We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

stayed in this hotel 29/06/14 to 06/07/14 would just like to say how clean and friendly it was i stayed in room 429 which had a view of the pool and could also see the sea. the location of the hotel is very good we traveled to Mijas, Fuenigola, Torremalinos and also went to Gibralter for the day. The food was fabulous the staff was so friendly and efficient i would hopefully be returning to this hotel soon thank you for a good holiday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Short but Sweet !!! Thank you very much Jo for sharing with us your experience at Las Arenas Hotel,

We are very pleased that you have found the food to be fabulous and we cannot wait to welcome you back in a future holiday.

Please, do not hesitate to contac us if you have any queries or have any preferences during your stay before arrival.

Very Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Hotel Las Arenas****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    634
    146
    35
    24
See reviews for
376
1,230
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

first time here thought this is a good hotel loads of people were raveing about it. But it was not that good ok the food was nice. and fair does the hotel was spotless the cleaners are a credit to the hotel.location is good for getting about went to mijas nice little town where we found a little gem called the lemon tree cafe you must go there if you go to mijas as the food was great.Also if you come out of the hotel and turn right walk up the road till you come to Mcdonalds turn right walk up a 100yards or so and you will come to friends bar again the food is spot on all fresh none of this frozzen muck.But i must warn you i think the only thing wrong about this hotel there seems to be 1 rule for british guests and 1 for spanish guests and at the end of the day we are all paying to stop here. would i go back probley not.

Room Tip: rooms on the front get a great sea view we were on the side on the 3rd floor could see the sea also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community and given me the opportunity to answer your review.

I have always said to my staff, it is not important whether to be right or wrong. When a guest complains about the hotel, the very fact that the guest is complainning is, for us, an indication that we were unable to meet the needs of that guest and for this I am Sorry.

Having said this, it is necessary to analyse the essence of your complaint:

. - In regards to having one rule for the Brittish and one rule for the Spanish, this can be ascertained by the numerous comments we have received until today. Comments which show a high level of satisfaction when it comes to service and assistance. These comments come from the 90% of our customers, that surprisingly enough are Brittish.

I would like to welcome the TripAdvisor community to draw their own conclusions.

Best wishes,

Soraya Brown
Hotel Las Arenas****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the las arenas however the hotel is a slightly a mixed bag of good and bad points.
We travelled as a family and therefore had two rooms. One of these was a sea view room also overlooking the main road. We stayed in this room however for some the traffic noise may be a problem. The other room was a side sea view room over looking a nearby building.
The rooms were clean and of a good standard with enough storage. The beds were slightly on the hard side for me but didn't bother other members of our group.
Other reviewers have mentioned a sewage smell and I must admit a few times during the week there was a sewage smell by the steps to the pool area so rooms near this vicinity may experience this. We did not smell sewage in our rooms. We also came across the sewage smell in various place across the resort.
Another reason for giving Las Arenas an average rating was finding a cockroach in the room which we managed to capture, when I took this down to the night receptionist they struggled to understand at first what it was, then seemed nonplussed, I had to ask for some spray and with my basic spanish managed to decipher how to use it-I feel the receptionist should have given instructions regarding keeping the room ventilated after spraying etc, This spray was kept on reception and I saw it on the cleaners trolley and smelled it a few times, Make your own mind up how bothered you are by cockroaches! When we last stayed in the costa del sol we found one in our room them- maybe its a problem for the area.
A further reason to the average rating is the noise. The traffic noise did not bother me- however noise travelled along the corridors and we could hear children in the other room crying at night. One night the child crying woke a member of our party a few rooms away. Other members of the party commented on hearing people talking loudly in the rooms next to them. The noise didn't make us sleep deprived but we did have unsettled nights. You can also hear toilets being flushed in other rooms. At the front of the hotel a lot of the rooms are located on/ close to the stairwell so people passing can also cause disruption.
The air conditioning was excellent kept the rooms lovelt and cool when needed. We also didn't smell any smoke in our room which does happen in some hotels.
If they sorted our the noise and cockroach issue then the hotel would have received a very good rating.
On to the positives- as a family we enjoyed the entertainment although not always to each of our tastes we could recognise each act was of good quality as a group we all enjoyed different acts,
The pool area was compact, sometimes we did have to wait for a bed and I am sorry to say it is the British who are now gold medallists in sun bed reserving. The main pool was a bit shocking when you first go in but you do acclimatise if you swim, it isn't a pool you can laze in. There is a smaller pool for children to splash which is "warmer".
The food was always plentiful and replenished quickly and there was something to suit everyone. The accompaniments didn't always match to the mains e,g, curry but no rice etc. The food was warm to hot depending what time you went in. I found it was best to wait a few mins after the restaurant first opens to get the hot food. At peak times you did have to queue but this didn't bother us. The pudding selection was satisfactory but could have done with more variety. We found the ice cream sold at the bar very nice. The bar menu was ok but a bit boring for non alcoholic drinkers who want to avoid a large intake of sugar but this seems an issue everywhere.
Except for the young man on the reception at night we found all the staff hard working, polite and helpful.
I would say this is hotel for older guests as there are not much activities for young guests but if you can create your own entertainment/keep your child entertained this hotel is worth considering. For the price I paid I would possibly stay here again but request a specific room which I believe they do try to meet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, I must kindly ask you to accept my most sincere apologies for not having been able to satisfy all your expectations and needs. Our client´s satisfaction is always our main priority so it is very disappointing for us to know that you did not enjoy all aspects of your holiday with us.

Furthermore, I do appreciate that you have informed us about the deficiencies you have noticed during your stay. I should inform that we do take in account all the items you have mentioned on your review.
As a result of that, the Management and Quality Department of the hotel are analysing all the points and taking the pertinent corrective measures in order to improve our Quality Service.

Finally, I am very pleased that apart from the incidents experienced you have enjoyed your holiday and as you mentioned you would trust us again from choosing us for a holiday destination.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us should you have any preferences on a particular room prior arrival.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Hotel Las Arenas****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

just returned from 7 night break at las arenas, picked hotel for a much needed holiday after having heart surgery a few months ago .hotel was as on a busy road but caused no problems the terrace was a nice place to sit and watch the world go by .rooms were spotless and comfortable food plentiful and lots of choice even for the pickiest people. the prom was flat so ideal to walk along to the marina and onto torremolinos. also enjoyed the park up behind the hotel.i e mailed the hotel to ask for a room with afternoon sun and that's what we got thanks to hotel So my advice is ignore the complainers and book hotel las arenas

Room Tip: request a room not overlooking the pool they get afternoon sun also high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakeysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback regarding the standard of cleanliness to our housekeepers.
It really made my day reading your comment, after a delicate operation a nice and relaxing break is all you need; and that´s exactly what you have experienced with us.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back in a near future and please, do not hesitate to contact us again with your preferences so we can do everything we possibly can to meet them.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Hotel Las Arenas****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had a week in rm 506, fab views out to sea and up and down main road....only it was THE main road thru the area. Traffic was non stop.
Hotel was clean and food fine, good selection.
On the down side it was mainly elderly visitors, ones who came back year after year, sometimes twice a year.Entertainment to suit !
Would I return? Maybe in a few years time.
Pubs going towards the Marina are ok, yes they are trying to get u in, just say no,

oh, a heads up, we booked with Thomsons, late deal, gave us 15 kg luggage... but flying with Jet2.
Thomsons asked us if we wanted to buy extra weight, cheeky.....Jet2 were allowing us 22kg !!

Room Tip: Choose the back of the hotel !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grumpy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for your nice words, even if we didn’t deserve your 5 star rating, all feedbacks means a lot to Las Arena´s team.
As you well mentioned on your review the traffic in this city as any other touristic place during the months of July and August is quite annoying at times, therefore should you consider visiting us again let us know your preferences so we may address your needs before arrival.

We truly value your opinion and hope to welcome you back in the future. I remain at your disposal if I can ever be of any assistance.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Hotel Las Arenas****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at las arenas for a week I have to say we where pleasantly surprised the location is great nice & flat , the food was brilliant no yak oil on the food always fresh and hot , the only down side is the pool it's not much of a pool very small . This hotel seems very popular with the older guests as we in our 40s and felt we where one of the youngest there not as we minded . The hotel had a nice calm atmosphere and was very clean we would defiantly stay there again . Just a stone throw from a lovely sandy beach .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shazzypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Las Arenas Hotel.
We focus in making every guest stay, a memorable one. We appreciate your comments on our Hotel, certainly they encourage us to keep improving every day.

Hoping to have you back at Las Arenas *** in the near future, please receive our Warmest Regards.

Soraya Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Las Arenas proved itself to be as good as all its reviews. Arrived on 27th June, room was ready and spotless. We requested extra pillows and they were there in 10 minutes. Had a bit of a smell of drains in the room so reported this to reception. A maintenance man arrived, sanitised all the drains in the room and problem solved. Food in the restaurant was excellent, always hot and plenty of it. Restaurant staff were always very attentive and the coffee at breakfast was to die for. We had requested a higher floor room with sun in the afternoon by e-mail before we left the UK. We were given exactly what we asked for. Hotel is very disabled friendly for those that needed it, ramps everywhere and plenty of lifts. Pool area, though not huge, was adequate and the pool was very refreshing. No problems with people reserving beds then disappearing for the day. The Thompsons rep was there every day but didn't make much of an effort to mix with guests nor promote trips. Not one of the best reps we have meet but didn't cause us an issue. We used the local "noddy train" most evenings. Great for getting to the marina which is well worth several visits. The round trip on the train is 4 euros return each and the ride is about an hour in length. Also, go in the cable car from Tivoli World. You get a great view all over the area from on top of the mountains. Would recommend this hotel for all age groups, could not fault any area of it. The management should be very proud of all their staff, they were excellent. Will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: High rooms, with the sun in the afternoon are best. We were in 418
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Las Arenas Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, and for recommending us with all Trip Advisor readers.

Also for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our location, facilities and atmosphere, the food & drinks quality encountered, and the outstanding service provided by our staff members, who always attended to your needs.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon and have another opportunity to pamper you with our service creating another experience to remember.

Very Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Hotel Las Arenas****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Property: Las Arenas Hotel
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing