We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter sun”
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Many reviews have extolled the virtues of the Las Arenas and before I start the review I’d like to say that I would return to this resort and this hotel, but, I’m going to caste a critical eye over the Las Arenas and the surrounding area.

Location: situated on the main road asking for a full sea view might be a mistake for those seeking a relaxing night time experience. Much better to ask for a high room facing Fuengirola, slightly less traffic noise and sun in the afternoon. Beach is across the main road and the Paseo Maratimo leading to the marina is close to hand. The Parque de la Paloma is situated up a hill a short walk behind the hotel, you’ll also see a small supermarket directly behind the hotel. Generally the location is amongst the better in Benalmadena, far enough away from the main town but close enough to walk anywhere.

Hotel: the Las Arenas used to be a two star establishment, this may be reflected in the quality of the room. Walls are thin and you will hear your neighbor snoring at night or people moving around with shoes on above, below and next door to you. The rooms are equipped with a fridge but do not expect it to be able to chill that nice bottle of Chablis to the correct temperature. It was enough to make the water a little cooler than the ambient temp. Rooms have retro fitted aircon but this has no temp control, it’s on or it’s off. Not good enough for hot summer months one would imagine. En suite is adequate for the job but ventilation is an issue, steam from the shower (and other things) do not clear readily. Beds are comfortable but because of the plastic mattress coverings can cause one to sweat in the middle of the night.

Public areas are clean and well kept. The main bar does allow smoking but it is restricted to a section near the large patio doors. Drinks prices are well within reason for a hotel and a “happy hour” (5-6) can ease the pain.

Food: we stayed half board. Breakfast: as one would expect with a mainly UK clientele the morning offerings included a cooked option. Dinner: again aimed more towards providing the British with a feel of Spain rather than the authentic.

A word about the food. It was hot and turned over on regular occasions, but I did feel that it was a bit, well, samey. I’d worked out by the third day what would be on offer. Dessert offerings didn’t seem to change much and mains seemed to rotate through a list of favorites. But it was still good, although the chef changed Friday and the breakfast quality/choice went downhill for the last couple of days.

Out and about: locally, avoid British bars they are invariably over priced and service not equal to Spanish owned places. The offers may look good but all that offers 2 for 1 may have a catch.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kissmygaseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,754 - 1,760 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2009

This is a brilliant hotel. Clean, spacious, very welcoming staff, plenty of hot, fresh food for meals to suit every taste, rooms were airy and had a balcony with wonderful views (ask for 'sunny side'). BBC1 was a bonus!!! The restaurant staff were excellent. Happy hour from 5 - 6 where you can have 2 drinks for the price of 1 (we didn't realise that meant each!!); Wi-fi available in Reception/Bar areas. Plenty of comfortable seating where you weren't hassled for drinks (like in many Spanish hotels). Although we didn't use the pool it looked lovely with lots of sunbeds around it. I would recommend this hotel as it's probably one of the best 4* we've stayed in.

Beach opposite is wonderful - you can walk to the Marina and beyond through La Caruhuela to Torremolinos (although it was several miles, we did!). Walk up through la Paloma Park to Arroyo de la Miel to the train station to Fuengirola and Malaga for around 3 euros return. Hotel is on a bus route - plentiful buses to Fuengirola and Torremolinos (and further afield if you want to sit on a bus for 3 hours!) for less than 2 euros each way. Local beach cafes have lots of offers at this time of year including a pint for 1 euro 50 and coffee/brandy for 2 euros.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyJoJo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

It was an absolute relaxation type of holiday for me and my mum. As you might have read before, this hotel is quiet - you wouldn't see too many young people, I think, I was one of the youngest at 27 but, as I said, it was everything we wanted: relaxing atmosphere, really good food. At the beginning, I wasn't too sure that it was a good idea to take the half board till the first dinnertime :) (I mean, there are many restaurants around but it was just enough to drop in for a beer with some delicious fish snack during lunch or evening promenade) This is a Resort, so it's also quite expensive to go out for a dinner every night.

Cleanliness - perfectly clean rooms. housekeeping staff has no english but helpful if you manage to explain what you want, except for one incident at the beginning: one of the housekeepers was too anxious to get started with our room and was a bit rude but we found a common language at the end and she never disturbed us again;

Service - No complains. Receptionists were a bit reserved but helpful if you exactly knew what you want to ask. The waiting staff was great - enthusiastic and proactive;

Rooms - Good size and we had a great view from the balcony, had all standard facilities except for the bathrobes and slippers and during last 4 days of our stay, there was a very unpleasant and annoying smell coming from the bathroom :(

Location - right in the middle of the resort but can be a bit too noisy for some, as it is situated on the main road but it didn't bother us at all, as we were falling off our feet at the end of each day - there are quite a few things to do around Benalmadena and you also can take a bus to the nearby towns like Fuengirola. Also, hotel organises trips to Granada, Cordoba & Sevilla (check for the dates at your arrival)

Value - Reasonable;

Would certainly stay in this hotel again but don't think I would be coming to Benalmadena again - we had a great time and a good rest but once is enough.

Didn't use much of a swimming pool, as the sea is right in front of the hotel but I guess, it was ok but nothing special.
Went only once to see the evening "show" - again - it was ok but nothing special.

Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaidaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Stayed for the second time and it was every bit as good as the first, you cannot fault this hotel. Staff are excellant in every dept , very smartly dressed and very friendly, rooms are spotless,towels changed everyday,and soft. food is first class and well cooked. plenty choice and always piping hot. staff are always quick to refiil trays etc.nothing is too much bother for the staff. The hotel is across the road from the beach and bus stops a few yards away from the hotel. you couldnt ask for anything better. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mairsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

The hotel has such an ideal location, it can't go wrong. The road is busy but the traffic lights are very good, and the beach is so clean it's well worth crossing the road!
The rooms were very clean, there was plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meals.
We didn't really like the pool, but with everything else so good it didn't really matter.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

we stayed for 2weeks at las arenas, we requested high floor and got exactly what we asked for,the sun shone in our balcony from lunch time till sunset .buffet at breakfast and dinner was excellant!! rooms were spotless with clean towels daily.there is small fridge in room,great for chilling wine (and water!!!!!) would not hesitate to go back. bar prices are high but plenty bars nearby with much less pricey drink!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank padAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

This is a brilliant hotel to stay in Benalmadena. We had booked a 4 night break but when we arrived at the hotel we were told there was no room for us,they booked us a taxi that took us to another 4 star hotel but we weren't impressed with it at all.
Las Arenas had room ready for us next morning and we weren't disappointed when we got there, and room was lovely overlooking pool ,reception staff very pleasant food was excellent great selection.
All in all had great time we were a bit cross when we heard theyd no room as id booked it 5 months ago and it was a surprise holiday for my hubbys 40th birthday but when we got there it was worth it!!!
Looking forward to next time would have no hesitation in returning in fact we can't wait!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,879 reviews
0.6 mi away
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £56 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing