We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best family resort”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 13 June 2012

stay'd july 2011, from cork to hotel a few hours. my parents, me/hubby & 3 kids (8, 5 & nearly 1) all vvvvv happy with a facilities. Have to say though that the reception staff weere the worst ever, i mean EVER. So very rude & unhelpful but the restaurant, pool, cleanning staff were so good, friendly and helpful esp the kids camp staff who counld not have been better. the rooms are abit outdated but the hotels facilities more than make up for them. The food was of a good standard, the buffet was themed each night so didn't get boring, the italian and the mexican restaurants are a great addition but do need to be booked as soon as you can. The pools/slides/pirate ship area over the bridge is a great place, glo early & stay 4 the full day ( did this 4 out of the 7 days we stay'd). the activities, view, area, slides, bubble water, play areas, PIZZAS, etc etc etc are so great. Did i say the views... this is also were the soccer camp area is. also where the lunch buffet is. This is a gated, no outside entry hotel & is very safe. If you are looking 4 a great family holiday, where the whole family will have a great time well this is it. The kids camps are the business, the night time family entertainment v good. going again this year

Room Tip: Book pool view, which is also sea view. Otherwise its road view or hill view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacinta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,683)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,919 - 1,925 of 2,683 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Just back from here having spent seven nights with our 6 year old and baby. The childrens clubs were excellent our 6 year old couldn't get enough. He loved the evening entertainment too. The beach club was fab one pool the Caribbean pool was warm as it's in the sun all day the rest were freezing despite 30 degree days. The elephant lake at the top of the beach club is worth a visit really good for tiny people. The reps here were lovely and supplied a great service. so the downsides....the room was really worn, the sofa bed was in a really bad way and the curtains were falling down. Air conditioning was controlled by the hotel so the room was always hot. The kitchen was dirty and we didn't get a kettle until half way into our stay. We paid extra for a sea and pool view room only to discover all these rooms faced directly into the night entertainment. We were placed directly above a bar so our baby had trouble sleeping. We were told we would have to pay to moverooms.
Benalmedena town itself.is well worth a visit we were self catering (and looking at the food thank goodness) and are out there it was always lovely. The dolphin experience at Selwo is worth every Penny. In all we had a good holiday we didn't let the room bother us. We wouldn't book here again. Oh also the floors in the room were marble not great for a newly crawling baby! First choice were great but the hotel let them down. Maybe we will book Rhodes next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgeous23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at holiday village for a week during half term with wife 2 kids and parents , hotel was very good and rooms were very spacious with lovely large rooms and balcony , food and bars service excellent and pool areas very child friendly with lots of cool slides , day time activities also very good , overall my stay at holiday village was very good would recommended hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank boomn8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This place is brilliant. We (me, wife and two 3 yr old kids) had a great time.. In terms of the reps, I am being specific to the "holiday advisors", not the kids' entertainers or kids' club staff.. Comments below.. That said, this was a great holiday in a good hotel... The kids clubs and entertainers are fantastic... We really enjoyed ourselves... In terms of negatives, only a few, but this review covers everything...... All in all, we'd give our holiday 9 out of 10l..

Anyway, comments as follows:

Food - it's buffet food, but it's good considering.. Some people have reported that there's not much choice. I don't agree... There are loads of salads and hot options, but let's face it, it's buffet food, and if you're putting on c8 hot options per night, you can run out of ideas after 10 to 14 days... There's breakfast and dinner in the main restaurant, snacks all day by the pool (chips and salad - adequate), and a full lunch buffet at the beach club..We'd give it 8/10,for buffet food...

Pools - Brilliant. The main pool is very good and it's surrounded by astro turf so the kids can run round and you don't have to worry about them... There are loads of pools in the beach club too, paddling pools, jacuzzi's, a deeper pool near the pirate ship and another deeper pool at the bottom of the water slide/ring run... There's also the water jets that come out of the floor (kids loved it) and a big mushroom house that pours out of the roof..... Just a couple of points. 1. Careful with the main pool. It's shallow at both ends and deeper in the middle, but it slopes from the sides, so it's deeper in the middle than at the edges and little ones can get caught out to start with... 2. They are a tiny bit chilly...Our score, 8 out of 10

Rooms - Very clean and the only thing that looked tired was the settee.. That said, it was ok and perfectly acceptible... Loo didn't have an extractor fan, though.... 6 out of 10 but if it had had an extractor fan, 8 out of 10...

Maid service - Excellent.... In every day and very thorough...10 out of 10..

Reception, Restaurant Staff and Bar Staff - Not brilliant.. Ok, but a bit on the rude side... I went up to reception and the two people were having a social/chat..Saw me waiting and kept talking for a while... Needed to finish first... Also, generally dismissive and pretty miserable... Waiters in the restaurant will also knock something out of your hand and keep walking without turning round...The skandinavian holiday workers (non-spaniards) are ok though... 4 out of 10.....

Kids entertainers - These guys (Ami, Ben, Kenny, Philly and Kylie) do the entertainment (not in Kids Club) and they're great. Our score is 10 out of 10.

Kids Club people - These guys run the kids clubs. Once again, 10 out of 10,

Reps - These guys are the normal reps and to be honest, not brilliant.... Ok when they're smilling all the time talking about trips, but there was an outbreak of chicken pox whilst we were out there, and I asked the rep how they would help us if our kids got it (you can't fly for at least 5 days after you've got it) and we ran into trouble. She (Scottish girl with rectangular glasses) took a step back, changed her tone slightly, and said "we can't help with that, it's a matter for your travel insurance firm, we will give you a phone and access to the internet and a phone, and you can then make your own arrangements"... Lovely..!! First Choice, with about 100 jets and access to 1,000s of rooms can't help...? Thank goodness that we didn't need to find a hotel that would take a family with contageous chicken pox at short notice... We did see the families trying to get some help that were caught by this... Didn't look good... Score, 2 out of 10..!

Beach - The one there is small and horrible, but you can get a bus to the nice ones... 1 out of 10 for local but other bus ride ones look ok.

Shop - As someone else posted, the prices aren't that bad.. But it's a shop on a closed site. Motorway service station prices, and NO medicines here... Also, watch your change...!! 5 out of 10.

Is all inclusive really all inclusive..? - Things like crisps need to be paid for, as do lollies/cornettos and proper ice creams.. Little tubs of ice cream are free all the time though.. Guiness and sparkling wine plus most cocktails are chargeable.... The rings at the beach club are also 10 euros a day, i think.. All said and done though, we'd give it 7.5 out of 10..

People - Funny thing to rate as you can't choose who you holiday with, but the whole group of people and 'atmos' was very good... No idiots, or bad behaviour....

Summary - We'd give it 9 out of 10.. Yes, there are a few things to consider, but I've tried to put everything down, and to be honest, the negatives really worried us... We'd recommend it and would go back..

Room Tip: Ask for block A.... It's got the bar and restaurant in it....
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteM56London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The reason for the title is that the pool is a nightmare, as it is saucer shaped and whilst the water depth at the edges is just a few centemetres, it quickly gets about 1.2Metres towards the centre and kids who are learning to swim by bouncing on one foot on the bottom will suddenly be out of their depth. Luckly the lifeguards are very good and are watching out for this. In two weeks we saw three children helped out.
Half of our party each had a bad night with their heads down the loo.
The beds are really hard and the pillows are too soft. However the rooms are very well equiped with kitchenette, kettle, English Telly, air con etc. The houskeeping was a little haphazard, to the extent that we had to actually had to pinch a toilet roll from the "public " loos and on one day we were given two hand towels and the next day one was removed, Dirty towels left in the bath were hung back up.
Food in the restaurant was a bit samey and not very hot at all.
If you are not very good on your legs, then be aware that the Lunch buffet restaurant is across the dual carriageway via a bridge, in the "Beach Club" which is not on the beach, (this is 15min walk up the road).
I am not normally, a big fan of the First Choice Reps, but the gang here are brilliant. Every single one of them was out to entertain you and they always had a pleasant word even if they were "off duty".Ben, Amy, Kenny, Phillipa and Kylie were first rate and worked exceptionally hard to entertain us every night with a different show, as well as during the daytime round the pool as did all the reps.
Any little snags that we found were sorted straight away by the hotel staff. (kids being sick in the open areas, leaving a pool of bleech in the toilets that ruined my daughters trousers, which they paid for)
All in all if you like First Choice Holiday Villages then you know what to expect and this is one of the best holidays that I have had with them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CannockGrumpygrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

There is something very wrong in this hotel!! I went on holiday on oct 2011 with a party of 13!! I read before i wrnt about people getting ill!! But i just chose to ignore it cause i thought it cant be anything to do with the food ot everone would be ill!! This was the holiday village not the hotel!!just to specify!! After a couple of daysy daughter & her husband & child started to be violently sick & diareah!! & flue lil symptoms!! This quickly spread through most of our party!! Some people blame it on people not putting swimming nappies on there children in the pool!! But this happend at most places & people dont get sick & becides, the majority of us that were ill, did'nt even go im the pool!! I reported out illness to one of the reps, & she tolde even she had had thr same illness 18 month earlier!! So it is deffinatly an on going thing!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie568568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just got back from the Holiday Village with my 2 children 4 & 7 and have to say overall the Holiday was very good. Good points first:

- Kids clubs and staff are excellent
- Soccer school coaches are amazing
- Evening entertainment excellent for children especially Russell the Brussel which I have to say made most parents laugh as well.
- Beach Club & Pools are great with excellent lifeguards.
- Food selection good
- special mention for Kenny (evening entertainer) for making my daughters week and for Rob and Steve the football coaches my 7 year old son loved it.

Bad Points:

- The chaos at breakfast and evening meal time is a nightmare
- The complex is very big
- The reps not doing what they said they would - I left my bag on the coach on arrival which i noticed just after it left, told the rep who said she would contact the coach company. This took her 4 days by which time my bag had gone

Overall good family resort

Room Tip: 358 a good room to have - very quiet with sea and mountain views
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,551 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,924 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.0 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Address: Avenida del Sol | P.k. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £46 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing