We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed a week four adults because of the price being so cheap.the place is brilliant food and drinks excellent and the staff were all great and worked very hard. The Irish bar was very good for adults and was ai till midnight.the weather was also a bonus being April only lags day was cloudy. Keep up the good work will all be back next year .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caroline1966164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,678)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,694 - 1,700 of 2,678 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Just back after a week with partner & 4year old. Food fab, all inclusive fab, pool clean & safe, entertainment good , kids club is fantastic! Very safe for kids and all kids club staff on the ball at all times. Thomsons staff ok, my room wasn't a 100% so asked to be moved which took 30mins and ended up with a better room&view.
Only bad points were the Spillage all over the outside of the glass on lifts was there all week no one cleaned it was a bit disgusting & dirty plates in restaurant. Would avoid at busy seasons as ques will be massive to check in & food times. But would return for a quick week away.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amylynndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

stayed at the holiday village from 21st April till 28th,,all the staff work hard and friendly hotel clean, ,rooms were lovely and big, bathroom had walk in shower plus shower over bath and a double sinks,balcony was big .rooms cleaned every day .food was lovely plenty of choice one of the best all inclusive i have been to .the entertainment staff worked hard all day and evening with plenty of entertainment..you were spoilt to what pool to go to as all the pools were lovely the walk over the bridge to some of the pools was worth it as it was a lot quieter there .i would go back to this hotel again

Room Tip: ask for pool view as one side hotel facing railway line which could be noisey early morning at at...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poetscorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Have just returned from our 2nd visit and hope to go back with our grandchildren next year. The whole place is geared towards kids. We met so many younger couples there who hardly saw their kids all week.one couple were reluctant to go on a family hol and put them in the play groups, but after going in once their children cried to go back.swimming snorkelling ,raft building, football, zorbing,tennis, the list went on.security there was second to none, you could let them go,knowing they can't get out,and no one can get in.on the day it rained no one was in the pool, but there were still 3 lifeguards on duty.we felt the food could have been warmer, and the beds are very hard, but you can't please everyone. Not one member of staff walks past you without a greeting, and they mean it. A very happy place for young families

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Myself, my wife and my 15 year old step daughter stayed at the Holiday Village, Benalmadena between the 21st and the 28th April 2013.
On arrival at the hotel we were impressed with the lovely reception area and after a quick check in we were allocated room 10 which is on the same floor as reception. The rooms are nice and spacious which consist of a large bathroom with a bath/shower, another shower, toilet, bidet and two sinks. There is a small kitchen, a nice size lounge with a bed settee which has seen better days, a good size bedroom which has two large single beds. The balcony is a great size. Overall the room was very good.
The inside and outside of the hotel is very nice. We sat around the main pool each day and enjoyed listening to the music which surprisingly wasn't blasting music like most hotels, and watching the daily activities. The reps were excellent and worked so hard day and night along with the wonderful staff who were so friendly and it was lovely to see the smiles on their faces.
The food was good with a good choice. we always found plenty of things to eat.
We went into both Fuengirola and Benalmadena and a taxi from outside the hotel costs 10 euros to Benalmadena marina and it's 12 euros to the harbour area of Fuengirola.
The only very slight niggles we had were the hot water for making tea in the bars and restaurants were not at all hot, and when adding the milk it was luke warm. As mentioned the bed settee's are getting tatty and need replacing.
The weather was nice for April, no rain and a mixture of warm sunny days and days of cloud and sun later in the day.
It was nice to see that the hotel consisted of families, single couples and middle aged people who all seemed to be enjoying themselves.
Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday and we would definitely return and also would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graeme34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

stayed at this hotel 1st week in april 2013 with husband and 2 children. good transfer (about 20 mins) first impression of hotel was very good, welcomed with a complimentary drink and check in speedy. (reception staff very friendly) we were in room 2 on the ground floor. rooms clean and quite spacious. only slight downside was view from terrace which was bushes and a train track, this didnt bother us too much as we were hardly in room. plenty of food choice in buffet restaurant, breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice, but would def recommend the ala carte restaurants (mexican and italian) you get to choose 3 courses off a proper menu, which you get one visit to each per stay. we found all the hotel staff friendly and hard working and we didnt have to queue for anything. the only negative i have is that the swimming pools at hotel and beach club were FREEZING which stopped my usually 'fish like' children from going in them. went to benalmadena on the bus a couple of times, 1.50 euro each, loved the beach and beachfront bars and restaurants, again everyone we met were very friendly. we went to dolphin show at the selwo marina the children loved it, didnt book with hotel reps, just made our own way there on bus and paid on gate (cheaper because used money off vouchers handed out at airport on arrival) overall a great hotel and a fab holiday. would we go back? definately. xxx

Room Tip: its worth paying a little extra for a room with a beach or pool view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A family resort with plenty to offer

We visited (as a group of 9) the holiday village in the middle of April 2013 and were surprised with the facilities and the entertainment. Whilst mindful of the ratings on this site, we were conscious that people often expressed their discomfort with their stay rather than providing a balance view, so we kept an open view. I’m glad we did.

Views on hotel:
Upon arrival to the hotel, we were promptly obtained our luggage and waited at reception for no more than 10 minutes to obtain our keys and all-inclusive bands. No deposits were required and towels were on offer (we never used these though), first impressions were good.

One thing that was hard to understand was that remote controls for the TV were in reception. Whilst it was not a problem collected one, for a 4 star hotel, these should be in the room as standard.

The hotel is spread across two buildings and ample space, with plenty of lifts that were glass fronted. Whilst on the small side, they did the job.

The rooms were spacious and in our apartment it could sleep six. We had an excellent view and room was clean. We liked the fact that we could listen to the TV in the bathroom, however we did unplug and plug it into our IPhone.

The hotel was always clean, good maintained and room service daily. There was a shop, bar and snack bar kids clubs, cinema. One thing a concern was that the snack bar had cold food at times, whilst I accept food was outdoors, this really needs to be looked into. Furthermore, food needs to be clearly labeled.

Whilst we had to go over the to beach club (across the road), it made a change not to be in the same eating room all the time. The food was varied with plenty to choose from, generally I’m a fussy eater but always found something to eat.

The alcohol on offer was plenty, we were always at the bar, but hardly queued but a little stunned when no vodka was served in the It Italian or Mexican restaurants. This needs to be changed.

Plenty of sunbeds, 7 pools and the beach club was ace!. We often left our kids playing in the pools as there were plenty of lifeguards, whilst we were on the sunbeds just next to the pools. Not to mention the beach club was exclusive to the hotel.

WIFI was available in the beach club for 10 euros for the week. I’d question whether it should be free in a 4 start resort, however you have to choice to 3G it.

Overall the hotel was good value for money.


View on entertainment

Impressive!

Overall, what a fantastic service they provide. Approx. 40 reps working around the clock to make our holiday entertaining. Not only for the kids, but also adults as well. The majority of kids clubs were free, apart from special events, but entertainment was none stop and around the clock. Had the entertainment team not been at this resort, I’d have raised concern over the 4 star rating. However, we really interacted with the reps, often talking to Hettie, Rory and Jimmy (or Jimmy Mack as we called him) and they were really polite, friendly and funny. We also found James (‘stay safe costa’) funny too.

The reps took the time to talk to us whenever they saw us; furthermore the kids really took to them. Often being on stage or dancing to various i5LIVE remixes. We also took advantage of the i5LIVE stock, will bring back many memories. It really took the strain of having kids on holiday away from us, phew!

There was one night were a local band was playing, god they were awful, despites boos and chants of off, they kept playing. The hotel needs to sack them! However, the hypnotist was good, although the ‘family theme’ needs to be family as it was too risky at times.

Overall,

It was awesome, so we’re going again next year (providing the price is right). Whilst a few observations, it should not detract anyone from visiting this resort. Well done reps, you made it one to remember.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the 4th or 5th floor, avoid the noise of the cleaners over the lower floors and the...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_S1nglet0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#19 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,548 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,922 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.0 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Address: Avenida del Sol | P.k. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £47 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing