We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, brilliant for kids, careful with the reps (NOT Kids' entertainers) though..”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This place is brilliant. We (me, wife and two 3 yr old kids) had a great time.. In terms of the reps, I am being specific to the "holiday advisors", not the kids' entertainers or kids' club staff.. Comments below.. That said, this was a great holiday in a good hotel... The kids clubs and entertainers are fantastic... We really enjoyed ourselves... In terms of negatives, only a few, but this review covers everything...... All in all, we'd give our holiday 9 out of 10l..

Anyway, comments as follows:

Food - it's buffet food, but it's good considering.. Some people have reported that there's not much choice. I don't agree... There are loads of salads and hot options, but let's face it, it's buffet food, and if you're putting on c8 hot options per night, you can run out of ideas after 10 to 14 days... There's breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant, snacks all day by the pool (chips and salad - adequate), and a full lunch buffet at the beach club..We'd give it 8/10,for buffet food...

Pools - Brilliant. The main pool is very good and it's surrounded by astro turf so the kids can run round and you don't have to worry about them... There are loads of pools in the beach club too, paddling pools, jacuzzi's, a deeper pool near the pirate ship and another deeper pool at the bottom of the water slide/ring run... There's also the water jets that come out of the floor (kids loved it) and a big mushroom house that pours out of the roof..... Just a couple of points. 1. Careful with the main pool. It's shallow at both ends and deeper in the middle, but it slopes from the sides, so it's deeper in the middle than at the edges and little ones can get caught out to start with... 2. They are a tiny bit chilly...Our score, 8 out of 10

Rooms - Very clean and the only thing that looked tired was the settee.. That said, it was ok and perfectly acceptible... Loo didn't have an extractor fan, though.... 6 out of 10 but if it had had an extractor fan, 8 out of 10...

Maid service - Excellent.... In every day and very thorough...10 out of 10..

Reception, Restaurant Staff and Bar Staff - Not brilliant.. Ok, but a bit on the rude side... I went up to reception and the two people were having a social/chat..Saw me waiting and kept talking for a while... Needed to finish first... Also, generally dismissive and pretty miserable... Waiters in the restaurant will also knock something out of your hand and keep walking without turning round...The skandinavian holiday workers (non-spaniards) are ok though... 4 out of 10.....

Kids entertainers - These guys (Ami, Ben, Kenny, Philly and Kylie) do the entertainment (not in Kids Club) and they're great. Our score is 10 out of 10.

Kids Club people - These guys run the kids clubs. Once again, 10 out of 10,

Reps - These guys are the normal reps and to be honest, not brilliant.... Ok when they're smilling all the time talking about trips, but there was an outbreak of chicken pox whilst we were out there, and I asked the rep how they would help us if our kids got it (you can't fly for at least 5 days after you've got it) and we ran into trouble. She (Scottish girl with rectangular glasses) took a step back, changed her tone slightly, and said "we can't help with that, it's a matter for your travel insurance firm, we will give you a phone and access to the internet and a phone, and you can then make your own arrangements"... Lovely..!! First Choice, with about 100 jets and access to 1,000s of rooms can't help...? Thank goodness that we didn't need to find a hotel that would take a family with contageous chicken pox at short notice... We did see the families trying to get some help that were caught by this... Didn't look good... Score, 2 out of 10..!

Beach - The one there is small and horrible, but you can get a bus to the nice ones... 1 out of 10 for local but other bus ride ones look ok.

Shop - As someone else posted, the prices aren't that bad.. But it's a shop on a closed site. Motorway service station prices, and NO medicines here... Also, watch your change...!! 5 out of 10.

Is all inclusive really all inclusive..? - Things like crisps need to be paid for, as do lollies/cornettos and proper ice creams.. Little tubs of ice cream are free all the time though.. Guiness and sparkling wine plus most cocktails are chargeable.... The rings at the beach club are also 10 euros a day, i think.. All said and done though, we'd give it 7.5 out of 10..

People - Funny thing to rate as you can't choose who you holiday with, but the whole group of people and 'atmos' was very good... No idiots, or bad behaviour....

Summary - We'd give it 9 out of 10.. Yes, there are a few things to consider, but I've tried to put everything down, and to be honest, the negatives really worried us... We'd recommend it and would go back..

Room Tip: Ask for block A.... It's got the bar and restaurant in it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteM56London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,981 - 1,987 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

The reason for the title is that the pool is a nightmare, as it is saucer shaped and whilst the water depth at the edges is just a few centemetres, it quickly gets about 1.2Metres towards the centre and kids who are learning to swim by bouncing on one foot on the bottom will suddenly be out of their depth. Luckly the lifeguards are very good and are watching out for this. In two weeks we saw three children helped out.
Half of our party each had a bad night with their heads down the loo.
The beds are really hard and the pillows are too soft. However the rooms are very well equiped with kitchenette, kettle, English Telly, air con etc. The houskeeping was a little haphazard, to the extent that we had to actually had to pinch a toilet roll from the "public " loos and on one day we were given two hand towels and the next day one was removed, Dirty towels left in the bath were hung back up.
Food in the restaurant was a bit samey and not very hot at all.
If you are not very good on your legs, then be aware that the Lunch buffet restaurant is across the dual carriageway via a bridge, in the "Beach Club" which is not on the beach, (this is 15min walk up the road).
I am not normally, a big fan of the First Choice Reps, but the gang here are brilliant. Every single one of them was out to entertain you and they always had a pleasant word even if they were "off duty".Ben, Amy, Kenny, Phillipa and Kylie were first rate and worked exceptionally hard to entertain us every night with a different show, as well as during the daytime round the pool as did all the reps.
Any little snags that we found were sorted straight away by the hotel staff. (kids being sick in the open areas, leaving a pool of bleech in the toilets that ruined my daughters trousers, which they paid for)
All in all if you like First Choice Holiday Villages then you know what to expect and this is one of the best holidays that I have had with them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CannockGrumpygrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

There is something very wrong in this hotel!! I went on holiday on oct 2011 with a party of 13!! I read before i wrnt about people getting ill!! But i just chose to ignore it cause i thought it cant be anything to do with the food ot everone would be ill!! This was the holiday village not the hotel!!just to specify!! After a couple of daysy daughter & her husband & child started to be violently sick & diareah!! & flue lil symptoms!! This quickly spread through most of our party!! Some people blame it on people not putting swimming nappies on there children in the pool!! But this happend at most places & people dont get sick & becides, the majority of us that were ill, did'nt even go im the pool!! I reported out illness to one of the reps, & she tolde even she had had thr same illness 18 month earlier!! So it is deffinatly an on going thing!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie568568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just got back from the Holiday Village with my 2 children 4 & 7 and have to say overall the Holiday was very good. Good points first:

- Kids clubs and staff are excellent
- Soccer school coaches are amazing
- Evening entertainment excellent for children especially Russell the Brussel which I have to say made most parents laugh as well.
- Beach Club & Pools are great with excellent lifeguards.
- Food selection good
- special mention for Kenny (evening entertainer) for making my daughters week and for Rob and Steve the football coaches my 7 year old son loved it.

Bad Points:

- The chaos at breakfast and evening meal time is a nightmare
- The complex is very big
- The reps not doing what they said they would - I left my bag on the coach on arrival which i noticed just after it left, told the rep who said she would contact the coach company. This took her 4 days by which time my bag had gone

Overall good family resort

Room Tip: 358 a good room to have - very quiet with sea and mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The Holiday village is all inclusive mainly although there are some self catering visitors and some locals come in to use the facilities. This means a kitchen in the room which is handy when you have kids and keeping drinks etc. All the pools are amazing and safe for young ones, entertainment was top class every-night apart from the very American style voice over character sketches. The live comedy and singing were great and the games were fun and not embarrassing! Pretty much self contained but if you need time out, Feungerola is a short bus ride and you can walk to the beach down some steps. Buffet and bar are ok but all inclusive is the usuall cheep spirits and beer and pay for the good stuff. Buffet is good food but random selection making constructing a usual meal is a challenge!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scruffle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I found this holiday village to have everything you need. Lifeguards constantly alert, plenty for the kids to do and a very large holiday village. There is another section to it a few minutes over the bridge. The staff very hejpful, the rooms clean, maid service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble, plenty of eating and drinking places, no queus. A very enjoyable holiday, lots to do and see.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank merseysidegilly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We chose this holiday with the criteria that we wanted a no fuss break which was a short flight from the UK. This is the first time that we have been on holiday with our three year old son, and so we were unsure what we would need from a hotel. The hotel is cleaned constantly, however the cleaners face a constant battle with the don't care attitude of some guests, who appear happy to just leave their rubbish anywhere. The rooms are a bit dated and could do with some refurbishment, some of the furniture is a bit too worn and there were bits of wallpaper peeling, however our room was of a decent size for the three of us and having British childrens TV channels was a bonus. The food was ok, as long as you do the "buffet sweep" before you start putting anything on your plate, as some nights you might struggle to put a meal together - some of the options were a bit random. The saving grace of this hotel, and the reason that we had in fact booked it is the Beach Club attached. The facilities here are fantastic, with something for all ages of guest. Our little boy just shook with excitement when he first saw the pirate ship, he loved the pools and enjoyed shooting the elephants with his water gun (which every parent ended up buying for their children). The restaurant for lunch was also at the Beach Club, and this seemed to serve up a better range of food too. We all enjoyed our time at the Holiday Village, but not as much as we had hoped.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplepingu38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,906 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
4.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
3.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Address: Avenida del Sol | P.k. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £53 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Atrapalo and Stayforlong S.L. so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing