We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks holiday at this hotel. When we arrived we were given a room on floor 1 which was not what we wanted however nice man on reception gave us another room on floor 7 which was brilliant we had a lovely view and would ask for this room again!! The hotel was very good all the staff in the restaurant were all happy and greeted you cheerfully as were the waiters in bar . The food was fine something for everyone However perhaps the salad bar could be put somewhere else because you had to queue even if you didn't want salad that's just a small point. Pool area was ok but the beach was across the road so we went there because the beds were more comfortable, there is no pool bar you go and get drinks from bar.
When we wanted a taxi staff on reception ordered for us which was very helpful. Most guests are couples over 50
We will return to this hotel maybe later this year and hope we find the hotel just as good.
Thank you staff at las arenas.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Las Arenas.

The whole team is so excited that you enjoyed your time with us at Las Arenas and specially that you will "definitely" return again.

We are ever so grateful that you have shared your impressions with us and we just cannot wait to see you back again.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our second visit and once again we had a room with the most terrible smell of sewage.We did not believe it would happen again So we will not return .We where told they have a problem with drains and nothing can be done. The staff where very good. But if you book this hotel you may have to put up with this really terrible smell. We had to buy 3 cans of air spray to freshen the bathroom.

Room Tip: rooms on both sides have terrible smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marion m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very run down from my last visit. staff extremely helpful but in my view over worked. This hotel needs a complete urgent update. The entertainment is nothing compared to other hotels and the selection of foods in the restaurant is of a poor quality and very basic. Glass doors in the bathroom are very dangerous especially for senior guests and rubber mats are a requirement in the bath to prevent accidents. Rooms are clean and bright with good sea views. The only bonus at this hotel is that the beach is directly across the road. Very disappointed from what I had expected, nothing there to entice me back again. Only a taxi is allowed to stop outside of this hotel and coaches do not pick up or drop off at the entrance. One needs to walk a short distance with your luggage to and from the nearby bus stop which is a slight inconvenience.

Room Tip: request a poolside sea view room on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 478tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for the review and I am sorry that you seemed to be a bit disappointed by some aspects of your stay. I can assure you that we take all reviews very seriously and your negative comments are all noted.

Thank you also for the positive comments which were much appreciated.

We apologize again and hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent a week at Las Arenas and were very impressed with the hotel. It was always spotlessly clean with pleasant and helpful staff in all areas. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice and a high standard of cooking . The hotel was well positioned in a flat area of the resort with a lovely bar terrace at the front ideal for relaxing and people watching. Overall nothing was too much trouble and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moogie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review!

The entire team works very hard and with great enthusiasm to offer our guests the highest level of service and I am certain that they will be greatly encouraged by your positive feedback.

We hope you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit to Benalmádena.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

we went to las arenas hotel a couple of years ago.The hotel is in a very good location close to everything (the beach is just across the road).We requested a sea view and a high floor and the hotel staff kindly obliged.All the staff were very helpful and friendly.The food was tasty and plentiful,and the room was clean and spacious We really liked staying at this hotel and would love to go again,Benalmadena is a lovely place and there is plenty to see and do.

Room Tip: if you ask for a particular room they will do everything they can to oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seahorse321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for your review. We consider our customers´ feedback very important to improve the service of our hotel.

Your happiness is our best source of motivation and make us want to improve every day for our customers.

Our team takes great pride in making your stay as comfortable as posible, and it is nice when customers recognize the effort. I´m delighted that you have pointed out the good disposition of our staff, the quality of the buffet, cleanliness.

Thank you for your excellent rating and we look very much forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I'd read the mixed reviews, I emailed the hotel to request a room on a high floor, opposite side to the pool (sunny balcony) and got exactly that. Smooth check-in for starters, you get a card telling you what time breakfast /dinner serve, its not a huge hotel so you can easily find your way to the pool/terrace/dining room, Room size just right, small balcony with 2 chairs & small table. Aircon included in price & you control it. Spacious wardrobe with safe(charge for the key), wooden coat-hangers & no stretch-top or clip-top types, I took extra and glad I did there wouldn't have been enough for us. Wifi access good. I enjoyed the food even though it is a little repetitive. Breakfast = bacon egg etc, cereals, juices, yoghurt, toast machine takes 3 passes to give it any colour, fruit, cold meats, croissants, pastries & cakes - spoiled for choice ! Dinner = soup, breads, great salad bar, fish, meats, stewed or roast meat, pizza, sauces, pasta, paella, potatoes of some kind. For desserts, cake,rice pudd, fresh fruit, cheese/pate crackers, ice-cream, Plenty of choice, something for everyone I feel, you could have 7 courses if you have room. Happy hour (BOGOF) 5-6pm & we found the terrace was empty until 4.50pm. Drinks were reasonable anyway approx 3Euros for pint & 2E's for wine. Entertainment is mainly bingo followed by a singer.There is an info board showing whats on.Bar shuts at 12. Hotel does attract senior citizens but there were guests age 50 ish who had returned to the hotel many times. We had planned to go out & discover the bars of Benalmadena which we did apart from the first night. Hotel is in good condition & very clean. Maid service was excellent, All the staff were friendly and helpful. Pool area is upstairs & was disappointing as there isn't a bar or music. I went up 2 or 3 times mid afternoon & I did get a sunbed, Location is good, across the road to the Paseo (prom) go left where you will find bars/restuarants/some shops & a short walk to the Marina. Marina is very quaint & please be aware prices increase from day to night.Lovely selection of bars/shops/restaurants there. If you walk from hotel on the main road, left will take you to Mullarkeys Music Bar which I would recommend about 15 mins stroll. If you then keep walking upto the pedestrian crossing & turn left, you are on 'Cardiac Hill' which leads to Bonanza Square & many bars that sell food & drink,cheap and cheerful. If you walk straight on at the pedestrian crossing, you will reach 24 hour square for the youngsters only! . i thought it was quiet for May compared to other places I have visited, at the weekend the Paseo & Marina are packed with locals enjoying the resort. Overall its a nice hotel & a great base for exploring the area. Its close to Paloma Park which is beautiful and the windmill roundabout on the main road..It was our first visit to Benalmadena & we would return although we would choose an apartment next time. Average prices for a pint of local beer 1.8 Euros & wine was similar. You can only buy cigarettes around 4.20E's etc from Tobacconist & they are closed Sundays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for posting your opinion on tripadvisor about your holidays in our hotel, we are very glad to know that you enjoyed them.

We take great pride in being located in the heart of Benalmadena Costa and i am very happy you were able to indulge in some of the surroundings like the Paloma Park and Marina Port located a walk away from Las Arenas. And I like knowing that you have enjoyed the buffet. We are all the time improving to have variety and quality.

On the behalf of myself and the entire staff, thank you for sharing your comments and that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards.

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

No doubt some people will ask " how can a simple 4star hotel in Benalmadena be classed as paradise "?. Easy when you have just spent 6 months in the miserable cold and wet weather of Northern England, arrive for 2 weeks in the sun and then throw in a lovely, super clean hotel with good food and very helpful, happy, friendly and hard working staff.
Great location with the beach just across the road, loads of bars and restaurants in easy reach. Bus stops close by so you can travel easily and cheaply to Fuegirola, Torremolinos, Marbella, Mijas and Malaga. Trips to Gibraltar can be booked for average 13euro's.
Have a walk up to Paloma Park or to the fantastic Marina.
Back to the hotel, good entertainment every night with Monday being well worth getting an early seat to look and listen to Ricky Lavazza, Happy hour 5-6pm two drinks for the price of one. Try and book a room not on the pool side for the afternoon sun. Finally book really early with Thompsons to get a good bargain. We will be back again in October for the sixteenth time.

Room Tip: Book early, high floor on west side, not the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 946ALANM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are ever so pleased that you and family had a good time at Las Arenas and that you enjoyed the facilities, the staff, entertainment and the food but most important that you have already decided to come back in a future holiday.

We take great pride in being located in the heart of Benalmadena Costa and i am very happy you were able to indulge in some of the surroundings like the Paloma Park and Marina Port located a walk away from Las Arenas.

We can´t wait to welcome you back!

Thank you again!

Sincerely yours,

Lucía Arruti
Marketing Dptm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £57 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing