We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Small Hotel...”
Review of Hotel Betania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Betania
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely Small Hotel...”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've just returned from a 10 day stay in Hotel Betania. It is a lovely small hotel, only 5 minutes walk from beach and the main street. The reception and public areas are very nice. There's a beautiful terrace for sunbathing and also a small area around the pool, so no shortage of places to lie out. Hotel provides free Wifi in the reception areas but is not available in the bedrooms. The bedroom was basic,,but then it is a 2 star hotel so I wasn't expecting the Ritz. Hair dryers are not provided in the bedrooms but are available to hire for the day! I only needed one for half hour a day, so I bought one in a local shop for €12. I didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the food.
The negative point is: On the day I was leaving, my flight wasn't till 9 p.m. I vacated my room at 12, as requested. They allowed me leave my case there but wouldn't allow me use any of the facilities, so I had to spend the time on the beach and get dressed into my travelling clothes on the beach. The shower on the beach wasn't adequate for removing sun cream and sand, so I had to travel without having had a shower. It would have been such a convenience had they allowed me sit on the terrace for a few hours and have a shower before I left. The girl on reception got a bit strappy when I asked if I could use the facilities. Having stayed 10 days, I feel she could have treated me a little better. I had friends staying in Flathotel and others in Las Arenas Hotel and they were allowed use the facilities on the day of travelling home. Almost forgot to say... shampoo / soap etc. not provided .. so bring some.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is good as there's a lovely terrace outside, accessed from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinHappy_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Sra. En primer lugar le agradecemos la estancia en nuestro hotel y nos complace haya disfrutado del mismo, esperamos que vuelva pronto. Respecto al inconveniente comentado decirle que podia usted haber permanecido unas horas mas en el hotel para ducharse y demas abonando lo que llamamos "prolongacion de la estancia" y siempre y cuando su habitacion no este ya reservada y vaya a ser ocupada por otro cliente. De cualquier forma sentimos el inconveniente y esperamos vuelva pronto, y en la proxima visita disfrute de las ventajas y ofertas que tenemos para clientes ya alojados anteriormente en el hotel, Hagalo saber al momento de la reserva . Cordialmente le saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    85
    82
    39
    79
See reviews for
28
170
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on a last minute booking - got to say the location is great - its nice and quiet and only a 5 minute walk down the road which takes you to the main road/sea front. our room was on the 3rd floor - fortunately I'd requested a balcony when booking and thank god as it was the smallest room I've ever seen!!, it just held a double bed!!!!!! but wasn't too bothered as we were only staying a few days and only sleeping/changing and then out through the day. the hotel/room was extremely clean and as I said thankfully the door in our room opened out onto the terrace where the very small swimming pool is, the terrace is a fantastic sun trap so got plenty of hot rays in through the day. Staff are very friendly and 'happy' even as they couldn't speak much English and we non-Spanish! it is somewhat echoe when people are coming in at all hours, so don't expect total silence. The breakfast is - 1 bread roll with jam, cheese slice and ham, orange juice and a tea or coffee - if you want full English you are better off walking down the road - loads of bars that do breakfast. This place suited our needs as we only came for a quick relaxing break - I would definitely stay here again for another short break - fully enjoyed it!!

Room Tip: I would definitely go for a room that opens onto the terrace (3rd floor), some that say balcony are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maritimegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Nos alegra que su estancia haya sido agradable y esperamos volver a verle de nuevo. Si es asi no olvide reflejar en la misma que ya ha sido cliente del hotel para beneficiarse de ventajas de clientes que repiten. Sin mas y esperando su visita nuevamente reciba un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for one night, budget hotel in great location 1 street back from sea front, close to Paseo Maritimo. Very clean. A bit noisy as we were on 2nd floor overlooking street. If you get a good price then would recommend it. Plenty places for good cheap breakfast on sea front so don't pay for it in hotel.

Room Tip: Try asking for high room as will be quieter and have a nice view (we asked but didn't get it)m
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank pucciinabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura O, Manager at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks you very mucho for your opinion. We hope see you again in our hotel. remember say you area client before in your next booked. At your disposition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for three days last week 15th April 2014 and we thought it was a great little hotel. We arrived by car and there is plenty of free parking on the street outside which is very quiet,The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms, although small were clean and modern. We were in 403 which involved changing lifts at floor 2 which was a bit unusual but not a problem. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it provided you were looking for a 2 star hotel. We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on it .If you want 5 star luxury go down the road and pay for it. What I would say is that the road from the sea front is quite steep so bear this in mind if you dont fancy getting some excercise,

Room Tip: we were in 403 nice and quiet with sea view. Remember to change lifts at floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank altaylo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura O, Manager at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Google Translation
Queridos clientes muchas gracias por su amable critica..deseamos tenerles de nuevo entre nosotros, recuerden al hacer su proxima reserva que ya han sido clientes del hotel para beneficiarse de alguna oferta o descuento que tengamos para clientes que repite. Gracias e nuevo. Saludos cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My Friend and I stayed here for one night in February... Rooms and Bathrooms are basic but clean, the hotel lobby is very clean and tidy also... There is one small room with two computers allowing for internet access at a cost of around 1 euro for half an hour....

The breakfast is rather small however, just 2 slices of toast with jam, glass of juice and either a Tea or Coffee...

The hotel is very cheap to stay in and great for just a night or two... Its pretty close to the main hub of Benalmadena, with its shops, bars and resturants... you're looking at around a 15 minute walk to the marina along the promenade and around 10 mins through the park to the train station, local shops and Benalmadena cable car...

I've stayed in Benalmadena before so this was perfect for a cheap little stop over before our journey onwards.

Room Tip: If wanting a nice view ask for higher floor as there is an apartment block opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammy435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura O, Manager at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimados Sres. Muchas gracias por su amable critica. Esperamos de nuevo que nos visiten y recuerden que al hacer la reserva digan que ya han sido clientes pues podrian beneficiarse de algun tipo de descuento que se encuentre vigente segun la fecha. Muchas gracias por su estancia y saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

ok like other people have said this hotel is cheap,thats about the only good thing about it though.anyone who has read any of my other reviews will know i try to give an honest opinion.we got what we asked for a double bed with sea view and the view was amazing from a great big balcony.room 308.it was clean yes as the cleaners tried to get in every day,in fact 2 or 3 times a day,not much fun when your trying to have a relaxing time,i dont know where we were supposed to go when they cleaned the room itself was only 10ftx10ft square,pics to follow,the shower was lethal and the bar and restaurant werent open all the time we were there.this was a shame as we would have spent quiet a bit cash in the hotel especially as the weather wasnt that good,and to be honest we didnt really always fancy going out but had no option as the room was so cold.we always stay in low budget hotels and i always try and find something positive to stay but regarding the betania i cant come up with anything.the staff werent particulaly friendly most of the time they had their back to you and spent all their time on computers.like i say in title never again

Room Tip: ask for sea view on the balcony and double bed if your going in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supamac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just returned from a week at the Betania in Benalmadina.
It is definately not a 4-5 star hotel. But then for £394 for flights and accomodation for a week for two, what can you expect.
I asked for a sea view but being in room 106 on first floor yes, we were facing the sea but couldnt actually see it.

Room was the smallest I have ever stayed in but then I usually do 4 or 5 star hotels and not 2 star. The bed was about a foot off the wall at the bottom.
There was a shower with a plastic curtain.

**** Note to the hotel management
Please install proper room lighting. It is far to dark with just two lamps. I could not read in bed at all! there is no central bulb.

The staff were friendly. Although some spoke less English than others.
I did wait three days to get extra pillows.

Rooms were cleaned every day and new bedding and towels given. Although not Egyptian cotton. (lol)

The hotel itself is a bit higgledy piggledy. We were on floor one, so to get to the swimming pool on three, we had to go to floor two in the lift, walk across to the next lift or stairs and go up another floor.
No idea how those on floors four or five got to the pool!

The pool area is fab. Great big terrace overlooking the sea with loads of sunbeds and the pool is round the corner with more sunbeds.
Pool is ice cold and has ladder steps and also created steps into the pool. Although I think these are dangerous. The top step is about a foot down and the rest are around half a foot.
I bet a few people have misjudged this first step and fell in...... : (
You can go to the pool via the steps at reception (see photo)

We didnt have breakfast but on second floor there was a little restaurant that did toast and jam and coffee etc.
Also there were loads of sofas and reading books and magazines if you wanted to chill

On the ground floor was another place for eating but it was closed. But also loads of sofas and an internet room. I think it was 50 cents for 15 minutes.
Also loads of leaflets on places to go and things to do.
There were three machines for cold drinks, hot drinks and snacks, including sandwiches.

There is a lovely and cheap supermarket round the corner.

Must point out the shuttle driver from Urbis dropped us at the back of the hotel which is not signed very well from there and it took us a good 20 minutes asking various people where it was. He should have dropped us on the next street.

There is a park up over from the hotel

We did a bus tour and got a free butterfly park visit thrown in, as its winter season. The butterfly park was worth a visit. Very calming.

Get yourself on the cable car and mountain bike back down.... It takes about 15 mins in the cable car
There is a falconry display at the top of the mountain and walks. Put on safe shoes.....

We also visited Gibraltar for the day. If you want cheap booze wait till you get to Gibraltar. I was amazed that you could get a bottle of whisky for as little as £4.75, even Grouse was only £8

You could have a very cheap holiday here. You could take your own food and booze out onto the sun terrace if you wanted.

I would go to the Betania again if I was booking a two star place.

Room Tip: High floor for sea view but you might need to change lifts to get up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dreamo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
287 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#39 of 45 in Benalmadena
428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
827 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
#6 of 45 in Benalmadena
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Betania

Property: Hotel Betania
Address: Calle Contreras 12 | Benalmadena Costa, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Betania 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betania Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Betania Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing