We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rampant Vommitting Bug Here”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Facilities great especially for kids. Unfortunately there is a violent vommitting/diarohea bug in the complex. First choice deny it. Every second family had a similar story. Two of our 3 kids were hospitalised, one overnight for gastro. "Noro" bug is in hotel. My wife and 3 kids spent week 2 vommitting, etc. Ruined whole holiday. Hotel mgt admit there is a "small" problem. Its a dangerous place for kids from this point of view. No credible proactive measures being taken by first choice or hotel to control the bug.

Room Tip: Cleaner on weekdays was great. Weekend cleaner was lazy and very grumpy. Room half cleaned on week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FPT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,238 - 2,244 of 2,744 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

We went all inclusive here for 1 week in July and on arrival thought the hotel looked brilliant, nice and clean. The apartment was spacious and clean, but on the 2nd day our daughter got poorly and then my partner and then me so we only had 2 days when we were ok to use the facilities.We are not sure what made us ill but a few other people were also ill so we think there was something going around, The food was below average for a 4 star and I am a vegetarian and there was hardly anything for me. The meat was also under cooked.

The pool areas are lovely but there are not enough sunbeds to cater for everyone.

Our Daughter is 2 and did not feel there was enough stuff geared towards this age group, there is a creche there but it was too young for our daughter and a lot of the toys in there didnt work or were broken.

Overall we would not go back and I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerryannwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed here 28/06-05/07 with our 10 and 7 year old.
I've never written a review before but after reading all the negative ones I nearly cancelled our holiday and so glad that we didn't.
We arrived at approximately 10am and check- in took about 5mins, we then went went straight to our room. We paid extra for a select room, fab views. Didn't get the tea and coffee and after asking 3 times we gave up and helped ourselves to some from the restaurant!
The room was nice, cleaned every day,sheets changed etc. Didn't have any nasty smells or pidgeon poo as I had previously read about.
The food in restaurant was lovely, lots to choose from and freshly made omelettes and back bacon every morning whilst you waited and same again in the evenings with good quality steak etc.
food over at the beach club was also good, lots of lovely salads.
The snack bar ( salads,burgers,hotdogs,chips,nuggets,fresh fruit,yoghurts etc) at the pool
was good too, there was a member of staff constantly topping it all up with freshly cooked
food and generally keeping it all clean.
All the pools were brill and there was always beds available throughout the day, despite people reserving them at stupid o clock.
All the sun beds were jet washed each day,the bins around the pools were emptied all the time but lots of people couldn't be bothered to use them and left plates full of food next to their sun beds and then moaned about the pidgeons, probably the same people that couldn't be bothered to put swim nappies on their babies then moan when the pool had to close all afternoon! The life guards were good but it was a shame they closed the pools so early. Clean towels were available every day from the lifeguards with the vouchers that you
get when you first check-in.
The entertainment was brilliant, all the staff worked do hard day and night.
My kids only wanted to go to the chocolate party (4 euros each) and they had a fab time but the other activities looked brill, all the other kids looked like they were having a ball!
We had a really good holiday but probably wouldn't go back but that's only because we like to visit different places so please don't be put off by all the bad reviews, I often wondered if we were staying at a different hotel to the one described by so many people on here.
If you do fancy something different, we went into the marina one night and ate at a lovely place called pinoccios lounge bar, food was amazing and stupidly cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PaddingtonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Myself, partner, 3 children and in-laws (11 of us in total, 5 kids) stayed in this hotel from 12th-19th June 2011 and could not fault it. Apart from on arrival, it took over 6 hours to get our 2 free bottles water put into our fridge and someone to help us work out how to erect the sofa bed as a few straps were missing!!!!!!!! I had the sickness bug on the second day and although it knocked me for 6 it did not ruin my holiday! The kids had a totally fantastic time, we were able to put my 2.5 yr old and 1 yr old in the creche which gave us a break! Food was fine, beach club was excellent! Would recommend the Mexican, yum and massive portions! Italian was a bit bog standard and service was slow! Wish we'd stayed 10 days! Reps were totally great and there was always something to do! I was very sceptical after reading some reviews on here! Rooms could do with a wee bit of updating but all in all it was a great week!!! Will definitely do a holiday village again!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sambo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We went here on the 21st June 2011,we did have 2nd thoughts after reading some reviews,but there was nothing to worry about the place is great,the food was lovely with lots of choice if anybody says there wasnt enough choice there is something wrong with them.The staff in the hotel are lovely and work so hard to make sure everything is right for you,the entertainment staff do an excellent job,dixey,dave,becky,richard and the new girl was good,louise and lisa were really lovely and so cheerful and helpful hope to meet them again sometime,we took our grandchildren 13 & 10 they really enjoyed it the kids clubs r a must,the beach club is excellent,the good thing u dont need to take towels u can get them there we didnt have to put a deposit down and was allowed to change them when u wanted,we would defo go back and jayne who is part of the holiday vacation club is lovely and she talked us into looking round the Polynesia hotel it was gorgeous no pressure on u but we got a late check out room for free and the kids got 10 euro each and a free ring at beach club.So i would defo reccommend this place to all.My only criticism would be the rooms need updating but thats it was a brill holiday.

Room Tip: we had room 059 overlooked the sea and crazy golf,1st fllor it was great very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ironing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here for 10 nights all inclusive. Our party consisted of 2 adults and 2 children (2 & 6). Accomodation was excellent and pools were fab. Especially liking the beach club. After finding our way around (never having been all inclusive before) we had a fantastic holiday. The entertainment staff were brilliant and kept us entertained all evening. We never used the kids clubs but saw lots of children in them looking very happy. The only downside was this hotel is not really near anything and so you need to get taxis if you want to explore. We did walk to Ferngirola beach a couple of time which is about 15 minutes walk but is very quite and nice for kids (shallow waters). My children are quite fussy eaters and so I struggled to find them a variety to eat but Me and my husband thought the food was lovely. Would definetly not rule our going back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank busymum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We (40, 40, 16, 13, 10) are just back from 10 days at the Holiday Village and we were very impressed. There is lots going on activity wise and if sunbathing isnt your thing you can be kept busy all day long doing bowl, french bowls, archery and various other pool games. The food is excellent and the best all inclusive food i have tasted in 4 years. the only thing is its very much geared towards 14 and under. the beach club was lovely but we stayed mostly round the hotel pool. downside was the pool was shut 2 days because someone let their child poo in the pool.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gail71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,903 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
3.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,356 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Address: Avenida del Sol | P.k. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £54 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing