We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic accomodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Betania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Betania
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
donegal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“basic accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here in 2012. Only paid 300 for the flights and hotel so can't really complain. The rooms were small and basic but clean. The breakfast wasn't great but it was more of a party holiday. The room did have a lovely view of the sea and is quite a handy location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donegalgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    72
    73
    35
    78
See reviews for
25
152
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

On arrival we were told by the receptionist that we had been booked into a twin room but that she could change it to a double, which she kindly did.
There was no assistance to our room with our bags and no information was given to us about the facilities, or as we found out later, lack of facilities in the "hotel".
When we got to our room there were two things that hit us; firstly the heat, there is no air conditioning and the ceiling fan hadn't been switched on for our arrival. The second thing was the small size of the room.
The following morning the breakfast wasn't worth having.
Most of the staff were friendly, there was just one girl who was hostile.
The rooms would be better serving single people, and the layout of the place is bizarre. All I can think is the architect was a dwarf on acid.
I don't mind roughing it a bit, and looking back there were so many funny things about the "hotel". We didn't let the place ruin our holiday.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much and don't have breakfast. Okay if you just want a crash pad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bishop69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel was good. The staff were helpful and polite. The room was a bit small but was clean and tidy. Ideal if you want to go to the beach everyday and eat in the nearby restraunts. It was very cheap for the week in High season and would happily stay again. We didn't use the pool or the restraints during our stay so I can't review them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJPoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Muchas gracias por su estancia. Esperamos mejorar poco a poco y ofrecer un servicio mejor y mas comodidades para el cliente, poco a poco estamos introduciendo diversas mejoras que probablemente sean de su agrado. Reciba un cordial saludo y esperamos vuelva pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just back from a week staying at Hotel Betania and I was dreading it after reading the reviews before arriving..but I couldn't find a big fault with it. I chose this hotel because of the location and we were on a budget. The location is ideal, plenty to see/do. The hotel is basic but very clean and reasonable. Maids came into the room daily with clean towels, linen and 1 roll of toilet roll. your better to buy some for emergencies only 1 EURO 20. for 4 rolls at the supermarket. We usually chose self catering but went b&b instead. Breakfast wasn't what we expected, I had read on the official website hot buffet but instead you were handed a plate with a bread roll, 2 slices of ham and 1 slice of cheese with jam and a bun/crossiant and a glass of orange juice. they also offered tea, coffee, hot chocolate but no milk.. It was OK but we went for a fry as little as 3 euro 50 down the street. The staff were friendly especially 2 women at reception with dark hair. The only negative things I would say was they would need to splash out on a bit of air conditioning in the rooms..very hot at night! they only have ceiling fans (but that is better than nothing) we kept ours on all the time. Also they would need to see about english channels on the TV that has 4 or 5 channels..it didn't bother me but you need to please your other half as well! Over all, Nothing bad to say about this hotel. it is not as bad as what most people made it out to be, but hey! you can't please everyone?? If you want luxury, go luxury but this hotel is ideal especially if on a budget!

Room Tip: your best to give requests when booking. go for a private balcony because some are opened on to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HiJoey_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel was basic but was fine for our needs. There was no AC, only a fan which was not enough in the August heat. The staff for the most part were friendly and helpful. They called a taxi free of charge for our early morning departure. The shower had quite decent pressure but the curtain was awful and lead to water going all over the place. There was no hand soap or shampoo provided. Two small sachets of showergel were provided for 2 people during our 5 night stay and were not replaced at all. There were 2 towels, 1 bath mat and 1 hand towel provided, no hair towels. Wifi was free in the reception/lobby area and because our room was above the reception we managed to get it for free. The location is great, very near the waterfront and many restaurants. We didn't eat breakfast there, having read other recommendations and ate at Horizons Cafe, next to Mc Donalds. It was very good. You have to give a refundable €20 deposit for a key and tv remote control. The safe costs €2.50 per day, plus a €10 deposit for a "key" which operates the safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmmmg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Sra. Muchas gracias por su visita, Esperamos verle pronto de nuevo en nuestro hotel. Decirle que en nuestra intencion de satisfacer al cliente estamos realizando mejoras que seguro seran de su agrado. Gracias por sus comentarios que nos sirven para mejorar dia a dia. Reciba un muy cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I was very surprised to read the bad reviews for this hotel. We have just come back from this hotel. This was our 2nd stay in 2 months and we have no complaints at all. We stayed for 3 nights on both occasions. Yes, the rooms are small but they are clean and tidy, as is the bathroom. We had air con both times, the towels were changed every day and beds made. The staff were very polite at all times. It's in a great location just off the main street. For a 2 star hotel it's fine. It was packed with locals so if it's good enough for them then it's certainly good enough for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sres. Muchas gracias por su visita. Esperamos que vuelvan a alojarse en nuestro hotel y estamos en proceso de realizar mejoras que seguro seran de su agrado. Reciban un muy cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a 5 night stay in this hotel. I would not wish to stay there again. It was very basic, the room was small and the staff didn't understand any English at all. It advertises itself as having a bar, restaurant and lounge. However, there no restaurant open, except for breakfast, and no bar in sight. The only way to get drinks was a vending machine by the door which didn't stock very much. The lounge area was very dingy and dark, certainly not somewhere you would want to sit in and relax. The strangest thing of all was having to pay 20 Euros for a tv remote control we didn't want that had no channels in English at all! The internet didn't work either. On the plus side our sheets and towels were changed every day, but we had to ask for loo roll. The bed was comfortable but it was frustrating having no balcony to sit on. The kidney shaped pool was far too small to sunbathe by. All in all it was o.k. for a short stay if you just want a bed for the night but that is all!

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet location but not all rooms have a balcony to sit on, so make sure you ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. En contestacion a su critica hemos de comentarle que el hotel se corresponde a la categoria de dos estrellas, con el precio de esa categoria. El personal de recepcion si conoce el idioma ingles, y de cualquier forma se comunica con el cliente de la forma mas amable posible intentando satisfacer al cliente en todo momento y en la medida de sus posibilidades, siendo requisito imprescindible del puesto el conocimiento del citado idioma,con lo cual nos sorprende bastante este comentario. El bar se encuentra abierto en horario de tarde, es posible que al momento de visitarlo el camarero no se encontrara pero hay avisos de que puede usted avisar en recepcion de todo lo que necesite. El restaurante solo ofrece desayunos y se hace saber al cliente en publicidad, agencias, web, etc. La limpieza es diaria y extremada. Hay habitaciones con balcon, otras con terraza y otros con acceso directo a la pisicna. De cualquier forma sentimos que la estancia no haya sido de total satisfaccion para usted. Reciba un coridal saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#38 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#36 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Europark 74 Aparthotel
Europark 74 Aparthotel
#37 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardines del Gamonal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Betania

Property: Hotel Betania
Address: Calle Contreras 12 | Benalmadena Costa, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Betania 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betania Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Betania Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing