterating our commitment to continue improving to provide a better service and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to upcoming holidays.

Quality Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Love this hotel it's right on the front of the Benalmadena costa the only drawback is the busy main road outside but that doesn't spoil your holiday. The hotel manager when we stayed there was a double for Omar Shariff and I couldn't help staring at him all the time my husband told him what I'd said and he said that his wife thought so too but he would have preferred to be like Brad Pitt lol. The food is really lovely here as are the staff and with plenty of variety. The pool is a nice size and we didn't have to put towels on the sun beds at stupid o'clock in the morning coz there were plenty there. Can't say enough good thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: Side rooms are quieter but they also have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments about our hotel Las Arenas. We work very hard to deliver excellent service for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it.

We appreciate your loyalty and hope you´ll give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Thank you very much for staying with us!!

Quality Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have just returned from this hotel which we have now used on 6 occasions over a period of years. The hotel staff and management are excellent and have never let us down yet.The hotel is spotless with excellent food and extremely efficient and friendly staff. The location is very good with easy access for public transport to all areas of the Costa Del Sol. We travel abroad frequently every year but we will always spend a week here whenever possible. Well done La Arenas.

Room Tip: Try to above 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Las Arenas with us, your wonderful comments about the hotel and our staff is very much appreciated! The staff really does appreciate it when guests write kind words about them and it does help to keep morale high at this busy time of the year.

On the behalf of myself and the entire staff, thank you for sharing your comments and that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards.

Quality Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,958 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Property: Las Arenas Hotel
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing