We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea side gem”
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sea side gem”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Great value, very clean and excellent courteous staff. Good for those with limited mobility and right on the sea front with underground parking.

Breakfast caters for everyone, including gluten free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian etc. a magnificent choice!

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk from the lifts, ask for a room ending in 09. Lifts are nit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Las Arenas.

Thank you for the compliments!! I´m glad to hear that you enjoyed our buffet at the restaurant as it´s a point that we are continuously working on.

I appreciate your taking time to write in about your holiday and am delighted that you would return.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    647
    150
    36
    24
See reviews for
386
1,259
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The photos of this hotel do not do it justice! It is a spacious, clean modern hotel set in a brilliant location. It was out first time to the Costa Del Sol and I am glad we chose this hotel & destination. The food was delicious and you will not leave with an empty stomach!! All the staff are very friendly and attentive. Bus stops in both directions outside hotel, and the beach is literally a hop, skip and jump over the road. I would recommend this hotel especially for those preferring a nice relaxing break.

Room Tip: I would ask for an east facing room so as to get the most of the afternoon sunshine on your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Las Arenas with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

We are very happy to know that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our facilities, restaurants, location and services. Also, we want to thank you for your comments about our staff, our guests are our passion and the most important to us, we work hard to bring you memorable experiences and the best vacation.

I appreciate your taking time to write in about your holiday and am delighted that you would return.


Sincerely yours,

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just returned from our first visit to the The Las Arenas Hotel (16th Feb). These are our "findings". The staff at the Hotel, from the Reception, Cleaning Staff to Restaurant Staff (and of course Richard, Our Rep) had to be the most helpful and cheerful We have come across in a long while. Our room was very clean and had a comfortable bed (any problems mentioned by another reviewer with pillows I'm sure could have been easily sorted by asking at Reception). The Restaurant was also very clean, lovely crisp white table cloths, very efficient staff and the food (both at Breakfast and Dinner) was excellent, plenty choice.
We were very lucky with the weather, so We wanted to explore the Area (by local buses). The Hotel is in a great spot for this, so with no problem at all We visited Malaga, Marbella, Mijas etc and with the Hotel being opposite the beach there is a really nice walk to the Marina. We really enjoyed Our break on The Costa Del Sol. Big Thank You to All the Staff at The Las Arenas .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lindan625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Las Arenas with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

The entire team works very hard and with great enthusiasm to offer our guests the highest level of service and I am certain that they will be greatly encouraged by your positive feedback.

I appreciate your taking time to write in about your holiday and am delighted that you would return.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just arrived back from our first time at this hotel,These are our "findings" Firstly although giving it a 4 * it is probably a 3and a half.
As another reviewer has mentioned,it is on a very busy main road which spoils the terrace somewhat and very few guests spend much time out there. One way to get away from the traffic is to email the hotel direct and ask for a high room...we did this ,we also asked for one on the sunnier side, we got one on 4th floor on the shady side, so one out of two is not bad.
If I may start with the ROOMS....Always spotlesly clean..not huge but adequate the beds were probably the worst factor, very hard and pillows to match,once again I must agree with another reviewer, the towels are deffinately not 4 * more like a 2, very small and threadbare..I also feel that carpets are needed to deaden the noise from heels clacking around the hotel and bedrooms
every word can be heard as they echo through the corridors and walls even speaking in a "normal" tone.
PUBLIC AREAS.....Clean,the bars and lounge areas have what I would call "patio"chairs and NOT very comfortable we had to turn the seat backing down to make a decent amount of "cushion to sit on..There is a large room split into two...half have bar tables and basket chairs
and a large TV to watch any sport...the other half is the lounge /entertainment area, so watching sport AND the entertainment is an option..The pool area certainly needs a lick of paint,it has your usual blue plastic loungers and was FREEZING.but this is FEB.
DINING ROOM.....Far and away one of the best run and organised we have ever been to.The Maitre,de was outstanding along with ALL the dining room staff,very friendly and welcoming
We timed them on a few occasions changing the table and setting it after the diners finished....an average of 60 secs to change linen white tablecloths and lay a complete table, superb.
FOOD......Surprisingly really good, always a very good selection of meats/fish etc,a good salad bar and of course delicious sweets The breakfasts were excellent and always HOT,Because they use smaller containers for the food,it goes quicker and are replaced quicker...simple but effective.
DRINKS....I was pleasantly surprised at the cost of drinks both in the hotel and indeed the area.
pint of local beer around 3 euro and a VERY large local brandy 2.40, the coffe was to die for.In some of the local bars and restaurants a coffe and brandy 1.90 and a pint of San Miguel 1.90
They also have a happy hour in the hotel between 5-6 two for price of one..excellent value.If you like a nightcap ,order a brandy /whisky between 5-6...get 2 take one to your room for later.
After talking to a number of guests we found a great number were returning guests that stay for
a month or more Even though it has its faults I can understand why they return, it is a very friendly hotel who really welcome guests,and seem to cater for "brits"more than anyone.
To eat out there are a number of nice places around,but I recommend a small place called THE LAST RESORT...about 100 yards up the road
ENTERTAINMENT......Over all not bad, there was a quiz or bingo on for 30mnts from 8-30,and then the "main" acts, mainly different guys with a keyboard singing. A MUST SEE is a guy called Ricky and a girl singer Laura...both very good.
RECOMMENDATIONS......Take a pair of foam ear plugs Ideal to keep out traffic noise,and of course any snorer
This was my first time on the Costa del Sol in winter..it wont be my last.

Room Tip: Ask for high room on south or west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slug33ukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is gratifying to know that you have received a very kind and attentive dealing on the part of the whole personnel, fact that I will make known of the whole team. It will be very well received and this encourage them to continue working so well to makegoing things better day by day.

I take note of your comments about the rooms.

We look forward to being able to welcome you again in order to reach your complete satisfaction.

Sincerely yours,

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Chose this holiday as a last minute cheap winter break. We were not disappointed. Excellent food, good choice and something for everybody. Would agree with other reviews that the rooms are not 4 star, towels need to be replaced. Beds were comfortable. Entertainment was mainly good, rikki was brilliant! Not to be missed. Richard the Thomson rep was very attentive and made sure things ran smoothly particularly on departure day. All in all enjoyable break and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thatsawelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Las Arenas with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

I´m delighted that you have pointed out the quality of the buffet and our nightly shows where I have to agree that Ricky is the Best!!!

Once again I am grateful you have shared your experience and we hope see you again the next vacation.

Sincerely yours.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thornton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel sits on a very busy main road. The noise is continuous and impacts on both the sun terrace and the outdoor drinks terrace. The pool and sun terrace are of poor quality with no nice features. The bedrooms and bathrooms are reasonable but offer no star quality. The staff are very nice , friendly and helpful. There was a good choice of food nicely cooked. The hotel is rather dated and in need of a major refurbishment. This is really a 3 star hotel not 4 star. My wife and I enjoyed our stay so do not be put of that the star rating does not reflect its true value

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Las Arenas with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

We are always looking for ways to improve our product and our services; open and honest reviews from our guests is our best way to address areas which need improvement.

We look forward to having you back as our guest in the future and prove you that your feedback is very important to us and we do our best to strenghten the weaker points.

My very best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just returned from our first visit to this hotel. We requested and were given the room of our choice. All the staff from reception to cleaning staff were pleasant and helpful. The food choice was excellent and very tasty. Nightly entertainment was good but would especially like to mention Juan who organised the in-house games, who has a great sense of humour. Could not fault it and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: If travelling during the winter months it is best to request a room on 4th floor or above and not ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ald45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
I would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us.

Our team takes great pride in making your stay as comfortable as posible, and it is nice when customers recognize the effort. I´m delighted that you have pointed out the good disposition of our staff, the quality of the buffet, cleanliness.

I appreciate your taking time to write in about your holiday and am delighted that you would return.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Property: Las Arenas Hotel
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing