We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun with the grandkids”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
lichfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“fun with the grandkids”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

travelled to the h/v in early October with a very open mind as to what was going to be in store. had we have travelled in high season I think the place would be absolutely chaotic, the place itself is a haven for young families and being with grandkids made this place a real fun holiday , it would be hard not to be impressed by this complex it has almost everything families could wish for, there are a few minor downsides, outside food presentation was very poor a lot of uncovered meals covered with flys with children touching food with bare hands, indoor dining was a lot more organised with very presentable food, drinks on the a/I were very good but surprisingly water was an extra and not inclusive. I cannot leave this review with out a mention for the entertainment team i am in my mid 50s and don't care for it much,this team really are something special and really do put an amazing amount of effort into every thing they perform well done to you all,a 1st time visit to a h/v i am quite impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LichfieldAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time and leaving us your feedback.

We appreciate all feedback as it can help us see where improvements can be made to our services.

We hope to have the chance of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    917
    465
    201
    123
See reviews for
2,005
176
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tegsypoo
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Dont really need to go into too much detail. Myself, my husband, 9 year old girl and 4 year old boy had an absolutely amazing holiday. The staff, from the receptionist to the cleaners were amazing. Rooms were fab, kids club and entertainment were second to none. Special mention to Russell the Brussel!! Thank you so so much to you all for an unforgettable holiday. We will most certainly be back for a 3rd visit very soon! VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED xxx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tegsypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that your holiday with us was a good one.

We will pass on your kind words to our team (...including Russell!) as they like to hear back from our guests.

Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Booked our holiday last minute for half term. The hotel was fantastic, we were tempted to rebook whilst we were there. It's such a big hotel and being nervous of heights I have to say the high inside balconies made me nervous but I was far happier that the outside ones were staggered - having small children with us I was nervous of being on the 4th floor with a balcony!
The kids clubs and crèche were fantastic as we're the holiday reps our boys who are 5, 2 & 2 had a great time. The walk over to the water park via the bridge was around 10 minutes, not stupidly long but slightly irritating lol we mainly stayed on the hotel side.
The food was good, there was a wide choice however after a few days I was pretty bored of the limited ways you can serve meat and sauce or the many different types of coloured cream and sponge for pudding - don't get me wrong we ate well for the week but I felt the food could've been improved.
I'd highly recommend this place and I'd happily go back next year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmanose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words regarding our hotel.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed as a family (2 adults and 2 children 6 and 4) back in July 2013.

My wife booked this holiday with no input from me, but I have to say that the hotel was very good. It appears the hotel was built as a self catering hotel as our 'room's had a small kitchen in them but is now an all inclusive hotel complex.

The rooms were really clean, made service was very good and staff friendly across the hotel. I would point out that the sofa bed was broken in our room but this didn't impact on our stay. OUr room was at the end of the hall with views of the ocean.

Food was typical of a 4 star spanish hotel that caters to the UK market. We stayed for a week so didn't see to much duplication in meals being offered. Prior to staying there had been a lot of reviews about vomiting bugs at the hotel but we stayed without any issues and the hotel was spotless. Signs to wash your hands are clear in the toilets and prior to entering the restaurants you can use hand sanatiser that the hotel provides if you wish.

The main hote complex has a couple of large pools and the area around this is VERY popular. If you want to get a sun bed be down early! You also get access to the nearby complex across the road (accessed via a bridge) which has lots of pools, rubber ring flumes, pirate ship and toddler pools. There is also restaurant and shop in this complex, the restaurant caters for the hotel guests during lunchtime.

The hotel complex shops are overpriced as to be expected and a short bus journey will take you down to the main resort beach and shops if you wish to venture out.

There isn't a lot near the hotel complex so you are left to stay on site and put up with the hard working but sub par on site entertainment or go down to the main resort by bus or taxi which takes about 10 minutes.

Overall we all had a great time, spent a lot of time in the multi pool complex access via the bridge (from memory it's called the ocean club, i think?) where my children spent many hours squirting me with water guns!

Great hotel for a family break - very much caters for UK holiday makers with kids of about 14 and under.

We didn't use the children babysitting service or day time activity camps but these looked really good and provide the opportunity for mums and dads to use the onsite spa that provides some great R&R if you want a massage or use of the sauna etc.

Recommended..

Room Tip: We stayed in room 60 which had ocean views and looked out onto the mini golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Pompey78,

Many thanks for taking the time and leaving your review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and hope that you consider us for your future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Like an earlier comment I would not normally make comments etc.

However, the bad points exceed the good points.

We left on the last day the hotel was open. Hotel was closing for the Winter Season on the same day we left.

Bad Points

last 3 days was evident drop in standards of food
This is not a 4 star hotel - having stayed in Thomson 4 and 5 star hotels for many years. Think the only reason this is classed as 4 star is the amenities like the spa, indoor pool and water park.

Hotel is no where near Benalmadena town and we felt very isolated. Not even a supermarket in walking distance with a child. The location of hotel is minutes away by bus from Fuengerola.

Sat on the ground floor bar and it felt like we were in the Trafford Centre.

The water park/football pitch shown on the internet/brochure looks like it is right next to the main pool. A main road divides the water park and hotel so residents have to cross a bridge etc.


Pool was freezing and was closed one morning until 2pm for no apparent reason!

Hotel was all inclusive - however, you had to pay extra for WIFI, swimming hats, rings for the water park shoots etc. Pay for pizza after later arrival.

We arrived just after 9pm when restaurant had closed. We were told that there was some food in our fridge. We had a hungry child with us. We were left what I can describe as a microwave meal tray pre packed which just looking at turned your stomach + 3 apples. We then went down stairs to see if there was anything in the shop we could eat. We got charged 6 Euros for 6 litre bottles of water!!!!!(purchased 5 litres at 1euro in Fuengerola). We were then told we could get pizza from Makita Bar for 6 Euros. Which we did as we were hungry. We have later established that the Piano Bar did have sandwiches on the bar. Why could hotel not just provided snack bar service till later including pizza, sandwiches.

Good Points

Hotel Staff - very helpful and friendly

First Choice reps - great team, lots of energy working together even on their last week and on the plane going home!

Kids activities were great.

My son really enjoyed himself having met a group of friends and joined in with all the actvities

I cannot imagine what it would be like in the height of season - I can see that people will be falling over each other.

Room Tip: You definitely need a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your holiday that you were not happy with.

With regards to the food on offer, we can assure you that we follow a menu cycle and this was respected to the final day´s final service.

The hotel´s location and design, we feel, is clearly shown in the literature you are given when booking a holiday.

We appreciate your feedback and will look into the issues raised further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here in the last week of October 2013.There are lots of things for the children to do.The First Choice reps are brilliant.Food and rooms were ok.The hotel is a little isolated so you will need to use the busses or taxis,or hire a car like we did.The only thing that I thought let my family down was the freezing cold swimming pools.
All in all not bad, the kids loved it and that's all that matters.
Trips.Crocodile farm was brilliant.Cable car upto see the birds of prey was awsome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic844365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us.

As we are out of summer and the evenings are cooler, the pool water will be cold. We do, however, have the indoor heated pool for guests who wish to use it.

Many thanks for the review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

we decided to book a last min deal for me and my family. Two kids age 14 months and 4 years old. I read reviews before we went and overall the ratings looked good.
I have roughly but down the good points and bad points we found as a family.
Overall I would not return to a holiday village. The information they give is misleading. I have stayed at 4 star properties before and I can't see how they can sell it as a 4 star hotel.

Bad points/
Checkin / late flight / queues to check in.
Left food for us, in room when we arrived as late flight. It was like a bad microwave meal. It was hideous! I wouldn't let my dog eat that. As soon as we saw that we knew the food would be shocking. I have stayed at all inclusive before and never have I seen food as bad as I have there.
Had to wait for cot! They forgot to have it there for us.
Lifts/ such a huge complex, you have to wait 10mins for a lift!
Food/ reminded me of school dinners! Kids lived on nugget and chips. I lived on pizza. Breakfast was good, but can't go wrong with that. Defo not 4 star! Some of the food had been sat there in the heat outside pool bar. And same choice every day. It was just awful.
Water / you only got two bottled water when you arrived. The rest of water was by the glass, that was left sitting out in the heat!!!
Rooms/ so tired looking, sofa bed dirty and uncomfortable. Defiantly not what they put on the Internet!
The two big pools and water complex/ is across a bridge over main road. They don't make this obvious online, they make it out their right next to one another. Ok it's not a massive trip. But with two young kids and lots of bags it is! And when we stayed they didn't have food this side. So if you wanted anything u had to walk all the way back across bridge!
Too big/ the hotel was just massive and didnt feel welcoming Or homely. It's a Pointins in Spain basically. But the Internet and Thomson website make out its alot more than that.
Sewage smell around the pool/ I never saw the pool being cleaned. When my baby was playing in shallow end and I was sitting next to pool, the smell from the pipes around pool made me want to vomit!
Dinning area/ really dark and non inviting.
Huge complex/ sunbeds are so close to one another. I can imagine in summer months it being chaotic and it's like your sitting on one another.
Mexican/Italian. Much nicer! However I booked the day after we arrived and they were full! Book early.

Good points/
Fake grass around pool, excellent for small kids. No slipping and baby proof!
The first choice reps/kids entertainers! Kids adored them and excellent with them.
Kids club/crèche/ clean and kids loved it.
Entertainment/ excellent for kids.
On site doc/ my little boy got ill and hotel had a emergency doc called out for us.
Rooms cleaned every day. Fresh towels etc.

I never write on websites like this. I rarely complain, but I felt with this hotel and the way it's advertised I had too. It was such a disappointment for us. It was a let down really. The kids enjoyed it but that was only down to the reps not the hotel itself. Such a shame. x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahv291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Sarahv291,

Many thanks for taking the time out of your schedule and reviewing our hotel.

From what we can read, we understand that you had a difficult journey to our Hotel.

The food we leave our guests who have a late arrival is freshly made in our own kitchens and is based on a healthy meal that would please most tastes.

With regards to the pool-side snack bar, the food is continuously replenished and aswell as this area we serve the main lunch in La Perla from 12.30 to 14.30h daily. This includes a full meny of hot and cold foods.

The hotel has the added benefit of having a Beach Club to it´s side and this is on the beach side of the road and takes around 5 minutes to cross the bridge.

We are sorry that there were aspects of your holiday that you weren´t happy with and hope that you consider us for a future holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,464 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,830 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.2 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Property: Holiday Village
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) | P.k. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing