We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from a two week stay, it was the best holiday I have had in a long time highly recommend this resort and hotel. I have a 9 year old son who was busy all day with all different activities, the only thing I can complain about is the beds they were un comfortable but after a while you got used to it the food was amazing the reps where fantastic couldn't do enough for you

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us.

We enter this business to satisfy our guests so it is very pleasing when we hear back that we were able to do so.

Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    897
    451
    197
    117
See reviews for
1,944
173
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the holiday village 22-29 June in rm 101/102 with my parents and children aged 5 and 7. We all thoroughly enjoyed it! This is our 3rd Holiday Village and we'd struggle to pick the best one out of the 3. The food here was fab and the desserts a step up from what we'd had before. The trains weren't an issue at all for us as they're electric and so surprisingly quiet and the kids quite liked watching them go past. We did experience pool closure due to small children not wearing proper swim nappies and so pooing in the pool but the hotel did everything they could to stop it with regular announcements and notices up, that point is really for a review of the parenting skills of fellow guests, not of the hotel! Reception and housekeeping were fab when our 5 year old was sick in our room, they came up almost immediately and even went round with anti bac spray on every handle in the room, very thorough. The entertainment is what you'd expect and perfect for a family audience but the nice thing here is that you have The Piano Bar as an alternative if you don't want to watch the entertainment. Kids clubs were fab. The only downside is there isn't really anywhere to go if you wanted to pop out of an evening for a stroll and a change of scene, not a problem for 1 week really but it could be if you were going for 2. Also, the beach is a bit disappointing, not as nice or as accessible as it looks in the brochure. Overall the facilities here are excellent, lots to do, best shower I think I've had on holiday,
very picturesque and our kids were sobbing the night before our return flight as they really didn't want to go home and neither did we.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaLL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your recent holiday.

Most of us enter hospitality to please guests and provide good service so when we hear back from them, it is very satisfying.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from a week here with my 3 year old and 1 year old baby.
I think it's really as I expected. The food was okay, quite a lot of choice. The swimming pools and surrounding areas very well looked after, the hotel was generally clean as were the rooms, lots to do for the kids, the First Choice and Kids Club staff were excellent. Ultimately this is a holiday you choose for your kids really so if you're looking for something as a couple I wouldn't go here but for kids it's great.
Down sides: the plates - come on HV, there's enough reviews about this. Sort out your plate cleaning facilities, I picked up several that still had food stuck to them, it's really not acceptable.
Some of the hotel bar staff were pretty rude also.
Aside from that pretty good.

Room Tip: If you've really little ones ask for a room not facing the pool to make your nights a bit quiete...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Reviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time out of your schedule and reviewing our hotel.

We appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive as in many cases it can help us see where improvements are necesarry.

We hope that you consider us for your future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

WHAT THEY DONT TELL YOU IN THE BROCHURE:
1. Trampolines and electric bikes you have to pay 3 euros for a go.
2. You have to pay for bottled water.
3. If you want a proper meal for lunch then you have to trek over a winding bridge, takes about 10 mins. Not good in the heat with a buggy. OR you can settle for burgers, hot dogs and chips and toasties in the hotel but after 2 weeks you do get fed up.
4. The pool which they show you in the brochure is not actually the main hotel pool. In the main hotel they have a bog standard large swimming pool with a baby pool ACROSS THE ROAD is the pirate ship pool with the elephants. It made me laugh how they actually call this a water park.
ANYONE CAN USE THIS IF THEY PAY TO GET IN!! It was full of school trips and disabled people days out. ALSO Spanish people get served before you at the bar!
5. In the brochure it looks like a lazy river IT IS NOT! Infact it's one small slide. you have to pay 20 euros deposit for the yellow ring and get 16 euros back upon return
6. The beds that they show you with the jacuzzi around, these are in the VIP area which u have to pay for to go in.
7. Lollies, ice creams and slushes are not free.
8. My daughter wanted to go to the widget show but it cost 10 euros.
9. You have to pay for the safe in your room.

We arrived at lunchtime to a room which was overlooking a railway line, this wasn't my problem. My problem was the room wasn't cleaned, you could feel dirt under your feet when bare footed and worst of all the bathroom stunk of poo! We complained and they said they only way they could move us was if we paid an extra €250. We paid it as I couldn't have stayed in that dark dingy smelly room for 2 wks.

THE ROOMS: are smaller than they look in the brochure. The kitchen is quite good as we needed it to clean baby's bottles but the standard of cleanliness is very poor. A maid failed to clean our room for 4 days and it was crawling with ants. We had to leave dirty nappies on the balcony in perfumed bags. The linen was awful too, threadbare and very stiff.

THE POOLS: I know you can't help other people not putting swimming nappies on their kids but c'mon 4 times in 2 weeks for the pool to be shut for 5 hours a time is a joke! On 4 occasions we had no choice but to trek over to the other pool and literally argue with the Spanish who took all the beds.
We didn't go to the indoor pool as it looked quite grubby. I did like though they had Astro turf everyone so thankfully you didn't see anyone slipping.

THE FOOD: oh dear where do I start!!! Actually there were three good things about the food ... The chocolate fountains they have once a week, the a la carte restaurants and the breakfast (because there was a large choice and British baked beans!!) apart from that I used to dread going for meals because there was such odd things to eat. I mainly lived on salad and chips or soup! Now in the turkey HV you were literally spoilt for choice where meals were concerned. HERE YOU WILL NEVER EAT A HOT MEAL, all of the food is barely warm. My husband suffered a few days of sickness I believe this was due to the food just being warm.

ENTERTAINMENT: Nothing really happens around the main pool in the day, maybe 10 mins of dancing to party songs, 15 mins of aerobics and a quiz! And that's about it oh and some volley ball right in the middle of the pool played by blokes so kids have to watch they don't get hit by the ball. The entertainment is poor by the pool so we used the kids clubs. In the evening I did enjoy the reps shows but after being there for about 10 nights they did sort of grind of you.

I'd strongly recommend swimming lessons as Emma taught my daughter how to swim she was excellent with her.

the piano bar has a Spanish lady singer which sings British songs in a Spanish accent, this could be a British entertainer I.e comedian or family games as no one listens to her!
The Irish bar is not used for anything and could be turned into a fun pub.
Inside the piano bar it is wasted space too as there could be a family disco

We visited the HV Turkey for two years in a row and thought we would give another HV a chance. I wish we didn't because I wouldn't go back and I wouldn't recommend it. I would go back to turkey again and again because "all inclusive MEANT all inclusive"

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sjm2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you weren´t happy with your holiday.

We do our very best to satisfy all guests tastes and needs but in your case, we don´t seem to have been able to do so.

The term "All Inclusive" generally refers to the accomodation, food and beverage. We do have optional extras that are clearly marked and if in doubt, our staff are happy to help.

With regards to the Beach Club, it is for the use of our Hotel guests. We have four hotels that use the Beach Club so there will be a mixture of nationalities. It does get busy at times and this is due to the fact that we are in Summer Holidays. Many guests like to have their lunch beside the sea as it is a beautiful location.

We take on board your feedback and appreciate it as it can show us where improvements can be made,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just returned from a week holiday in the hotel. we been in room 208, the room was not clean, there was a bad smell, the sheets were with many holes (all during the week).
The room has a train just next to the windows and there is a train passing by few times in an hour, all day long.
The hygiene in the restaurant was catastrophic. The plates were dirty in every meal (morning, lunch and evening).The staff do not know the meaning of service in all F&B outlets. The food was very poor, full of fat and without any taste. It was a real disappointment. We did tried to speak to the GM, but the reception staff did not gave us the chance to speak by saying he is busy at meeting all day long.
We would not recommend this hotel for people looking for a quality family holiday.
Very disappoint with first choice -which usually use good choices of hotels.
Must say that the kids club, the swim academy and the entertainment team were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time and reviewing our hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with some aspects of your holiday. We take note of the points and will look into them.

With regards to the cleanliness of our plates, we have made great strides recently to improve our systems.

We hope that you consider us for your future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Holiday Village and found it overall to be very poor and completely not what we were expecting.

Good points:-

Pools were excellent and the kids thoroughly enjoyed them
Weather was great.

Bad points:-

When we arrived, our room was not ready. This was really down to First Choice who the holiday was booked through for having a flight that did not fit in with check in time, however the hotel only offered the option of leaving our bags in an unlocked luggage room whilst they prepared our room. We didn't want to leave the bags there and risk having valuables stolen so had to sit in reception for an hour and a half with our two young children, which didn't get our holiday off to a great start.

When we finally got to the room, it was very dated and very different to what we had seen via online photos. Room looks like it hasn't had anything done to it since the hotel opened.

We found the reception staff in general to be very rude and unhelpful on several occasions. On one particular time, we queued at reception for 15 minutes to make a dinner reservation, only to be told we were in the wrong line and sent to the back of another queue where we spent another 15 minutes queueing. Only after sending us and 2 other guests to the other queue did the receptionist decide to put up a sign telling people where to queue. After sending us and the other guests to the back of the queue, the receptionist proceeded to stand around doing nothing whilst her colleague dealt with the whole queue of 10-15 people wishing to make reservations.

The food at the buffet restaurant was awful. Whilst there was a wide variety, it was often stale, poorly cooked and barely edible. We have stayed in many all inclusive hotels before and never had food this bad. Often we would have to resort to buying food from the hotel shop as were still hungry after meals due to there being nothing we wanted to eat.

Some of the bars, particularly the beach club limit you to three drinks per visit, which isn't much use if you have two adults and two children as you need to make separate trips and it seems pointless if you are all inclusive anyway. At the beach club they would sometimes ask for your room card even if you were wearing the all inclusive band and other times would tell you they didn't need to see your card.

The rooms have safes however you are charged 19 Euros to get the code so that you can actually use it.

My daughter had an upset stomach for much of the trip and I believe this was due to the poor food.

Room wasn't cleaned to a very high standard with sweets being left stuck to the chairs from the previous guests and the toilet not being very clean.


Overall, I would not recommend this hotel at all. It was a huge disappointment and nowhere near as nice as online photos would suggest. If it wasn't for the excellent swimming pools, I would rate this as 1 star. I would never return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nt1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your holiday.

If you felt the reception staff were rude, we apologise for this and we will look into this as they are constantly getting good reviews for their service.

As the hotel has an official check in time of 15.00h, sometimes there are guests who may have to wait a short while for their rooms to be cleaned. Our luggage store may be unlocked but has CCTV and had you voiced your concerns, we could have made arrangements at reception and you could have started enjoying your holiday by having lunch or by the pool.

With regards to your comments about the food, we have a great variety to try and suit all tastes and we try our very best to cater for over 1200 guests at one time. We take on board your feedback and will continue to try and keep improving.

Many thanks for taking the time and reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here from the the 16th to 29th June and after two weeks I was ready to come home. Lovely hotel, staff were lovely and the reps were fab. The food got a bit repetitive at times, but there was always something there that we all liked. It was much better than I though it would be. All the pools are great although the main pool got shut 4 times while we were there and the little pool got shut once as kids had pooed in the pool which is very annoying as it got shut for 3 hours at a time, which meant the other pools got so busy. The evening entertainment was good my 2 and 4 year old loved it, but for us it was kinda same thing every night. Not everything was all inclusive like lollies at the bars and the slushes, which was very annoying, as we went to Cyprus holiday village last year and the slushes were included!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room and pool/sea view when you book. And ask to be in the block not above the piano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time and reviewing our hotel.

We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your holiday and we take on board your feedback for the future.

We hope that you consider us for your future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Property: Holiday Village
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) | P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, TravelUp, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing