We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday village good holiday”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“holiday village good holiday”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We went here summer of 2012 not 2013 as in description as wouldn't let me put 2012 !!!, hotel was busy but with the water park just across the bridge we always got sunbeds. Hotel staff were nice and entertainment team were good, Beach was across road but not very nice there is a better beach if you travel up the road towards the main street with restaurants and the marina. You can quite easily get a bus to and from here which stops right outside the hotel on the main road.
We went to selwo dolphin show and that was very good for a small charge we could get in and touch the dolphins and learn a few of their tricks.
Rooms were nice we had a room on the top floor which i was a little unsure of because of having a 5 year old at the time but the view from the balcony was staggered down with the other floors so wasn't a sheer drop if that makes sense although from the front of our room was and there a number of glass lifts that take you up and down. There is an inside pool but we never used it so cant comment. We booked self catering but then upgraded once at the hotel to all in as this was quite a bit cheaper than booking all in with first choice. Reps were nice but they definitely picked their favourite holiday makers if you know what i mean. All in all it was nice and i would return there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and reviewing our hotel.

We are happy to hear your family enjoyed their holiday.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    900
    452
    197
    117
See reviews for
1,949
173
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just come back from a 10 day holiday here. It was the best family holiday we had been on. Hotel I couldn't fault, extremely clean, everyone very friendly. The pool side is very children friendly with paddle in option as well as a baby pool. You are right on the lovely beach and had a waterpark opposite although this isn't open until 15th April but it didn't affect us as could still use the pools and pirate ship just not the water slides. The first choice entertainment team were fantastic also and plenty to keep the kids entertained. We are currently looking at other holiday village hotels for our next holiday as had such a wonderful time

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us.

This is exactly why we enter this business and it is very satisfying when we hear back that we were able to satisfy all our guests needs.

Thanks again and we look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from a week at this holiday village, traveled with two adults and our 10 year old daughter.
It was one of the best hotel we have stayed in so far, our daughter enjoyed all the kids clubs on offer. The reps worked so hard to keep the children and adults entertained, always something going on around the pool.
The room (one bed apartment) was very spacious and modern. The kitchen had a kettle, cooker, toaster and microwave.
There was a good selection at each meal time and the snack bar had a good selection of food too, none of went hungry.
The only thing that would of made this the best holiday is to have the pool heated when it is early in the season as the water was very cold not that the kids minded!
All the staff work so hard and always have a smile on their face, would defiantly re visit this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in room 509 which is on the top floor facing the other hotels and the train track, would m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charmain4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It is very pleasing for us to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us.

As you mentioned, our main pool isn´t heated but we do have an indoor pool aswell which at these times of the year can be useful.

Many thanks and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We are just home from our holiday with our boys aged 5 and 3.

We were the first to arrive at the hotel this season and from the start the first choice team made us very welcome.

From day 1 you'd have thought all the first choice staff had been working together for years.

It rained for the first two days of our holiday but this didn't dampen our spirits at all. The boys loved going to the kids club, which is so well run with different sessions and lovely staff. Even out with the sessions they were entertaining the kids during the day with other activities indoors which included parachute games.

The entertainment in the evening was flawless, absolutely fantastic. Paige, Benny boy, Charley, Rich, Emma and Jack in the box work tirelessly to entertain you. Between the entertainment team and kids club staff, they have really done wonders for my childs self confidence. Joining in with i5live, choco-late, gangnam style....

Our room was clean and the twin beds were actually big enough for all 4 of us to sleep in them. So we didn't use the new sofa bed. The front of the hotel (sea view) gets the sun all day and our balcony at the back of the hotel saw the evening sun.

The pools were great. We hardly ventured over to the water park. Parts of it weren't open and my kids preferred being around all the entertainment at the main pool.

The major let down for us at this hotel was the choice and quality of the food. Having been on a few all inclusive holidays me and my husband felt that the food was the worst we'd come across. Kids food every night was hotdogs, burgers, chips, crisps, marshmallows and brioche type rolls! During the day we filled up on chicken
goujons and chips at poolside.
But I suppose everyone has different palettes and the food really was the only thing that really let us down.

Overall an enjoyable holiday completely made by the excellent first choice staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 54HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time and reviewing our hotel.

We appreciate you honest feedback as this can help us make improvements in the future.

We hope that you consider us for your future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Took this family holiday as a couple due to price and it was great value.
On arrival be sure to get your towel tickets and tv remote
Rooms
TV has bbc1 and 3 and ITV
Very spacious with kitchen and a large balcony
Ask for a sea view ;)
Food
Good
Breakfast - cooked breakfast with back bacon/ creals/croissants ect
Lunch - cooked chips/Yorkshire puddings/soup/meatballs/meats/fish/fruit/pasta and rice
And Dinner was similar - the meats were always perfectly cooked
Snack bar - ice cream toasted sarnies and chips
Bars
malaka Bar - bingo entertainment I.e shows and Rich, Ben and the 2 girls are wonderful. Great for the kids.
Irish bar - late night entertainment till the early hours
Piano Bar - usually a girl/boy duet and quieter
All service was A1 and the drinks good
Gym/swimming pool/sauna/Turkish baths are all good
Sun beds are easy to get even late morning / early afternoon but I did go on opening week so as the hotel gets packed it may be harder and queues a bit longer for drinks ect great areas to bathe but also the balcony is ok to top a tan up too. There really should be a sun lounger up there ? Please :)
Mainly People from the UK are here and the First Choice team work tirelessly to make your holiday good as do the ones that look after the children - faultless
The hotel is isolated but a short taxi ride and you can reach a lovely stretch of beach and shops
I recommend the Gibraltar tour - very good and the shopping is vat free :)
Weather was fantastic for 5 of the 7 days
All in all I found this an enjoyable holiday and if my children were younger I would defiantly come here but there again if I can get the same price again next year maybe I will return and do the dolphin and crocodile trips
When the sun shines it is beautiful.
We had room 536
Thank you Holiday Village Costa Del Sol ;)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hirdyella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday at our hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time and reviewing our hotel.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

took my son here (hes 7) he loved every minute and enjoyed it as his first experience of going abroad. went all inclusive and was very impressed with all food, loved all the pools and really liked the staff especially bar staff and food staff. couple of gripes that would make me choose another destination next time was 1 we bought a football on day one my son thinks football is everything. it was 15euros which in UK would of cost £5 it lasted 2 days and started to split. the staff in the shop only on proof of receipt exchanged it. the second one lasted 1 day and again started to split and despite my complaints i got no joy asking for a refund. we have balls at home lasting a few years. the next major issue was broadband being charged for. such a very cheep service yet they still charge (i can go in any Mc Ds and get it for free) my holiday was in excess of £1000 for 2 people in may and the small things are what left a nasty taste. would i recommend this place to my friends? yes i would but the little things spoilt my memories. the food is great and i wish apart from the small things i could give this place a 5 rating but cant because of the penny pinching small minded attitude. my son thinks its the best place on earth and wants to live there but it was his first foreign experience
unrelated to my hotel review
as for off site we went into towns either side of us one for shopping and one for a boat ride which was brilliant. i took a taxi to one and bus to the other (take a bus they're cheep and comfortable and adequate) also went to gibraltar for the day which was good. bit like a typical town in england with a bad smell but apart from tobacco and alcohol duty free doesnt exsist there cos its expensive especially burger king and the likes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finendandy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time and leaving us your honest feedback.

This is very useful to us as we can use the feedback as a tool for making improvements where we feel are necesarry.

Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

best holiday ever,super hotel,delicious food,lots of diferent drinks,wery nice place,close to beach,room was super.nice mexican and itallian restorant in hotel,reps wery profecional.want to go back again and again.hotel was clean

Room Tip: all rooms was super
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank augenija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It is very pleasing for us to read such a nice review.

We appreciate your kind words and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Property: Holiday Village
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) | P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing