We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant holiday”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“brilliant holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

we stayed at the holiday village from the 22nd of aug to the 5th sep. on reading some reviews i was a bit worried what to expect no need to have worried how anyone can knock this place is beyond me maybe it could do with a lick of paint in places but we were not there to look at the decor.The hotel was huge with plenty for the kids to do my boys aged 8 and 5 were never bored.security was very good so you were never worried about if they wandered off.All staff were very friendly the entertainements team tash liam and all the other guys deserve a medal they worked allday long to keep everyone happy the kids loved them aswell The food was nice different choice throughout our stay you would never starve all in all we had a fab time and would recommend this hotel to anyone with kids. for all those people who moan about trivial things need to lighten up and enjoy yourselfs a holiday is what you make of it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myboysstaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    917
    465
    201
    123
See reviews for
2,005
176
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband, me and our two daughters aged 13 and 10 visited the Holiday Village for a week at the end of August. Most of the facilities have been well covered so I won’t ramble on for days and will just cover the things that affected me!
Beat the check in queues - We paid the extra £36 for a taxi transfer and checked in straight away, with none of the queues that others have mentioned. The downside was that they booked the taxi for the return trip half an hour before the coaches (7:55am!) – what was that all about?!! LOL!
The kitchen didn’t have tea or coffee pots plus a tiny kettle, so if you like an early morning cup of fresh coffee (like me) I suggest you bring your own “equipment”. You are treated to BBC1, BBC2, ITV, CBBC etc on the TV. You need get the remote control from reception to use the TV, so if you want a break from English TV, tell the kids the telly is broken and give the remote a miss!
The beach club opens strictly at 10am when it was a bit like the first day of the Harrods sale! The rubber rings for the slides cost 6 euros a day to hire plus a large deposit. They can be a real pain to lug about, so don’t waste your money on getting more than one. The sunbeds in the beech club were very comfortable and adjustable, with plenty of shade.
The sunbeds around the main pool are not adjustable and I found them quite uncomfortable, especially when I wanted to read my book. Some people did get up very early to reserve sunbeds, but as they jet wash the whole area at 9am, they would end up with damp towels (that’s karma!) The hotel shop sells water squirters and they were a real nuisance and should have been banned along with all the inflatables (baa, humbug!!!)
There was a serious problem of a baby (at least I hope it was!) pooing in the pool and it had to be closed for nearly the whole afternoon while it was cleaned and extra chlorine added, ruining the afternoon’s fun for everybody (you know who you are and what everybody was saying about you!) This then happened the following day in the beach club elephant pool (same baby? Who knows!) and that pool was still closed the following day! Seemed to me like they were trying to prove a point, but at least they were taking hygiene seriously I suppose.
The food in the restaurant was well cooked and on the surface there seemed to be a good choice. However, there was a very limited choice for vegetarians, one evening the vegetarian option was tortilla chips and cheese dip! Other nights there was no choice at all and even the salads were spiked with ham. Breakfast was lovely, my meat eating husband loved the sausages and I quote, “best ever on holiday!” I loved the Cava and orange juice and along with the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs made every day like Christmas day  The queue for breakfast at 9:45am is a sight to behold!
The evening entertainment team worked very hard but my children found it all a bit too childish, so we spent our evenings in the Piano bar which had live music every evening and much shorter queues for the bar. My daughter loved trampolines and go karts for the kids by the main stage, but these cost 2 – 3 euros a go and it can get expensive on what is supposed to be an AI holiday! The clubs for the under 8’s were great but the 9 to 15s were all lumped in together. Neither of my two liked this arrangement at all and refused to attend any club activities, probably making this our last Holiday Village holiday 

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We had a great break away, even our 11 mth old enjoyed all the pools, especially the fountain splash areas (when they were in use!) and the shallow pool at the beach club over the bridge top pool and handy to be there during the day as the main lunch buffett restaurant is also there. But thoroughly disappointed by being mislead by the FirstChoice branch who showed us the brochure which had DreamWorks Shrek & Friends meet and greet the characters advertised all over the brochure and actual page for this destination BUT IT DOES NOT EXIST! Our nearly 3 year old son only had a 10 minuted puppet show called the Widgets on the Weds and Bob the Builder for 10 minutes on the Saturday and that was it for our 7 day stay. We asked on various occassion but the reps just tell you to look at the boards advertised by the snack bar and restaurant as to what is on. Will definately be complaining and possibly going to BBC Watchdog! False advertising.

But if you want various size pools and loud music constantly being played with 100s of families with young kids to meet and make friends then this is the trip of you.

Oh and dont bother with getting involved with trips they try to get you to pay for at the welcome meeting. There is a bus directly outside by the elephant roundabout and its £1.25 per adult to go into the marina (and easy to use) and had a lovely day down there, we visited the Selwo Marina - get there by 12noon tho or dont bother as you'll miss the shows. and its not for the those who dont like walking as to get there after the bus drop off its extremely hilly!

We headed the other direction another day to try out the beach nearby, it looks a long way off from the hill you are based on but its actually only 10-15 min walk. Kids loved it as kids of 3 and 1 would but its not a very nice beach and the sea is too rough to get in!

The hotel is what it is and after talking to other families at the beach club which two other hotels nearby can share with you it seems the Polynesia is the far better hotel to be staying in, which is next door, newly built, has lovely rooms with plasma tv and better restaurants. Entertainment just as bad on the evenings tho. Lots to do at the holiday village for kids in the day tho e.g. badmination, make your own shows, quizes etc therefore best suited for 5 years plus! Just not enough entertainment other than the pools for toddlers. The softplay area is practically never available. Only in use 8-8.45pm on selected days. Basically in 7 day stay we got to use it once!

This hotel is best for families with kids 4-5 years plus that wish to just stay on the large site.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Having decided to take two short haul holidays this year instead of our usual long haul holiday, we picked both the Hotel Caribe (Port Aventura - I have reviewed) and the Holiday Village Costa Del Sol.

We went with our two 14 year old girls.

Travel Company/Flights/Transfers - First Choice usual young kids at the hotel as reps no real idea about local areas apart from trips they have to push but all were polite and tried hard. Went from Gatwick, flights were quick and reasonably comfortable, flight time about two and half hours, transfer - although they state 20 minutes it actually took 1 hour 40 minutes from arriving at the coach transfer station at Malaga Airport, due to waiting for other people to get on to the coach, not sure if they were all on the same flight as us, so you may have to wait for other flights to land, then the 20 minute transfer took 40 minutes to the hotel, although could have just been a bad time as they take you through Benalmadena. Please remember a pen and fill in the forms given to you by the rep on the bus as it will save time at the check in

Hotel - Reception area, we had an upgraded room so were supposed to have express check in, did not get it just had to queue with everyone else, so one extra perk completely lost. Reception area is large and staff very friendly. When checking in they will take the deposit for the room, either card or cash. You will be given a band to wear for your All inclusive different colours for Adults and Children.

Room - Well as I said we did have an upgraded room, well all I can say is I would not want to have a standard room. We were all Inclusive which was a blessing as the standard of the kitchen utensils were somewhat disgusting, with really old/even slightly dirty crockery and knifes/forks etc (just glad we never had to use them), there is a small fridge, which as All Inclusive they stock daily with two bottles of water, one bottle of coke and a small carton of orange juice, (just a note they only replace what you drink)
Bathroom - Large in size, two sinks, shower very old, was some small patches of mould in places, towels were replaced daily, however there was 4 of us in the room , however they seemed to only want to replace 2 even when we left 4 in the bath as requested. We just ended up asking for 2 extra towels every day at reception.
Bedroom - Good size, already had safe in place so just had to enter a code, beds were two large singles pushed together, really old, not very comfortable.
Lounge area - Has TV, large lounge which is one of the beds and a pull out bed underneath, both the girls had these and said they were ok to sleep on. We had a nice view of the pool, beach club and ocean from all of our windows and the balcony as we had an end room. The lounge area also has a dining table/chairs and a double wardrobe. Balcony was free from bird poo (as per some other reviews), but outside table was broken around the edges, plus cigarette butts from previous people (we do not smoke) in the plant pot areas

Beach Club - To reach the beach club it is a short walk over the bridge from the hotel. We felt that it was very well maintained, and you were allowed to take balls, some inflatables into the beach club main pool (unlike the hotel side swimming pool). Please note if you want to use the wave pool or the slides you have to hire a rubber tyre the life guards wil not let you in otherwise - cost 6.00 euro + 14.00 Euro refundable deposit per tyre. Now we had two 14 years old so this may be different for younger children but after 20 minutes in the wave pool and two or three goes on the slides they did not want them any more, now with younger children I must also state that the wave pool was quite strong and I noticed several parents being told their children were to young to be unaccompanied in that section pool so were told to get out. There are three slides and when the wave pool runs only one slide is open as the other two drop into the wave pool so you have to wait for the waves to finish.

Hotel Swimming Pool - As stated you are not allowed inflatables or balls in the pool at all. The hotel pool has activities organised around it throughout the day so be prepared for certain areas to be no go zones for certain periods for kids and adult activities.

Sunbeds- Usual stuff, you can watch people walking around at 7.30am to get their sunbed every day, no one stops it so there is nothing you can do. I will just say that the beach club opens at 10am so if you go at this time you are nearly guaranteed beds in the shade all the time

Food/Drink - Again as All Inclusive you get Breakfast and Dinner in the Buffet restaurant in the hotel. Breakfast sitting is 7.30am until 10am now I will just say that everyone seemed to try to go at 9.30am so would advice to go earlier if you can. Breakfast was of a decent standard, good range of different items, from a full cooked breakfast with all the trimmings, to fruit, cereals, toast and pastries. You help yourself to juice/tea and coffee from the machines located on each side of the restaurant.
Dinner - Once again they try very hard to cater for everyones tastes, from chips, burgers, for the younger ones (or the fussy adults!!!!) to a range of different dishes fish, mexican, spanish all seemed cooked very well, and the salad bars and desert counters were really good, our girls loved the white chocolate and milk chocolate fountains when they out.
Lunch - Now this is a choice you can get snacks at hotel pool snack bar, this ranged from pizza, burgers, sandwiches and salads or you could go over to the buffet restaurant at the beach club were a similar spread to dinner was put on, we skipped breakfast a few times, and just went over to the beach club for lunch between 12pm - 1.30pm (I think) we really enjoyed this as no more than a quarter full and was really relaxing and chilled out, as at breakfast it was like being on the London underground at peak time.
Drinks - Unlimited soft drinks, water, juice, fizzy from Piano bar, pool side bars, and beach club bars, beer is Cruz Campo, tasted ok, basic spirits are also included.
Ice Cream - For kids is available from one of the hotel pool side snack bars and comes in little tubs.

Entertainment - Main Stage at night - Well I felt quite sorry for them really, they try hard but material and shows are in need of a revamp, once again ok for younger children definitely not for teenagers.
Clubs - Plenty for all children under about 12 then really nothing. Reps for childrens clubs work really hard and I can say were very good for what I saw of them.
Game Area - Plenty of Pool tables for a couple of Euros per games, game room has a mix of games, shoot em ups, car racing etc.
Internet Room - Around 10 computers - although be prepared to get annoyed as it seemed that only three worked quickly, and some computers were not working at all (all after you put the money in (one euro for 10 minutes)

Going Out - You are basically located between Benalmadena and Fuengirola, the bus stop is right outside of the hotel, bus runs every half an hour in each direction. costs 1.20 - 1.30 Euro in each direction. Taxi is around 10 - 15 Euros one way dependent on what attraction. We went to Bio Parc Fuengirola (costs about 15 euro per adult 10 euro for children) which was excellent, especially as we went at 5pm until about 10pm which was great as it was much cooler and all the animals were very active. Tivoli World is good, the wrist band is worth while (costs 7 euro to get in then 12 euro for the band) and you will get your moneys worth, not lots of big rides so suits families with children from about 5/6+. Cable Car is great and well worth go. We did also pop down to the beach there is one about 15 minutes walk from the hotel and has a banana boat and pedal boat hire down there, it was a small beach area, so if you want the main beaches just take the bus into Benalmadena.

Only other thing I would say is there are two blocks of accommodation we were in block two which was a god send, as block one is right on top of the games room, shop, kids clubs, piano bar, outside stage, now we did not go to bed until late however tI would say those with really young children that do want an early night get ready as I was talking to people staying in that block who were saying about children aged between 6 and 12 just running around unaccompanied until the early hours of the morning.

Overall a very average complex, would never go back, rooms need completely revamping although staff very good and worked very hard.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We just arrived back from The Holiday Village after a 2 week all inclusive holiday of a lifetime.
2 adults 2 children aged 6 and 3.
On arrival, the hotel is huge and only 30 mins from the airport with 3 more hotels "same group" on either side.
The Holiday village is the best one for families having a wide range of facilities and activities to keep everyone entertained.
The rooms are quite spacious, probably what you would expect.
The bathroom was huge having 2 sinks and 2 showers "handy when you have 2 children with you".
We also had 11 English tv channels so we were able to keep up with events at home.
The food was exellent with great variety, my only complaint was if you went at busy times by the time you sat down the food was cold but this happened only once and you do have the choice of eating it or getting another meal when its quieter.
Breakfast 07.00 - 10.00am
Lunch 12.00 - 15.00pm "at the beach club over the road"
Supper 18.30 - 21.00pm
The staff in the restaurant were exellent, nothing was too much trouble.
Food was available at the pool bars from 10am serving the usual chips and burgers etc but it is all freshly cooked for you and does'nt take long to come.
There was an Italian restaurant and a Mexican, both can be booked at reception but we never tried either.
The pool areas were fabulous, very clean and plenty of sunbeds yet most people put towels down before breakfast to get their usual spot.
Across the main road is the beach club, accessed by a private bridge from the hotel, it was fantastic with busy kids pools and a quieter adult only pool, the children loved the water slides and pool side activities.
The first Choice staff were all over the place helping make sure everyone was kept busy, especially the kids, they never sat down having something to do all day long.
In the evenings the kids clubs are brilliant and i would recommend getting there early to get a place, the kids both loved it especially the chocolate party and sweety bingo.
The kids clubs were very safe with no one being allowed in or out and the kids could only be let in or out having been signed by a parent or guardian, every time the staff checked the signature to make sure the same person took them out that put them in which was very reassuring.
I recommend you make use of the free shuttle buss that runs from the hotel each day to various places, this breaks the day up and gives you the chance to see a few sights.
We went to Puerto Marina which was brilliant and something to see and we went to the shopping centre, both trips left around 09.30am and returned 12.30pm there was a market day and a sightseeing trip too.
We decided to go to Gibraltar and it proved to be a fantastic experience, everything was so cheap, we visited the WW2 tunnels "highly recommended" and seen the apes, we had 4hrs to shop after this, the whole trip took from 09.30am set off and we were back in our hotel by 18.00pm
We also went to the Biopark, the Crocodile Park, the Aqua Park and the Zoo, every trip was worth the money but take your own food and drink to the Aqua Park because it is so expensive once your inside.
The holiday was a great success from start to finish and we will return again in the future.
Thank you to all the First Choice staff especially Rick the swimming coach.
See you all soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cumbrians66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

After reading some of the reviews on here I was panicking a bit but it turned out fine. When we landed there was lots of First Choice reps to guide us to our transfer coach and Holiday Village was first drop off. The room wasnt amazing but who needs it to be...if you're on holiday it's basically used for sleeping, showering and changing clothes ! The maids are on form...they clean up the rooms and restock towels and fridge every day. Dont get excited by the thought of your fridge stocked with 2 bottles of water, coke and orange juice every day as it turns out they are the mini 1 person sizes =[

Some tips (1) head for breakfast before half 9, there was always a queue after this time (2) Get to the beach club as early as poss, the Spanish public use this aswell and it can get busy but it is really big and we never struggled for sun loungers (3) If staying by the hotel pool although it's not recommended, get your towels out early...everyone else was doing it. (4) If you have a baby make sure they wear nappies in the pool....the pool was shut twice while we were there because of floaters !! once for 2 hours and once for 4.

This place is for familys and we used the kids clubs, the reps are amazing and work from 10 in the morn till 11 at night doing different sessions, there is a creche for babies, little stars, super stars and wave length for the older kids...there is also a swimming school, football acadamy and a drama club and it really is worth taking full advantage of them as the reps are great with the kids. There is another group of reps who do the daytime entertainment by the pool then the first bit of entertainment in the evening at the stage...they are good, but a few times a week they do the 'cabaret' spot. Now at first the cabaret was good...hypnotist...singer..but the reps have a little group that they perform in...singing songs from certain eras and what not. I can only describe this as 'Hollyoaks the musical'. It was all short skirts, over acting and cringeworthy dancing. On that note though, the kids (and the majority of men) loved it and the free bar (if you're All Inc) helped the rest of us get through it !

The food was good with plenty of choice and the servers are amazing, you get seated quickly and the food never ran low...it was constantly stocked up. They are very efficiant and the kids loved the puddings, the chocolate fountain makes an appearance a few times a week !

If you go exploring then I recommend the Cable Cars and the kids loved the amusement park which is called Tivola World and is open in the evenings. Was about 10 euros in a taxi to Benalmedena and around the same to Fuengirola. There is a bus aswell that goes to them.

Would definatly go to a Holiday Village again and will probably go to a different next time but I would recommend this one just for the pirate ship pool alone !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Very friendly staff. We went all inclusive which was great value for adults and would be great value if your kids are good eaters - but at the very least it gives them snack, fruit and drinks on request all day around the pool. There were 5 of us is a 1 bed apartment - we had no problem sleeping - the air con was great. There were plenty of clubs for the kids - and a creche for smallies up to 35 months. They all loved the eveing entertainment with high 5 live. The on site shop is very expensive for basics if you're self catering. But our room was very clean and serviced regularly and the staff were all friendly courteous and smiling. All in all a great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,469 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,829 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.2 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Property: Holiday Village
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) | P.k. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing