We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just back from the Holiday Village and wish we were still there.
I had been anxious about going after reading some reviews about illness but I needn't have worried.
The apartment was spacious and clean with views to die for and I loved the AstroTurf around the pool and play area. Such a fantastic idea, especially given that we were travelling with a one year old, I don't know why more hotels don't adopt this idea and I think First Choice should roll this out in all their Holiday Villages.
The food was fine with plenty of choice and 2 of our party visited the Al la Carte restaurants and said they were very nice.
The water park looked fantastic but we tended to stay around our own pool. The entertainment team were also impressive and the only thing that could have improved our holiday further was the inclusion of a sandy play area given that the hotel wasn't directly on a beach.
I would encourage others to visit the Hotel and make sure you upgrade to a sea view room.

Room Tip: We had 440 and it was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sarah J,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us.

We aim to please all our guests so is very satisfying when we hear back from them.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    883
    443
    195
    115
See reviews for
1,915
171
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Negatives and positives on all fronts. Stayed Fri 23rd May 2014 for one week. 2 adults 2 children aged 2 and 7.
Food - We expected the food in the main restaurant to be as it was. There will be alot of waste, so it won't come up to high expectations. The staff were always polite. The pizza's were nice and the fajita's on the set night were good. My fave was the chocolate fondue night. The salads can't be faulted, fresh and lots of choice. The lunch was across the road at the waterpark. It was nice to get a change of scenery, and we enjoyed the trip over which was just across the bridge over the road. The themed restaurants, however, very disappointing. Having been on a few four and five star all inclusive, the themed restaurants are usually a step above the norm. We went to the mexican which put us off trying the Italian. The wine was cheap and tang, the food was bland and worse than the main restaurant. You would expect more mexican choices and a little mexican music rather than pop ?
Rooms - We had a sea view room. You get the sun late morning early afternoon. It was well worth the upgrade and cost 21 euros per day more. Worst part of the room was the hardness of the bed, and maybe the cleanliness. The bathroom smelled quite alot of dirty water. Mentioned it and it was sorted, but there was still a slight odour. Not sure how often it was actually mopped in the week. On other all inclusives they are mopped at least once every two days. Kitchen seems a waste of space being that it's an all inclusive, but may come in handy for other guests.
BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT THE POOL TEMPERATURE - On getting there the poolside entertainment was fantastic, the pool looked great and the waterpark, however, I just couldn't bring myself further than my hips due to the temperature of the water, the water park was worse, so it was up to hubby dear to brave it with the kids. It was ridiculous and was the biggest let down. My 2 year old wanted to play in the water, did so for 20 minutes tops then had to get out shivering and wouldn't move for half an hour. My 7 year old braved it loving the water but again she could only do it for so long. It isn't warm enough on the daytime to warm the pool let alone on a night, so something needs done about it. We would normally be in it all day.
In agreement with another review that the sunbeds do need upgraded to adjustable but it didn't spoil the holiday. The pool situation needs addressed first. The towels can only be changed twice a week which may be a problem when it gets hotter.
STAFF AND ENTERTAINMENT They made our holiday. There was always a first choice staff member nearby, ready to help. From the moment we arrived to even checking in at the airport on departure, thanks Sean !! Always smiling and ready to help. Although we didn't use the kids club or swim club, the staff would chat to guests and made everyone feel at ease. They were all very welcoming and likeable, and absolutely fantastic with the children. Daytime activities poolside on the late Thursday afternoon,the staff member doing the parachute games was amazing with the kids. Entertainment staff were great and shows as well. Especially enjoyed the panto and hypnotist. They all work extremely hard, and you can tell they really care about their performance. The entertainment is varied perfect to cater for all ages. We thoroughly enjoyed every night. Our seven year old was in tears the day we left. Ready to stay at another holiday village again soon hopefully.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room overlooking the pool. Well worth the extra, maybe a little noisier after 10.30am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vixter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel.

We are sorry to hear that there were some aspects of your holiday that you were not entirely happy with.

With regards to the pool temperatures, until our evenings warm up, the water will still be slightly cold the next day. We do have an indoor pool that is heated should anyone wish to use it.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that you consider us for your future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Nice Hotel , and a week of great sunshine meant we could overlook the downsides.

First time ever that the Kids have ever complained about cold pools, and these are Kids that spend morning to night in the pool, they still used it but not with their usual enthusiasm.

Food was Ok ... more fillaspace'able than enjoyable.

Kids Clubs were great. Always 3 sessions a day, sometimes 4.

Rooms were decent. TV bit old fashioned, and you had to get Remote Control from reception, we never bothered --- never even turned it on. Beds were Brick Hard.

Great Football TV Room.

The Young Ones loved their week, plenty for them to do with plenty of other Kids for company, they would love to go back.

Me, I wouldn't entertain it again until they changed the Sunbeds, I like the Adjustable ones as I spend most of my holiday sitting reading .... these sunbeds were uncomfortable, can't understand why they still have them, they were allright in the 70's :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay-Mac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your very much for leaving us your feedback.

Your feedback is very useful as in some cases it can show us where improvements can be made.

We hope that you consider us for your future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We returned from here 2 hours ago. Myself, my partner and my 7 year old daughter had a fab time. We stayed in room 027 right above the piano bar, lovely view of the main pool and the sea. Not much sun in the balcony after lunchtime but other than that was spacious and clean. You could hear the piano bar but all stopped at 11pm anyway.
We read terrible things about poor hygiene and old food stuck on plates. There were a couple of plates we noticed with the odd mark on but when you see the amount off crockery going through the dishwashers, it is expected really. Even at home I have had to re wash the odd plate.
The choice of food was very good, there was always plenty of themes/choice available. It always looked well cooked to us. The main restaurant and the restaurant over the bridge were very welcoming (not looking forward to weighing myself in the morning). The snack bar at the poolside didn't get used by us much, wasn't keen on the thought of the food being sat out in the sun for too long.
Staff...reception were excellent, first choice staff were good, helpful and cheerful, bar and waiting staff also all very friendly. My daughter went to kids club and loved Sean and Storm but all the others worked hard and all looked like they were really enjoying their job. Entertainment at night was great...Paige, Ben, Emma, Charleigh, rich and jack in the box all made the holiday. My daughter went on and on and on about Paige and Ben all day, every day. And it seems I now even know all the words and moves to i5 live and £1 fish !!!
One highlight was Ben having to suck Paige's toe as a forefit for losing last weeks points games. It was disgusting and think everyone expected Ben to say no way but he didn't...he got on with it....sooo funny. Such a shame we won't see which team wins this week. GO RED TEAM!!!
Overall, was a great holiday, the weather, the excursions, the apartment, the food and the entertainment were well worth the money.
I highly recommend this holiday village

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Melanie H,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We came here for a night whilst staying with my sister. It was £65 for 4 adults for 2 days with 3 meals and all drink included. Amazing value, not sure what it is like for a week but this is some sort of special deal.

Food was OK, busy and basic but OK. All drinks were free and that seemed to apply to anything so that was good.

Rooms are big and clean. Staff are friendly if not a little too happy when you are feeling rough :-)

Entertainment was OK, perfect for a family. All from up North too...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussCityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time and reviewing our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you short stay with us.

We hope that you consider us for any future breaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here as a party of 6 in May 2014 (2 rooms next to each other), 4 adults and 2 kids (2 year olds). Hopefully this review will prove useful. It's not all negative, this hotel does have a lot of positives also.

ROOMS: On the whole, the rooms are lovely. Very large, especially the bathrooms (dare I say "too" big?). Nice and clean, comfortable beds but that's personal preference. The bed sheets were lovely and soft like home, not the usual "wallpaper" hotel sheets.
Our room was overlooking the railway line, but it's not too loud and they seem to stop about midnight. Plus you get a lovely view of the mountains and belting sunshine in the afternoon and evening. The balconies were a little grubby in the corners but not a huge problem, plus they're kind of "linked" so we could chat with our friends when the kids had gone to bed.

RESTAURANT & FOOD: Ok, this is the big one. The main restaurant "La Perla" is NOT GOOD. Firstly, if you enter and ask for a table for 6, you are made to feel like this is a real chore for the staff, we actually felt guilty! There is a huge variety of food, but due to it being made in such large quantities, the quality is terrible. This was also "off season", I dread to think what it's like in the peak summer period.
One of our party took ill from the food, which was absolutely not Norovirus as claimed by management. We also heard of many other people suffering with the same problem. Most of the plates were still dirty, both underneath and on top. We actually read a review about this whilst we were there (still here now, last night) and it was claimed that there was a small problem with the washer. Not true I'm afraid, this lasted all 11 days. The "clearing areas" had food all over the floor and there were actually tables right next to it. We laughed at the fact that, every single time we were in there, someone always dropped what sounded like the entire contents of the dining room on the floor.
For the final few days, we actually bought Super Noodles and similar so we could eat in our room and stay away from the restaurant.
At lunch, the food is served in the beach club restaurant, which is only about 200 yards away, but takes 20 minutes to walk there. The food is the same, absolutely awful!
Basically, if this was a self catering holiday, it would be lovely.

POOLS: As it was May, we fully expected the pools to be cold, and they were. Not a massive problem as the majority of them are paddle pools for kids so you're only cold up to your knees. The beach club is lovely, bit of a trek on foot but it's sunny so who cares. Great pools, great staff, great view of the sea. The kids loved it!
The hotel pool is nice as well, fake grass surrounds the pool so no worries about slipping over and bumped heads etc. Snack bar is the same dodgy food as the restaurant so we steered clear for the sake of our insides.

GENERAL HOTEL: This hotel is massive! Floors go from -3 to +5 which is a bit confusing. There are loads of lifts which are glass so it's nice and open, but if you get the wrong part of the hotel, you'll need to move to another lift to get where you're going. We found ourselves waiting ages for a lift as they seemed to by-pass our floor most of the time, even though we had pressed the button.
Hotel shop has plenty in, thankfully.
Lots of space for the kids, you will find them running around and causing mayhem right up to, and beyond, midnight. But it's a kid's hotel so that's to be expected.
Staff (apart from restaurant) are very accommodating, First Choice staff excellent too, including the evening entertainment team.
Cleaners friendly and thorough.
Without sounding like a snob, the "clientele" at this hotel are not particularly 4-star, so if you're easily shocked or irritated, you may spend your holiday sulking, lol.
Location-wise, the hotel is about 20 mins in either direction of Benalmadena and Fuengirola respectively. It's in the middle of nowhere, but it's obvious that it's because the whole facility needs a lot of space as it's very spread out - not a bad thing!
There is a beach within walking distance, which is lovely - we visited regularly.

To summarise, everything apart from the food/restaurant is brilliant. But had I known what I do now, I wouldn't have booked this hotel, as this is a very important factor for my family to consider. We wouldn't return I'm afraid. Not a 4-star hotel due to the issues mentioned above. The management responses to the other reviews are very copy/pasted and dismissing, I actually strongly disagree with all of their comments.

We were unable to complain at the time of checkout as we were strapped for time, but I will be writing to First Choice in the hope that they can do something for future guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevyD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear your comments regarding the meals in our restaurants.

We do everything possible to cater for most guests needs including Fish n Chips on fridays, Sunday Roasts, homemade British desserts, Spanish meats, Show cooking and much much more.

We are sorry that your perception regarding the plates was different to ours but we can assure you the machine was fixed and the plates returned to good service in much less that what was stated in your review.

Many thanks for taking the time and leaving your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Trawled through reviews and thought we were guaranteed a 4* experience overall unfortunately the poor food at every sitting and the waterpark being so cold it rendered it unusable meant we will not return. As a family of 5 children's ages 11 9 and 3 we used most facilities once. To begin with the room the beds were only changed on the day before we left and the sofa bed is not the most practical as its actually in 2 parts and meant it was a pain to constantly make up every evening as there was literally no room to leave it up throughout day. The 'high ropes' were not like any other at holiday villages and only ran 3 times throughout the week which as it consisted of jumping of a ledge was not exactly missed by the boys who expected a lot more. Initially i dismissed reviews of pools being freezing as a overreaction but as someone who used to swim in sea in Scotland even i could not bring myself to venture in the boys hired the floats for one day at €4 each plus €20 deposits went down slide once and did not use again as pool was so cold so do not take water park or highropes into account when booking as neither are very usable. The major concern is poor food after staying in holiday village Tenerife which is the best holiday we have ever had and a 3* hotel in Cyprus where the food was a pleasure to eat the lukewarm undercooked cheapest cuts of meat you could possibly find floating in coloured water which is signed as gravy and same cheap bland deserts every night were awful not once did we look forward to meal times and the Italian was just as bad Mexican better once my food was sent back to be reheated. The kids clubs were fantastic definitely the highlight of the holiday entertainment was likened to britains got talents worst bits. Overall this holiday village has just celebrated its 10 year anniversary and it definitely shows, a tired complex in need of overhaul especially on the catering side of things 4* hotel more like a 3* with the main elements ie meals falling way below standard.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph1blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that were elements of your holiday that you were not satisfied with.

We take on board your comments and will look into them and see if we can improve our services but there are certain things that are out of our control like the temperature of the pools.

Until the nights warm up, the pools cool down overnight and then warm up again the next day.

Many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Property: Holiday Village
Address: CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing