We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed but no Breakfast!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Betania

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Betania
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bed but no Breakfast!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

I was here for two weeks and enjoyed my first visit to the Costa del Sol

Have to agree with other posters, bed but no breakfast!!

Room and bath were very nice, I appreciated the grab rail by the bath. Good storage and lighting, clean. Did have to request a replacement toilet roll, but was given one without fuss.

Pool is deep all over, but properly marked and clean. Very small but fine for a dip, or in November, the novelty of being in at all for those from northern climes!!!

Hotel on a nice QUIET street, easy to find from the station on foot though would be tricky by car as one way.

Dedicated locked luggage room in reception, very handy if departing late in the day as I was.

Another site suggested that this hotel is perhaps suited to more mature guests and I would agree, as it did not look to be a place that the 18-30 crowd would find to their taste as no bar that I saw, perhaps not in operation so late in the year!! As I am a 50something single traveller what I want is quiet, clean accommodation and this is what I got.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grey_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    72
    73
    35
    78
See reviews for
25
152
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

Cheap hotel that we didn't expect much from at the price we paid - we didn't get much ! Breakfast was non-existent, we were told it was a continental, I have never stayed in a hotel that didn't provide at least juice or croissants as part of a continental breakfast. Water & bread only. Reception were more interested in how much you had paid rather than breakfast is included in you rate! Ants in bathroom, small rooms with questionable hygiene, poor lighting in stairs that is a health & safety issue, bar is VERY limited in stock & opening hours. Not worth a visit to this hotel at all, only for location as its close to amenities. Stayed for 3 nights, any longer & I would have been looking for alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

lisburn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

stayed for 4 nights the only attention given our room was 1 replacement toilet roll. At breakfast new arrivals played a game of hunt the food, only to find other inmates had brought their own with them, some one asked me where the water was to go with the dry bread. On departure 4 of us had been told our pickup time was 0715hrs and after standing outside for an hour we learnt that the transport company had faxed the hotel and informed them that the pickup was 0915hrs, they failed to inform any of this information to us which they had in their possession 22hrs prior to our leaving, surely it would not have been difficult to push the fax to either of our doors.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisburnMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

My girlfriends and I have just returned from staying in The Betania Hotel and were happy with what we had. We had a reservation for one double room for two nights which cost us 42 Euros, around £40 at the time of writing.

We hired a car (booked in advance from Expedia, 2 days @ £40!!!) so were very pleased to find loads of free parking right outside the hotel.

Upon arriving we checked in at reception and were dealt with by a youngish girl who spoke very good English. We were allocated room 414 which is above the pool, which is not the best view. The room was very small but good enough for us as it was cheap and just some where for us to sleep. The bath room looked newly refurbished which was good.

I had to go down to the reception to ask how to use the safe and was told that it would cost 2.5 Euro per day and a 10 euro deposit so we went ahead and paid this, especially when reading the review on here saying that some one got their money stolen from their room! We also later found out that there was a 10 euro deposit required to get the TV remote for the room, as the TV its self did not have any buttons to change the channel.

Room 414 had no air con, only a ceiling fan but this was not required as the temperature was quite mild in the room at this time of year. The mattress on the double bed was very hard which caused a restless night, also there was only one very long pillow for us to share which was also very hard, I had to ask in reception for another pillow on the second night, this was provided in the room when we returned later on that night. The balcony was just a door opening out on to a small ledge and a railing which you could squeeze out on if you wanted to. Our balcony door had shutters which were very good at shutting the sun light out if you wanted to get a shop snooze at any point during the day!

We went down to breakfast, not really knowing what to expect..... There was partly frozen bread, margarine, strawberry jam and coffee. I have read reviews that have stated that there was meat and rolls etc available but maybe this is only during peak season. Also, the toaster you use to make your toast resembles an electric camping grill and it takes around 10 minutes to do both sides. Due to this your toast comes out as hard as a rock. It was quite funny was people were walking in to breakfast thinking they had missed it as there was nothing more than the above on offer. BUT again for the money, you won’t find anything in the UK this cheap!!

We dealt with three female members of reception staff and two young girls had very good English skills, but an older lady hardly spoke a word. It was difficult trying to tell her the internet PC was not working and trying to get my 1 euro back off her because of this. By the way, I managed to get it working and get the WEP key, so if you want it for future visits please let me know and Ill message it to you, although I did not get a chance to test it so have no idea if they use MAC filtering on their wireless also.....

The location of the hotel was very good, only a 2 minutes walk to the main sea front where you have everything you need. I would recommend any one to rent a car as we must have saved so much on taxis and busses by driving around. We also managed to visit plaza mayor which I recommend for any one wanting to shop or eat out. The shops are closed on Sunday though.

There is also a Casino near by, its quite small but worth a visit if you like that sort of thing and have the time.

All in all its a good place to stay if you are on a budget. I cant say I had any major issues and would recommend the hotel.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davecullen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

On arrival everything went ok, small room above the swimming pool room 105, however on the last night before we were to depart money got stolen, out of our travel bag in the room.
also who ever took the money decided to hide the passport at the side of the safe.
so we thought we would have problems getting back together which reallly upset the missus' being as we was there for her 40th it did put a dampner on it.
so even though im not critical on the hotel they do employ thieves so remember the fact you are on the costa del sol.
yes i know it is foolish to leave valubles but it was her day and i basically let her run the roost all be it the missus is too trustin'
I would still recomend the hotel on a bed basis only being as the breakfast isn't what you think it is and all in all it does what it says on the tin.
but the whole feel to benalmedena is that it is a very tired place and if you have been anywhere near exoctic you really wouldn't like it unless you went there in the 70's.
never mind get stolen from and on top of that when you go to reception to report it, the english goes from 30% to zero
i'm really trying to be as honest as i can also if you are approched by anyone offering scratch cards really dont bother being as half your day is wasted on timeshare.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bullo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Yorks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

The rooms are really small! ok for 1 person maybe and no balcony to speak of just a door that only opened a third of the way (stopped by the bed) due to the size of the 'room' Breakfast was disappointing (stale bread) On the plus side it's in a good location and it is modern and clean except for the ANTS! There is cheap internet access and a small shop selling drinks.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LevellerRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

after reading previous reviews on this hotel i didn't expect much so went there with an open mind, upon arrival we were allocated a twin room with beds each side of the room and a shared balcony as i had booked a double room we went back to reception an asked to be moved there were no double rooms available that night so had to stay in a twin but the next morning we were moved into a double room with a balcony, the rooms are small but you don't need a big room if your only sleeping in it. the room was partly cleaned every day, floor brushed but not moped, bathroom cleaned, only some of the towels were changed every day regardless if you had used them all or not, which was annoying when there were two of you, i always found i had to use one of the towles on the floor to clean your feet on as the floor needed a good mop. there were ants in the room never more than about ten at a time but they were tiny so they weren't much of a problem. the mattress looked brand new but was hard so ached in the mornings by the fifth day.

not all staff spoke english so communication could be a problem from time to time.

breakfast was a little disappointing there was hot-dog sausages and fried eggs, no bacon, sliced bread and rolls, the toasted took for ever so your toast was hard by the time you got to eat it, there were two flavours of jam, strawberry and apple, no marmalade. three types of meat, two spicy sausage and ham i think didn't eat any so im not sure, there were also corn flakes, there was no butter only margarine and everyone had to use it from the same tub, they did have fresh cold milk which made the coffee a little nicer than with the hot milk,
there was orange juice available but it tasted like powdered juice, there was also chocolate milkshake powder too. on the last day we stayed there were oranges available as well.

the pool was a little small but there were only ever a few people using it so didn't not matter, it could have done with a clean on the sides as there was a line of dirt at water level, the pool wasn't if full sun all day but had a few hours on it from about 12 till 3, the terrace was in full sun all day, this was nice to sit on but could have done with a good brush and mop.

the hotels location was good, two minutes walk to the beach and restaurants, fifteen minutes to the train station, there is a lovely park behind the hotel which had chickens, ducks, swans, peacocks and rabbits freely running around and ostrich and goats in fenced off areas, there are also cafes in the park so was nice to sit and have a drink in.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tillymint213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#38 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#36 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Europark 74 Aparthotel
Europark 74 Aparthotel
#37 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardines del Gamonal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Betania

Property: Hotel Betania
Address: Calle Contreras 12 | Benalmadena Costa, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Betania 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betania Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Betania Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing