We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The hotel was a very pleasant surprise. The room we had was overlooking the pool (423) and although we did not get much sun on the balcony we did have a good view of the sea and "bil bil Castle". The food was of good standard and the staff very friendly. We took a bus from just to the right outside the hotel into Fuengerola, the fare was 1.40euros each - which took us to the bus station, where we were able to look round all the shops. The hotel is in a great position,as you only have to cross the road and a short walk takes you to the promenade, where you can walk to the marina in about twenty minutes. There are lots of cafebars along the way to est your weary feet. We will certainly be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bankies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,682 - 1,688 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2011

Room 210.
Stayed here 23rd January for one week and really enjoyed the hotel. All the good comments I had read about the hotel I can agree with. Excellent location, although the busy 24/7 road outside can be a bit intrusive especially if you are a light sleeper.

The rooms although not over large are perfectly adequate, so too are the bathrooms,the main point is they are very clean. All furnishings looked in good condition, I particularly liked the glass tops on the dressing unit and the bedside tables. Mirrored wardrobes with plenty of storage space. Plenty of clean linens and towels changed at regular intervals.

The food was good, always something to suit most palates. We left the hotel on our last day an hour before the restaurant opened but because we had requested an early breakfast it was opened up just for the two of us and a full selection (except full English) was available.

The public rooms are charming and beautifully decorated.

The evening entertainment was good, there were two bar/lounges so if you didn't want the entertainment there was always somewhere to sit. There was a daytime entertainment program too so that if the weather was not good there was no need to venture out.

As most people comment, the staff were very good, polite, helpful and cheerful.

The hotel is about a mile along the promenade from the Marina which is nice to visit with plenty of cafes bars and shops along the way. Buses run either along the coast to Torremolinos in one direction or Fuengirola the other from a stop about 100 metres away from the hotel.

For supplies such as water, beer and milk there is a mini market immediately behind the hotel. Further afield up the same road through the charming Paloma Park exiting at the top gate and further up the hill is a large supermarket for anyhing else you could wish for.

The only slight criticism I have of the particular room we stayed in was the fact that it was overlooked by the office building next door, floors higher than the second would be OK. There was no view to speak of only a side view of the sea and the office workers could look straight into our room. The window would benefit from a net curtain. Also right outside this building and shining straight into this room was a large bright street light. No problem if you wanted the curtains closed but if you wanted fresh air from the open balcony door rather than AC it was.

We will return to this hotel and go equipped with an eye mask and earplugs then it will be fine.

All points considered I would recommend this hotel and definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SENORAWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed for a week after having an op in the nearby hospital

Room was nice n clean, one downside was state have sky tv, they only have bbc1 & sky news, Walls r also thin as could hear guy snoring next door

Food nice but not much choice.
Staff really friendly and were very helpful in my recuperation

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twistedminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Food was not that good...much of it very over cooked. Although there was water at breakfast they charged €1.50 for a small bottle of water in the evening...making a huge profit. Plus no coffee available in the restaurant after your evening meal, you had to go to the bar to buy one. Staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Stayed at Las Arenas over Christmas & New Year. Wow! We had a brilliant time. Most of the guests were returners and we could see why - the staff were there to please you 24/7. The Gala Meals were first class and the rest of the holiday the buffet meals were to a very good standard. The hotel is an excellent position for the local buses - from Marbella to Malaga to Mijas. All well worth visiting and very reasonable too. The beach was literally across the road and the lovely promenade/park were both less than five minutes walk away. Lots of local bars, cafes, etc. and prices were good. A great choice for a winter break.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bentleybantams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

we arrived at hotel about mid day. although not much to look at from the outside, it had a real feel of quality once inside.
check in was simple, and we were soon in our room, which was at the side of the hotel with a sea and marina view, and overlooking bil bil casle. the room was a decent size and the bathroom was large.the décor was fine and we had no complaints.
the food was a slight disappointment, we had read so many good reports on trip advisor and think maybe our expectations were to high. we never went hungry and most of the food was of decent quality, if a little on the cool side. there was a microwave for guests to use and this was fine.
the staff in the hotel were lovely especially the dinning room staff, all were friendly.
we went for a quiet winter break and thats what we got. we had four days of sunny warm weather then a few mixed day's, a result we thought. the guests in the hotel are mostly older people and could not have been nicer, my daughter loved them all.
we like to go out for a drink at night, but found a lot of bars closed at this time of year. however we did find two good bars ( friends and the belfry ).
we would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again, and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilfred2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Stayed for New Year period. and must agree with Happywanderer, due to facilities on offer this is more a 3* Usually 4* has indoor pool or extra facilities.
The staff were great, rooms pleasant, service very good, but my disappointment was the restaurant. The choice of food was very poor. Not a lot of dishes on offer at all. We had the same sweets on offer for 3 nights running! and not a great choice more main meals. Salad bar the same poor choice. So those people who say fantastic choice, maybe they havnt experienced a hotel with an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carol55Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £57 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing