We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ill!”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ill!”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

we went here from the 3rd to the 10th me my 1 year old and boyfreind stayed here i wouldnt go back again found rooms dirty not cleaned every day! took ages to check in to be told we couldnt have a room till another 3 hours!!!! they say all inclusive but be prepared to still have to pay for things! we visited the mexican restaurant they didnt have half the things on the menu and what they did have wasnt nice! myself and my son came down with the sickness bug that seems to be going round! didnt seem to have much for younger children all in all couldnt wait to get home!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikilufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    932
    467
    203
    124
See reviews for
2,027
177
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Although this hotel is advertised as a First Choice Holiday Village RCI operate aggressively in this hotel. We witnessed families who had just arrived being approached with the offer of late checkouts and pool rings (we have the photos to prove it).

The wave pool if very, very, very dangerous. There are 3 giant 'wrecking balls' (yes I did say wrecking balls - solid concrete and massive) chained to the floor of the pool which make the water really choppy. DO NOT GET OFF THE RING whatever you do. We saw lots of people rescued by the excellent life guards but wonder if there have been any deaths?

And yes there was poo in the pools (not baby) - once in the water park and twice in the hotel pool. We were only there for a week. A family we had spoken to who had been before said it happens every week.

We nicknamed it The Prison - thats what it looks like inside. Needs shutdown and re-done up.

The reps were very good and worked hard and the hotel staff were good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We arrived 1st july [have a pen handy]we filled our forms out on way to resort. there were 7 of us.3 kids 15 13 and 9.we arrived at 11 in the morning and were by the pool at 11.30. staff are very friendly and can,t do enough for you the first choice reps are based there as well and are on hand 24hrs. The food is very good in the resturant can,t say that about snack bar especially if ulike burgers hotdogs chips and toasties as its the same menu everyday. BEWAREif u order anything different from the menu you will have 2 pay. The pool is great for everyone yes the pool shuts at 6 but oviousley the life guards shift has finished. the reps are great with the kids at the pool there are different activities for the kids [swimming lessons,snorkling lifeguard lessons etc] There is astro turf all round the pool which is great for everyone as no one can slip. Now for the sickness bug its down to basic hygiene there are 2 hand gel dispensers out side the dinning room we never saw any one use them. we would definetley go back next year and would recommend the hoilday village .

Room Tip: we were in room 432 and 320 rooms are spacious and cleaned everyday
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theboss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull england
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I can honestly say this was the best holiday i have ever been on (i am now 25 and been holidaying since i was 9months old). The staff and Entertainment team made our holiday 1 to remember.

Check in : On arrival we had a quick check in but they didnt have our room ready for another hour, luckily we were travelling with another family and 1 room was ready so we waited in there room.
Food : While we waited we got our 1st taste of the snack bar buffet which consists of : chips,burgers,hotdogs,pasta,toasties(which were lovely),chicken nuggets and pizza.This is a little bit repetitive as it is every day (but u do have the option to go over to the main restaurant over the bridge at the beach club so cant really moan about it.)The food in the restaurant at the beach club was a bit similar to that at the hotel on a night but plenty of choice for people willing to try new things or burgers,,hotdogs, chips on tap for people who aren't. The salad bar is amazing so even people wanting to eat healthily wont have a problem.
Breakfast was defiantely the meal i feel if people moan about theyre just the typical moaning type. There was a full english breakfast buffet consisting of everything u could think of including hash browns,black pudding,beans(not the cheap type bcoz i wouldnt of eaten them),mushrooms,friend potatoes,fried bread, eggs in all forms possible.An omlette chef there to make them as u wish and back bacon fresh off the grill. Then there was a fruit table with all types of fruit and yoghurts, dried fruits ie prunes,apricots.A pastry and cereal table which again had a selection no one could moan about. The list was never ending.
The evening meals took a little getting used to as they were things my partner especially wouldnt eat at home but u have to get into the mentalilty of trying new things and if you dont like it get something else. After the 1st night we made sure we looked at what was on there first before starting in the queue otherwise u end up having lots of random things on your plate. Kids are very well catered for as they have the usual chicken nuggets,fish fingers,chips,hotdogs.My son is not a great lover of these so he tried lots of new things. They even have a ice cream station which he loved. Pudding/deserts were amazing aswell, i tried to stay away alot of the time as they most probably held a million calories but the lemon cheesecake was definately a winner. All in all 10/10. You can also use the mexican and italian restaurant once during your stay. The mexican starters were all impressive but the mains seemed to go abit down hill but it depends what you get. The italian on the other hand was gorgeous my pasta dish was beautiful and the pizzas were different from the ones on the daily buffet (which was what i was expecting).When you had finished you could even take them away in a pizza box and cartons which came in handy for the hotel room.

Rooms: When we eventually got into our room we were more than happy with the cleanliness and size of the room. We had a full functioning kitchen which we didnt expect being all inclusive, a massive bathroom with 2 wash basins, a bath with shower and another cubicle shower. The bedrooms were very modern with ample storage.And the sofa bed was brand new along with the curtains. My friends sofa was a little worse for wear but not dirty or smelly. We had a pool view 1st floor room which was amazing and the glass perspex wall meant my little boy didnt have to climb up to see the views.

Pools: Oh My God!!! We were blown away by the place. the kids jumped straight in to the nearest pool ( which happened to be the pirate ship 1) and we easily found loungers. We never had a problem finding any loungers although the place was packed out. The pools were endless and we were still finding pool areas up at the top of the complex 2 days before we left. The actual hotel pool is just as exciting as the beach club as there is entertainment going on all day everyday. The men were more than happy taking part in water polo and french boules everyday, they even did daily poker aswell as the all famous Choco latte / 5live dance which im sure you'l pick up in no time. kids clubs from 9am - 11pm everyday but my son wouldnt go in them :(.

Entertainment: A massive thank you to Dixie, Becky, Rich, Dave and the new comer charly who were absolutely amazing. And that is no understatement!!!!! The shows differed every night in our 11 day stay and us adults and the kids were entertained all night til 11pm. They all have pure talent in entertaining people and are an asset to first choice. Our holiday would not of been the same without them. Thanks Guys!! They had kids club all day everyday, shreks swamp party by the pool ( a favourite of the kids), tramploines, bouncy castles, motorbikes, swimming lessons (at a fee of 36 euros) done by charlie and 2 others. The list goes on.

Location : Not fantastic but you really dont need to leave the complex. You need to take a 15 min bus ride to get into Benelmadena,fuengirola and Torremonilos were you'l find the usual shops, harbour (which is lovely), and the famous mcdonalds (haha). First choice was good at letting us know which buses to use as theres someone on the hotel doors daily to give out the info.

I couldnt recommend the holiday enough. We will no doubt be visiting the hotel again and will be making our way around all the different holiday villages.

Room Tip: Pool view definatley as the other view is a mountain/railway track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucyk6004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Just back from a two week holiday at Holiday Village and had a great time! I have never written a review before but felt I had to on this occasion as reviews on this page had us seriously worried before our trip!

We arrived at holiday village late just before midnight! Check in was simple and quick as it was late but I know on some occasions, people need to wait a while on their room! This is because of the quick turnaround on busier days! I would not complain on waiting tho as I'd rather ensure the room was being cleaned! Don't forget this can happen at hotels in the UK and Ireland as well if you arrive early afternoon!

We had initially booked self catering but upgraded on arrival! This costs approx £40 per adult pet day and £23 per child! If you upgrade on your first day you can get an extra 10per cent discount!
I would recommend all inclusive as the hotel isn't really convenient to proper supermarkets unless you jump on the bus!!
You can order snacks from the pool bar and book into the Italian and Mexican at nights if you are self
catering tho! And then jump on the bus or take a taxi to benalmadena for dinner if ya wAnt to get out and about!

The all inclusive food is definitely of 4 star quality! The buffet restaurant in the hotel serves breakfast and dinner and then a buffet lunch is served in the restaurant in Beach Club restaurant! Some people don't seem to be aware of the buffet lunch and just eat the pool snacks which is really just chips, pasta, burgers, toasties, hotdogs etc!!
There is ample amount of dishes to choose from at the buffets and I would say that some peole lack the ability to create a meal from the range available and so choose to moan about what there is to choose from!! These same people prob cook processed oven meals at home and don't know what good fresh food is!!

Entertainment is totally geared towards families specifically the kids and the entertainment team are actually one of the most professional I have come across in all my years of going on Spanish holidays!!

Kids clubs are great and there are several sessions throughout the day for an hour and a half each! The activities are planned and structured and you can pick what suits your child best!! My son normally went to one session per day!

Ref the sickness that some people have faced- none of us got sick! Didn't really hear of many people getting sick so don't panic!! I think there is as much chance of you getting sick at home or anywhere else on holiday as there is here!! There are plenty of maids about cleaning the place day and night! Its some of the guests that are unhygienic not the hotel!!!

You'll enjoy this holiday if you want a family complex with lots for kids and are happy to relax

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chiccod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

CHECK-IN.
Me and my family went to this hotel from 28th june until july 12th, when we arrived the check in was good and quick no problems at all, when you do arrive ask for your vouchers for pool towels which are free to use around the pool so save space in your suitcase take a old credit card to use for deposit for your room no money will be taken of your card but it will save you 100 euros in cash which you can use on spending money instead.
HOTEL.
The hotel i would say is nice and the staff are friendly and helpfull if you need anything, but does need some refurbishments within areas around the hotel inc your rooms the are looking warn but are clean and there is plenty of room and a double pull out bed and 2 three quarter beds.
RESTRAUNT.
BREAKFAST, well not sure how to put this breakfast is brilliant and a wide selection of foods for all.
DINNER / SNACKS , is basic at the self serve area is burgers, chicken nuggets,toasties and hotdogs, MY TIP go over road to the beach club food is far better and a wider range.
TEA, well this is where it all goes wrong food is shocking in my opinion and my families foods is bland and if you like pork well you will be well away.
ENTERTAINMENT.
Was brilliant day and night all worked hard for long hours and kept all thge kids entertained.
KIDS CLUBS AND CRECHE
These are very safe and are brilliant for the kids once again theses staff work hard all day on this note for scott one of the kids club staff he was brill.
ALL INCLUSIVE.
This is not the case you have to pay for icecreams apart from small tubs, crisps.
SHOP ON SITE
This is very exspensive try take bits with you if you can etc washing powder nappies juice.

I Think i have covered everything apart from one thing which i think it is important.
SICKNESS.
My 2 year old came down sick in the second week of our holiday, my feelings are the problems lies with the Air conditioning which is ducted around the whole building i feel this is where the problem lies as soon as we turned the airconditioning off my son became well again but one night it was so hot that we turned it back on and he became very sick again within an hour we was advised my firstchoice staff the leave it of and they hired us some fans for the room. Are room was 555 and we had at least 6 cases of sickness within this block of rooms for floor 3,4,5.
If you are going to this holiday village just take precausions such as hand gels and be prepared to leave the aircon off but it does get hot in the rooms.

Hope this as helped i have tried to be honest as i read the reviews and i was out of my mind when i was taking my family there please let me know if this review helped many thanks for reading.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Facilities great especially for kids. Unfortunately there is a violent vommitting/diarohea bug in the complex. First choice deny it. Every second family had a similar story. Two of our 3 kids were hospitalised, one overnight for gastro. "Noro" bug is in hotel. My wife and 3 kids spent week 2 vommitting, etc. Ruined whole holiday. Hotel mgt admit there is a "small" problem. Its a dangerous place for kids from this point of view. No credible proactive measures being taken by first choice or hotel to control the bug.

Room Tip: Cleaner on weekdays was great. Weekend cleaner was lazy and very grumpy. Room half cleaned on week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FPT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,505 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,877 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.0 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Property: Holiday Village
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) | P.k. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing