We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early sunshine”
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very good hotel ( the only area needing a lot of TLC was the Pool area) but we were busy sight seeing did not need to use it.The food good selection the restaurant staff work very hard.the cleaning staff bar staff and the reception are all good. Plus good weather all week .
Would we stay again thinking September if the prices are comparable .

Room Tip: Rooms above 4th floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hols65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you very much for posting your opinion on tripadvisor about your holidays in our hotel, we are very glad to know that you enjoyed them.

The entire team works very hard and with great enthusiasm to offer our guests the highest level of service and I am certain that they will be greatly encouraged by your positive feedback.

Our best satisfaction is knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that they are looking forward to visit us again.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 2,142 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a disappointment!

I booked this hotel based on the excellent reviews on trip advisor, for my husband's birthday. The hotel is on the main road from Torremolinos to Fuengirola, and has heavy traffic all day and all night.

I emailed in advance, requesting a quiet high floor room - we were given 525, which in March has about 5 minutes sun in the early morning. The balcony was too cold and windy to sit out on, and we asked the receptionist if we could move to a sunnier side of the hotel. She offered us a first floor room on the front of the hotel (without a balcony), a sea view and heavy traffic noise to match - we declined. She gave us the impression that she could not care less about our request.

Room 525 overlooked the pool area and side road of the hotel where the rubbish bins are located. We were woken up at 2.30am by the dustbin men emptying them.

The cleaning staff at the hotel did an excellent job inside, but unfortunately the pool area was not given the same attention. The sun loungers were caked in dried bird poo, and no cushions were provided. The "garden feature" leaked water onto the pool area floor, and guests drinks glasses etc from during the day were still not collected by evening.

The sewage smell in the bedroom corridors was overpowering.

The restaurant food was lukewarm, tasteless and very repetitive. The stampede into the too small dining room was a daily occurrence, with people barging into you to get their favourite table. The dining room was also far too hot (obviously compensating for the not hot enough food!), with no air con or ventilation from windows.

Pickpockets operate in the area around the hotel (including Paloma Park), so please be vigilant.

On a happier note, we had half-price tickets for the cable car from the Thomson rep - we paid 6.40 euro's each for a return ticket. The price at the cable car was 13.25 euro's each, so it was a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LynnR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We apologize we were unable to provide you with a great experience, as it is our goal to provide all of our guests with the best possible hospitality at hotel.

I am sorry to hear you did not find your stay enjoyable and that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We will take note of the points indicates for improvements.

We apologize again and hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Thank you.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

After arriving at this hotel we were allocated a room on the 7th floor,to get to it we had to go up in minute size lift to the first floor,walk all the way across to the other side of the Hotel to another very small lift to the 7th floor.On entering the so called room (not enough room to swing a cat round) we reluctantly unpacked. We decided to retire early because we had been up since 3 am,at about 5-30 in the morning a noise kicked up like a ships funnel, on further investigation I found out it was the kitchen extractor fan which turminated above our room.
The morning after we asked for a move of rooms which they agreed also we informed Thomsons rep and also told him about the lukewarm food they were serving at breakfast.Later that day we got our new room which was overlooking the sea but also the busy main road so needless to say we never got a wink of sleep the second night and on top of that the drains gurgled every 20mins and an foul smell filled the room.The morning after we decided to ask for a move so we asked the rep to oblige but he was useless so we cut our losses and booked into a proper 4 star Hotel at our own expense.This Hotel may have been a 4 star in 1985 but it is more of a 3 star boarding house with a lot of issues .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for the review and I am sorry that you seemed to be disappointed by some aspects of your stay. I can assure you that we take all reviews very seriously and your negative comments are all noted.

I see that you didn't have the best rooms in the house and I hope that we can remedy that in the future.

We apologize again and hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

After reading numerous reviews I'm glad I emailed ahead to request a high floor on the opposite side to the pool. We were given a fourth floor room which was very nice, sun from 2pm until sunset, wish the maid cleaned the room earlier it was after 3pm so made our own beds on a couple of days. As other people have mentioned the restaurant needs some looking at the room is just too small for the number of guests. I particularly disliked the fact that you had to queue in one place for the soup,salad and main meals. Entertainment was what I expected not too my liking but most of the elderly guests seemed to enjoy the singers. The cleaners did a good job the place was immaculate also the waiters and bar staff were very cheerful. My husband and I enjoyed our holiday not sure if we would come back here depends if we could get another good deal from Thomson .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank suzyo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Las Arenas with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

The entire team works very hard and with great enthusiasm to offer our guests the highest level of service and I am certain that they will be greatly encouraged by your positive feedback.

We take note about your comment of the restaurant to improve our service.

We hope you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit to Benalmádena.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

just back from our weeks break hotel is kept very clean could not fault any part off it,rooms are cleaned every day by very pleasant cleaners,think if there is only 2 in room take oit third bed as not enough room to get in wardrobe,on arrival we were given 6th floor we were disappointed as we had e mailed for 3 or 4 with sunny balcony,the chap said to wait an hour and would give us lower floor as i can,t do heights back we went and got 2nd floor pool view it doesnt get much sun hence room was cold at night but didnt bother to ask for another room as only their a week but was very disappointed with this,staff are very pleasant and work hard and are clean and tidy food is very good somehthing for every1,weather was lovely when we were their,richard a good rep we will return to this hotel but out of season.

Room Tip: if you get a pool view you will not get sun in afternoon family rooms at front but you pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for your review. We consider our customers´ feedback very important to improve the service of our hotel.

We will take note of the points indicates for improvements.

Our best satisfaction is knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that they are looking forward to visit us again.

Thank you again!

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked this package deal, through Thomson on line, just 4 weeks before departure and were not sure what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised and the hotel deserves it's 4* rating. Food excellent variety and quality, all rooms clean and well decorated, bar/entertainment area is very nice. All the staff very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
On our arrival we were given a room facing the pool with morning sunshine. But we asked could we change it to the other side, with afternoon sun! (it being mid-March) no problem. We were told it would be an hour or so whilst another room was made ready, so went for lunch. Room was ready on our return.
The entertainment was very good, only one night was poor and other residents thought the same. The place emptied on sunday night when a male duo was on.
We would go back there again, no problem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about Hotel Las Arenas with us. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the vacations.

I´m delighted that you have pointed out the good disposition of our staff, the quality of the buffet, cleanliness.

Our best satisfaction is knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that they are looking forward to visit us again.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Hotel was very clean and tidy the food on the whole was very good.
The bedroom was clean and roomy although the beds were on the hard side.
Entertainment on the whole was reasonable some acts were excellent others ok.
Happy hour was every day from 17.00 to 18.00 two for one.
Pool and out side areas were clean and well cared for.
Location was O.K. but a good walk from the marina.
The best room s were to be found on the opposite side to the pool and high up.
The only down side is the distance from the coach drop off point to the Hotel is approx 200 meters and can be difficult if you suffer from restricted mobility. .

Room Tip: High up opposite side to pool if you like to be in the sun and you have a good view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for your review. We consider our customers´ feedback very important to improve the service of our hotel.

We will take note of the points indicates for improvements.

I am glad to hear that you continue to enjoy your time with us and that we were able to meet your expectations on your stay.

We hope you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit to Benalmádena.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,042 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.6 mi away
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £56 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing